We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
554
142
50
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
142
50
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room the main house lani riches deluxe suite beautiful grounds the study the cottages new orleans mint juleps southern hospitality four poster bed southern breakfast french toast plantation house separate building the main dining room fries
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 787 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Our stay at The Monmouth Historic Inn was a little slice of heaven! This Inn is so welcoming, for starters the office staff will take care of you from the beginning. Laura & Lorri we’re great in planning our stay. Ms. Ivering gives the Best tour
We had the Romance package & upon arrival we found champagne & choc covered strawberries awaiting our stay in The Plantation Suite and Miss Eliza’s Room in the Main Home. Breakfast was of high quality foods & Miss Mary’s biscuits are to die for! Nightly turn down service was so nice.

The bed linens & towels & robes are wonderful. Bathrooms are stocked with all necessity items you may need. They provide it all!!

Two of their longest employees are so naturally attentive to the guests - Laura, Lorrie & Hal provides any changes to your daily accommodation needs or changes. Hal always greeted us by our names. and Roosevelt, oh he is such a southern treat in the Quitman Lounge. He served very smooth Mint Julep drinks. Roosevelt serves light dinners in the lounge too.

Restaurant 1818 was exquisite. They treated us so fine! Star 5 all the way. Shirley is a top notch fine dining waitress.

We toured the gardens, the grounds are so
Pretty.

Special mention to the owners, Nancy & Warren, they are so friendly and nice. We loved our stay & plan to visit again.

Roosevelt said “we’ll leave the light on!”
We highly recommend staying at the Monmouth Historic Inn!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank carlyTNhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMS, Owner at Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so happy you chose Monmouth for your 30th anniversary. It seems like to met the entire staff . We loved meeting you and hope you will be back.
I know Monmouth is such a special place. If I've had a hard day I can just walk around the grounds and feel better immediately.
Please take care and enjoy your 30 th year together.

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

If you are going to stay in Natchez this is the place to stay,it's like going back in time the main house and rooms are so elegant and steeped in history, the grounds and gardens are beautiful.A very warm southern welcome when you arrive and the staff are amazing,Roosevelt is the star of the place who looks after the bar and closely followed by George who looks after the restaurant,the food in the restaurant was very tasty.
If l am ever in Natchez again l will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

To enjoy Natchez you need to stay in an historic inn.
The Monmouth is an old building set in beautifully mature gardens just outside down town.
We stayed in a garden cottage. The décor reflects the period of this establishment so modern furniture would not suit so I have no idea why other reviewers have criticised this Inn for this.
The accommodation satisfactorily met our needs and it was lovely to stay in a four poster bed and to have a turn down service.
The bathroom may not be the most modern but is was spotlessly clean and had little touches such as L'Occitane toiletries.
Hal escorted us to our room and provided us with lots of history about it and recommendations on where to eat in town.
Breakfast is serviced in a separate building located in the garden. On a good day you can sit outside or sit indoors with the comfort of the air conditioning.
Our waitress Nichelle was absolutely lovely, extremely friendly and a real character. She made our breakfast experience very enjoyable due to her banter and cheerful disposition, alongside the delicious breakfast even though the grits are not to our UK taste. She is certainly not a malapert!
If you want to experience Natchez you need to stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Get a cottage
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Vivacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We just spent the one night at the Monmouth on route from New Orleans to Memphis but would have happily stayed longer. We were lucky enough to get an upgraded room as it was a birthday trip which was a lovely suite in one of the outbuildings. The staff as we’ve now come to expect in the south were all very hospitable and both breakfast and the evening meal in the main dining room were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob_and_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

It's a period property, but makes for a comfortable, pleasant stay. The main house is beautiful, restaurant looks great (we did not use it as it was fully booked). Breakfast is served in a separate building at the bottom of the garden - lovely little walk first thing in the morning - and it is delicious. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

Little quibble: We booked through Booking.com and upon arrival we were allocated to one of the garden rooms - a sort of a shared bungalow in the garden. When we went back to the reception to ask to be moved to the main building as that was what we booked, one of the receptionists was really rude about it. Thankfully the other lady was lovely and sorted it out for us quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: Any room in the main building
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dot_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews