We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Nearby Hotels
Devereaux Shields House(Natchez)
US$149
US$136
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vue(Natchez)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlings Rest(Natchez)(Great Value!)
US$78
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natchez Grand Hotel(Natchez)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Natchez)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunleith(Natchez)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn(Natchez)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
537
136
48
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
136
48
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomthe main houselani richesdeluxe suitebeautiful groundsthe studythe cottagesnew orleansmint julepsouthern hospitalitysouthern breakfastfour poster bedfrench toastplantation houseseparate buildingfriesjacuzzi tub
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 760 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

We have visited Monmouth in august 2017, actually we are still here whilst I am writing this. What a wonderful place to stay. The staff is phenomenal, Hal showed us around and he is always in a good mood, laughing and telling tales....yes mam'am.

We dined at restaurant 1818, Gabriel was great, our waiter from Peru. And we took the tour in the house of course, lovely lady and really good stories making you go back to the 1850's. We had the 2-bedroom suite cottage no. 50.

The garden is beautiful and the whole experience made us whatch episode 1 again of North & South .

Thank CarlenDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Beautiful hotel, the bar man makes the best cocktails the garden is beautiful we stayed in a annexe only for one night but it was authentic just what you want if your staying In a plantation house staff were lovely and breakfast was amazing , I tried grits but being British I'm sorry there not for me but thanks for letting me try great hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in the annexe overlooking the garden lovely
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Just had a lovely overnight stay at this beautiful house!!
From the minute we arrived it was as if we'd been there for ever. Hal the bell (boy) was charming & funny.
Our room was lovely & comfortable.
The grounds are beautiful sadly I couldn't sit out in them as we had the most awful thunder storm & rain.
However we had a great night in the bar. We met some lovely couples from New Zealand who played in a band & they played all evening it was such a lovely thing to happen as we were only there one night passing through.
The food was good the bad man Roosevelt was fun & very polite.
Breakfast was good with a minimal
But substantial choice. All in all a super stay. Do the tour of the house it is so worth it. Thank you Nancy & your lovely staff.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

Spent three nights; grounds are beautiful, overall the staff is excellent; the bar is stingy on drink liquor; a fabulous dinner in the restaurant (food exceptional, wait staff ok); breakfast food and staff wonderful; our room needed updating / tired furnishings and could use a deep cleaning. Location is great. Overpriced for the value received. That said, would give them another try.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PKPISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Of all the antebellum mansions that my wife and I have visited over the years in Natchez, Mississippi, Monmouth is our favorite. We have met a couple of owners, slept in a couple of luxury suites, dined with other guests in the dining room and at Restaurant 1818, enjoyed breakfast on the grounds, purchased souvenirs at the gift shop and strolled the lush gardens surrounding the pond. Want to pamper yourself? Monmouth affords every opportunity. Located at 1358 John A. Quitman Boulevard, Monmouth was built in 1818 by John Hankinson and renovated in 1853 by John A. Quitman, who fought in the Mexican War and was a former governor of Mississippi. The two-story brick mansion is one of Natchez' grandest examples of the Greek Revival style with a wide central hall with four rooms located off the hall on both floors. Outside, there is a detached brick kitchen and a garden house. Sitting on a 26-acre lot, the estate was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1973 and declared a National Historic Landmark in 1988. Ronald and Lani Riches of Los Angeles, who owned the property from 1978 to 2012, did a wonderful job of finding much of John A. Quitman's original furniture and memorabilia, including his desk, two four-poster beds and the Quitman family Bible. Also on display is the gold sword presented to Quitman by President James K. Polk and the U.S. Congress for his services in the Mexican War. Today, Monmouth is a small luxury hotel with 30 rooms and suites and one of the best restaurants in Natchez.

Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews