We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Natchez Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed in a suite (room 202) and the view was awesome. The balcony is very nice They advertise free wireless internet but the signal was hit and miss in our room. All of the staff was helpful and nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crich426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    226
    108
    30
    21
See reviews for
101
283
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We booked this place from the road, mainly because it looked "historic" and it was on the Mississippi. It turns out that is not historic but pretty new. But that's ok, maybe it will be historic some day. Our room overlooked the River and the view was beautiful. The room rate was very reasonable. Restaurants are handy. The wine reception in the evening is a plus and the "just fair" breakfast buffet was ok. Stay here for the views, not the food. But stay here. Nanchez is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Grand Hotel has lovely rooms and a beautiful setting on the bluffs overlooking the river. But the hotel is quite understaffed and lacking services you would expect in such a fine physical facility (no food except for breakfast). the corner river view suites are spacious, well appointed and quite reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bvanderet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I spent the weekend at the Grand Natchez and I must say that if you plan on sitting in your hotel room looking out the window, the views on the river side of the hotel are spectacular. I love watching the Mississippi flow by. But from check-in to departure, this hotel had its ups and downs. First, I haven't had to sit in line at a check in counter in a long time. There was only one person working the front desk when I arrived on a Friday afternoon and there were three people in line in front of me. It took about 15 minutes before another clerk arrived. While they were certainly friendly, the process was nowhere near as efficient as I am used to.

We had two rooms. One was a one bedroom king suite. The bed was very nice. While the decor was a little dated, it was very large and comfortable. The other was a two queen bed room. It was a little on the small side, but again, the beds were good. The linens were good, not great. Bath linens were below average.

Breakfast was a typical southern breakfast with eggs, sausage, grits, biscuits, etc. I peeked in the kitchen and they were cooking more from scratch than you would see at a Hampton. I enjoyed it.

The bartender was really friendly, but the prices were a little high for what I expected in Natchez. Most places around town, the food and drinks were very reasonable.

They actually want you to stop at the desk and check out. Again, we had to wait in line.

If you are looking for a high end property, this isn't it. The best part were the views and the location that was really good if you want to walk around and explore downtown Natchez.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FatEdEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany S, Manager at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Due to Mardi Gras festivities the Natchez Grand welcomed many walk-in reservations, our front desk volume is monitored and adjustments are made based on predicted check-ins and check-outs. Normally, we do not receive complaints about wait time at our Front Desk.

We do provide a hot breakfast for our guest at the Grand. There are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and we encourage our guests to experience these venues. However we are adding a Sundry shop in the lobby to provide additional food options for guests that do not want to leave the hotel.

We appreciate the comments concerning our room designs and feel that our property is well appointed and located overlooking the Mississippi River and located on the bluffs downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed there Dec 7, 2011. The hotel has an elegant feel to it as long as you don't look too closely at things. Very nice lobby with an Old World feel to it. There were two young women working the check-in desk. One was so busy, buried in her laptop that she could not be bothered to talk to guests, much less look up from her screen - once she did, the thinly veiled contempt on her face over the interruption was enough to put you off. The other young lady was so busy scratching and picking at her scalp, I was tempted to offer to go buy her some flea shampoo. The check-in was smooth, and she did warn me that there were a lot of kids from different schools across the state, staying there for some type of band/music conference or competition, I'm not sure which. But the kids were good, and the noise was kept at a dull roar. The hotel did enforce an 11:00PM curfew for the kids.

The room was clean, if not a bit spartan. Traveling for business, I am used to a microwave and small fridge in the rooms - how fast we become spoiled. These rooms had neither. The walls and ceilings/floors are paper thin, and you can hear conversations when spoken at just above normal volume. The floor creaked when walking across it.

Breakfast was standard hot continental breakfast - they served eggs and sausage baked in a quiche-like casserole with a white pepper gravy which was somewhat watery, and a standard complement of juices, milk, fruit, and cereals. Filling and decent fare, altho not very tasty.

Checkout was hassle-free. Parking can be cramped and challenging here if you are lucky enough to be in the lot with oversized pickups and SUVs haphazardly parked. Beginning to think parking lot lines are considered a guideline, and optional at best here. It is very convenient to downtown Natchez and you can walk to most places there, and the river walk is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The Natchez Grand is a grand hotel. It was previously the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson. The hotel is pretty much void of exterior enhancements but the inside is quite magnificent. My only complaint with The Grand is that the carpets appeared to need cleaning. That was the first thing I noticed entering the lobby. The guest rooms are larger than normal. We paid a little extra to have a room with a view of the Mississippi River, and there is a nice park for strolling across the street. The breakfast at The Grand is wonderful -- real scrambled eggs, delicious grits, toast, bisuits, juices, coffee, fresh fruit, sausage patties; no packaged items. We were very pleased with our room and the hotel decor is beautiful. The hotel is downtown, but in a safe location. We will stay there again when in Natchez. Again, wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Mississippi River. Delighted with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is beautiful if you don't look too closely. It has great charm and is in the perfect location. The rooms are in need of nicer linens, newer mattresses and much more attention from the cleaning staff. If you are there to party, this is the place. If you need peace and relaxation, look elsewehere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abrownchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.2 km away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
1.3 km away
Super 8 Natchez
Super 8 Natchez
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Property: Natchez Grand Hotel
Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing