We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of site potential, great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of site potential, great restaurant”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I think the hype on this Inn and Spa exceeds the reality by a fair bit though the restaurant deserves 4-5 stars.
Admittedly a visit in winter probably doesn't play to the natural strengths of this site and the beauty of the river and surrounding forests. The facility is a group of historic buildings with all the charm you would expect but little of the upgraded infrastructure needed to make them really shine. Case in point...........our bathroom lighting was wired from the ground fault receptacle next to the sink which needed to be routinely reset to allow for lighting, not sure if this is legal, but at the least not a good engineering practice. Water in the shower was sketchy at best, clearly not pressure balanced which made moderating water temperature for my morning shower a challenge at the best. The room was nice and large,with a great bed and bedding though the rest of the fixtures were dated and worn. My overall impression was that they used a local "handyman" to maintain the sites vs professional tradespersons.
Dinner in the restaurant was great though our server was a bit "off". The breakfast buffet the next morning was stellar with a great variety of tasty treats making it a super way to start the day. I will return (perhaps not to stay over) to see the site during the summer/fall as I suspect the setting will be awesome and I liked the location of the restaurant patio overlooking the river.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    107
    57
    42
    18
See reviews for
31
237
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor,Ontario,
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We arrived less than an hour before the Gooderich tornado devasted portions of the Benmiller Inn including our room. Granted the place was in chaos and uninhabitable after the tornado. And, granted, the management was deeply focussed upon responding to the devastation and to free us from a forest of downed trees, damaged vehicles and terrifying minutes as windows shattered and pieces of roofs from several area buildings tore across the landscape. The staff di manage sandwiches and a glass of wine and a modest effort was made to find alternate accommodation. But, our complaint about Benmiller is essentially that since that terrifying experience--and there were several other affected guests--not one solitary person from the Benmiller Inn has contacted us to see how we managed and to suggest that, perhaps, given our dreadful experience there that we might be induced back again. To try and re-live our lost anniversary weekend would be imposible but to have somebody from Benmiller actually take the time and incur the effort to find out if were interested in ever visiting the place again-- the lack of caring or even concern is unforgivable. I could not recommend a place with such a mediocre attitude to guests who were traumatised,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed at the Benmiller in for 1 night in November 2011 for a work event. The first thing that struck me was that it was a strange set up. The original hotel is situated on a small stream and is nice to look at, but it is also in a depression under the intersection of 2 public roads. The facility is also one that has many buildings and my actual room was in another building down the road. I had to walk along a highway at night (not very far) in the dark from my room to the main lodge for dinner. Dinner in the dining room was very good, there was a couple of choices for appetiser, main and desert and the food was top notch. Breakfast and lunch was also at a high standard. However the room I stayed in was dated and badly in need of renovations, think 60's motel 6! To be fair, they were working on renovating the entire complex, but the work is slow as they are having trouble getting trades people due to the work going on nearby in Goderich after the tornado. There is also a lot of trees down around the Inn and they have been obviously working on getting those taken care of as well. I hope the renovations dont take too long and they get back to what was once known as a top place to stay. P.S. The wifi worked fine in the main lodge, but at my room I could get comnnected to the system, but was unable to open any internet pages on my ipad. Due to the location I also could not get a useable 3G connection on the ipad on rogers. My Bell Phone only worked if I stood outside.

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Goderich hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I found the inn simply by following the signs coming into Goderich even though it was pitch black at 5:30! (Welcome standard time) Given the spiral staircase the friendly front desk woman helped me with my bags. The room is comfy and cozy and it is so quiet outside as only the country can be.

Dinner in the dining room was exceptional for such a seemingly small place and even though I was the only one in the dining room for most of the time I felt warm and comfortable by the window and service was also exceptional.

Thanks Benmiller Inn!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I needed a quick getaway and Benmiller Inn was the perfect spot. The Inn itself has a wonderful history. Unfortunately, the Inn received some damage in the tornado, but the rooms that were open were cozy and rustic. The Inn is showing it's age and could use a little TLC, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it. The food is fantastic. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lh1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Went for a weekend retreat with work colleagues.Experienced spa treatments the first day spa opened post tornado (August 2011). Definitely would recommend Ward and the Reflexology treatment! Fabulous atmosphere in the spa area. Very relaxing! Others in our party raved about their facials, massage and how warm the pool water was and how enjoyable their swim.

Had lunch in restaurant - nice atmosphere. Had rest of meals in small dining area off dining room. Service was good with staff very attentive!. Food was good and plentiful. Bar entertainment was enjoyable backdrop to our conversations. Breakfast on our last day was leisurely with opportunity for personally made omelettes or crepes. Food selection really made it better as a brunch than breakfast.

Liked our room although it was a little tired requiring new tiling on bathroom floor and paint on the roof, walls and doors. Inn is listed as a CAA 4 Diamond rating for 2011 and 2010. I think needs some cosmetic work to actually deserve this rating. I did find that our king sized bed and pillows were remarkably comfortable (and I am picky about both!!).

Repairs are obviously still ongoing as Tornado damage is obviously still being worked on with some broken windows and plastic noticeable on roof of dining area. Top 2 floors of building where spa is located were heavily damaged and are to be repaired. Toppled trees are clearly visible as you drive into the Inn property. Some walking areas on the property are also closed currently. Gives some indication of the work that clearly already occurred to reopen the Inn and that must be planned to further repair the property!

On our way home, we took a drive into Goderich to see how the clean up activities were going there. Work is clearly still in progress after such a devastating act of nature. People we spoke to were all positive about about how well the community had pulled together to support one another in the aftermath.

Given time, I am sure that the Inn will work to complete the necessary repairs and get back on their feet too. I would give it time and plan a trip next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotgrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgetown, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were at the Ben Miller this past weekend for a business function of my husband's. On arrival we were served lunch which was an Asian buffet and it was delicious! Our room was #92 in The Mill House. It was very spacious and cozy, although could use some updating. We enjoyed having the fridge and coffeemaker, but the fridge was old and dripped, and the coffeemaker was broken, but still worked. The bed was comfortable, and we loved the views which were beautiful despite the recent tornado damage. The pool area was clean and warm, and both my husband and I enjoyed both the pool and hot tub. I enjoyed a manicure, pedicure, and massage at the spa. The staff there were very friendly and professional, and went out of their way to be sure I was satisfied. We enjoyed dinner at the Ivey - the portions were perfect and the food delicious. The buffet breakfast the next day was superb, especially the variety of cheeses and the made to order omlettes and crepes. Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore the trails, which I hear are wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#1 of 9 in Goderich
243 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
220 reviews
17.2 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
62 reviews
18.2 km away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Property: Benmiller Inn & Spa
Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing