We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but I wouldn't stay here again”

Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Petawawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK, but I wouldn't stay here again”
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Arrived after office closed and there was a note on the door directing us to our room. Door was unlocked and inside was an envelope with our key and paperwork. There was a note asking us to check in at the main desk in the morning. The Staff is friendly.

We stayed three nights and were the only ones in either of the two villas - very private and quiet.

The room was OK but there was no closet or hangers – we stayed three nights and we had to leave our suitcases open, on the floor, the whole time. The only place to hang anything was on four SMALL hooks on the back of the washroom door. I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels and motels over the years but this was the first I’ve ever been in that did not have a closet.

The Jacuzzi tub was nice. There is a slight sediment problem with the water that is unsightly but apparently it’s not unsafe.

The air conditioning unit roared and pulsed the entire time it was on – luckily the weather was cool enough that we did not require the A/C.

I was fooled by the website, it looks amazing but the experience of staying here did not live up to my expectations.

I will not be staying at this resort again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anluan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Great place to stay if you are golfing. We had a great time with another couple. The villa is set out very nice and is well equipped. The staff were very accommodating. If you are not there to golf, I would agree with previous posters, that there may not be much to do, but it was great for us to travel with friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioHockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed for a weekend, and it was o.k., but unless your a golfer, I would suggest you go to one of the other resort areas in Calabogie.
The Highlands is pretty much strictly for golfers. The waterfront is undeveloped and there are no water activities offered.

HOUSEKEEPING: Didn't get any. They didn't make the bed or clean the villa we stayed in for 2 days. They dropped off clean towels to us, but not to the other guests we went with in the other villa.
VILLA: Had vertical blinds from 1984 and some of them were missing, forcing you to change in the bathroom as people could see into the bedroom. If you have to stay in a villa, request the top floor (only 2 stories) as we were on the bottom floor and you could hear everything above. There were 1000's of bugs outside the villa and 100's of bugs inside the villa. Gross.
RESTAURANT: Great breakfast and lunch. Never had a dinner there. Service is slow though, but food was worth the wait.
CHECK-IN: Arrived late, and the desk closes at 5 p.m., so they just left us a note saying our villa was unlocked and to come see them in the morning. No big deal, but if you need anything at night, there is nobody there to call.

If you're looking for a boys or girls weekend away just golfing, then you'll be o.k. here, but it's not a family or non-golfers place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keebler527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Highlands Villas for a wedding. The dinner was there. We had never been to Calabogie and heard the area was beautiful. We decided to take a walk to the lake and we discovered that there was yellow tape preventing us from getting near the lakefront. The boathouse looked like it was falling down and the cement wharf was in horrible shape. Big broken pieces everywhere. There was also broken glass from the windows of the boathouse lying around. What a mess. How can they advertise this beautiful setting when you can't even get to the water. It may be a beautiful area but this place disappointed us. We won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownsandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I absolutely loved this place! The staff are so helpful and friendly. They certainly go out of their way to make you feel at home. The scenery is amazing. You are right on a lake in a quiet area of Calabogie. We were able to play and make snowmen with our children. The staff even bought in some old hats and scarf for my children to decorate the snowmen! The suite themselves are nicely laid out. There is so much room! It is nice to bring your family to a clean place that has everything you need. Calabogie is a great area. I would certainly recommend this to everyone and will be bringing my family back. I can' wait.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familymanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabogie
23.8 km away
Days Inn & Conference Centre Renfrew
34.6 km away
Quality Inn Arnprior
Quality Inn Arnprior
#2 of 3 in Arnprior
52 reviews
4.3 km away
Calabogie Peaks Hotel
Calabogie Peaks Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calabogie
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Calabogie Motor Inn
Calabogie Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Calabogie
13 reviews
32.2 km away
Country Squire Motel
Country Squire Motel
#1 of 3 in Arnprior
201 reviews
34.8 km away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bristol
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort

Property: Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort
Address: 981 Barryvale Rd, Calabogie, Ontario K0J 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Calabogie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calabogie Highlands' tastefully appointed villas provide an opportunity to indulge and escape from today’s busy lifestyle to the casual serenity of a quaint, lakeside setting. Our welcoming staff will assist you in any way to ensure your visit is extraordinary. Whether it is a special lunch for a picnic, “last minute” tee times or suggestions for a day trip our objective is to be your favorite place away from home. "The Calabogie Experience" definedby nature; designing your extraordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing