We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
527
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate concerteach piecemusic roommaster bedroombilliard hallfamily historyhe playsknowledgeable hostdelicious breakfastwonderful antiquessouthern gentlemanthe perfect hosteach morningquichehighlight of our tripbed and breakfasttwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 534 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2017

My friend and I spent three nights in the cottage at the Stone House Musical B&B. I selected it because it had great reviews, a musical experience and it just sounded fun. It was a fabulous choice. The host was delightful, knowledgeble and provided a beautiful historical home experience. We learned so much from Joe. We were there during an ice storm, and while getting around Natchez was difficult, Joe provided us with a private,outstanding piano concert, complete with wine. While it was chilly outside, it was warm, inviting and pleasant inside. The hospitality was top-notch. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom cottage out back and loved it! Beds were comfy.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2017

My husband, 22 year old daughter and I spent 2 wonderful nights at the Stone House at the end of our Mississippi road trip this month. It was truly the highlight! The house is beautifully restored with period piece antiques, maps and other curios dating back hundreds of years. We stayed in the charming guest house which has 2 rooms and bath. Enjoyed that the shower was powerful. Plenty of linens and extra blankets if needed. The is also a small fridge with complimentary waters and a lovely welcome bottle of wine. The location is excellent within walking distance to charming downtown Natchez and Mississippi river trails.

Coffee was available an hour before our large breakfast which was served on antique china in a beautiful dining room. The food was delicious and plentiful. We particularly loved the poached eggs and biscuits (kept warm in an antique biscuit warmer shaped like a small loaf of bread.)

This would have made the whole stay excellent but Joe Stone himself - his wealth of knowledge and talent - elevated this to a truly exceptional experience. We were treated to a piano recital of 4 classical works from different composers each prefaced by interesting explanations of the pieces. Sitting in his beautiful home, listening to wonderful piano music and sipping a delicious pinot noir made for a truly memorable experience. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rensark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2017

My friend and i stayed at the Stone house for several days during the Christmas holidays 2016.
We could not have been more pampered! Our accommodations were spot on and just so very comfortable right down to the bottled water and bottle of wine in the fridge for us. Towels freshened daily along with glasses, etc.
Our host and owner Joe and his precious pup "precious" were really just the perfect hosts, cooking us an amazing breakfast every morning, sharing pearls of the local history (and boy does Joe know his history) to making sure we saw the best of Natchez.
We stayed in the two bedroom bungalow in back and again it was just perfect for the two of us. We highly recommend staying at this little gem so nicely located in the of Natchez!

Room Tip: Bottom line... no bad rooms at this B&B!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2016 via mobile

We were on a 'blues highway' trip visiting various parts of the Mississippi delta and wanted to avoid the normal hotel chains by staying in some original antebellum homes/B&Bs.
Picking the JN Stonehouse over the others available was a stroke of pure good fortune. Having stayed in various homes during the trip this was without doubt the most enjoyable.
The house had been in Joe's family for generations and he has various original family memorabilia telling the story of its origins, it's relocation, falling into disrepair and bringing it back to its current former glory. The pictures on the web do not do it justice.
We were served traditional southern breakfasts (though not the usual grits and scrambled eggs) using some Victorian tableware and kitchen gadgets. Joe's service was attentive but not intrusive and so much better than many hotels we have stayed in. After breakfast we found him so easy to talk with and he was so knowledgable about the area and his family history that we were almost reluctant to go out for the day.
We stayed in the cottage which was very clean, very comfortable, fitted with modern conveniences (cable TV, fridge, power strips to recharge the multiple devices we all carry) but still retained its feel of an historic gem. The bottle of wine in the fridge was also a great touch.

The house is located close to Main Street (an easy 5 mins walk) so it's convenient to walk to the restaurants and bars so everyone can have a drink.

Joe does give piano recitals but unfortunately we couldn't get back early enough as it was thanksgiving night and we got tied up in a restaurant later than we expected.

Without a doubt Joe's home is a real gem and should be on everyone's 'must visit' list.

We will definitely stay there rather than the other places if we ever go back to the area.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2016

The Stone House is a lovely facility filled with amazing articles of history and gorgeous antiques! In addition to there being beautiful accommodations in the big house, a cottage attached to the house by a veranda was also available. The cottage consisted of a suite with two separate bedrooms, perfect for the needs of my family during our stay for a wedding in Natchez in April of 2016. Joe Stone, the proprietor, made our stay wonderful and unique! I will long remember the wonderful piano concert he gave one night. He was gracious and kind, always spending much more time talking with us than his schedule should have allowed. Conversations during the delicious breakfasts had depth and were soaked with current events, culture and history! Joe's egalitarian nature made us feel as though we were long-time friends, not just guest in his B&B. I am so thankful to have found Joe and the Stone House. Thank you for a fabulous experience, Mr. Stone!

Room Tip: The cottage is more casual and allows for more flexibility and privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VPY2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews