We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FINE COUNTRY INN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a great country inn. Perfect setting! Rooms are beautiful and roomy. The beds are to die for! Had a great walk over to the spa, and the surrounding gardens, and property. Totally relaxing place to stay. Everyone was warm and friendly. The dinner and brunch were both delicious, and fairly reasonable price. Great place to stay for a couple getaway, relaxing weekend. Get in touch with the surrounding nature!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADE1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Benmiller Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I recently took adavantage of the "Stay Inn Love" promotion at Benmiller to have a 2 night getaway. This was our 3rd stay at Benmiller, but our first in quite a while. The package included a dining credit, and chocolate and champagne in our room, and Saturday breakfast and Sunday brunch were also included.

We stayed in a "Select" room type located in the Gledhill Building. This buidling is a little jaunt away from the main building/restaurant, and some people have complained about this in previous reviews, but Geldhill is located just across from the pool/hot tub/spa, and if we didn't feel like walking to the main bldg and restaurant, we simply drove a short distance to the main building. The buildings being spread out is much easier to enjoy in the summer months based on our previous experience. Our room was beautiful, with a massive balcony overlooking the river, a comfy bed, fridge, Keurig, and comfy furniture.

We also took advantage of the spa services at the onsite Aveda spa. That was very nice and relaxing and just across the road from Geldhill.

Everyone who works there is very firendly and very talkative and interested in making your stay enjoyable. The atmosphere is also very nice, with beautiful backdrops to the picturesque building, beautiful interiors in all the buildings, and a very relaxing bar/lounge area with Saturday evening entertainment.

We will place our review of the restaurant in the restaurant section of TripAdvisor.

Now, some of the shortcomings that Benmiller needs to work on...
1) get the repairs finished from last years hurricane so that all room types are again available - I understand it's a long process, but it's time to get it over the finish line.

2) figure out how to supplement the hot water in the Gledhill building - I understand there is an enviro-firendly water heating system for this building, but both times we have stayed there in Gledhill, it has not even come close to keeping up with the demand for hot water. There's no use giving someone a soaker/jet tub in their room fi they can't even fill it with hot water! Satursday's water was luke warm, and Sunday's was cold.

3) time for a gut job on the hot tub area - don't get me wrong, the pool area and spa are fantastic, but whoever thought it would be a good idea to simply paint the tile area around the hot tub to make it look better was sadly mistaken. It looks cheap, there's rotted wood, paint splotches everywhere, and by gosh, get a proper exhaust fan along the roof line of the hot tub building to stop the condensing on the roof that then drips cold water down on you while you're trying to enjoy the hot tub!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Please note that this review is of a stay that took place before the August 2011 tornado hit Goderich.
Allow me to just throw this out there first: the Benmiller Inn & Spa could be very worthy of a four-star review. However, due to problems relating to the location and underwhelming amenities provided, it sinks into the realm of merely "average".
The main inn itself is very well taken care of with a rustic ambience that does quite well for it. A small gazebo helps the inn’s atmosphere, and nature lovers will be in heaven for a while. The Inn’s restaurant was actually one of the high points, with a wide-ranging menu that has exquisite appetizers and entrees, even better desserts, and very good customer services. My rating: 5 out of 5 stars.
The accommodations are where the inn’s shortcomings begin to show. The rooms are comfortable enough, but most of the accommodations are a good walk from the main inn, and the room my family stayed in had spider webs in the corners, worn out furniture, and a “wonderful” view of a scum-covered pond. My rating: 3 out of 5 stars.
But the main problem, however, is that there is nothing to do anywhere. Of course, the hotel tries to offer a swimming pool, hiking trails, and a tennis court, but all were in poor condition even before the infamous tornado hit. The indoor pool was frigid, with the hot tub looking like it was filled with mildew, and the hiking trails were extremely narrow with almost no markings whatsoever. As for the tennis courts, the fact that the nets were sagging, and the court itself was covered in grass, did it no favors. 1 out of 5 stars.
Even the nearby town of Goderich had few activities, being a primarily residential area. The only slightly notable points of interest were an old prison, a small theatre, and a beach. While the first two may provide some interest, the beach will almost certainly disappoint. It’s very small, and whenever it rains the beach is closed for several days due to fear of chemicals from the salt mines. 2 out of 5 stars.
To sum up, the Benmiller Inn, while initially an interesting place, isn’t a very good place to vacation. Yes, it does have a good restaurant, but that and a rustic feel are all it has going for it. There was nothing to do before the tornado, and I can only guess about how little there is for tourists now.
The Verdict: Maybe a good place to stay if on the road, but for a vacation, you should give this one a pass. 3 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We took advantage of the "Stay Inn Love" promotion and booked an overnight stay, scoring a deluxe suite. Also included in the package was a generous credit in the dining room, a half-bottle of sparkling wine, a box of chocolates and a Sunday buffet brunch. It was so wonderful we hated to leave after only one day.

The inn and grounds are so peaceful and quiet that relaxation is assured. Our spacious room in Gled Hill House had plenty of comfy seating and a beautiful view out over the stream. Unfortunately, the grounds took a major hit with the tornado that stuck on Aug. 21, 2011, with many trees uprooted and knocked over like toothpicks. But it doesn't diminish the enjoyment of the surroundings.

We had a lovely dinner in the dining room. The chef utilizes top-quality ingredients. We enjoyed the freshest oyters and salmon, a risotto that was perfectly cooked, and a nice Canadian chardonnay that was reasonably priced. Afterwards, we relaxed in Jonathan's and listened to live music. The array at the Sunday brunch was amazing, and we couldn't possible try everything.

We look forward to visiting again in a different season to have a different experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargueriteandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Benmiller Inn and Spa is a gem. With a historic past it has transformed into a wonderful retreat with a superb restaurant. The food and service is fantastic. I would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a great week-end away. Additionally, the music in the lounge was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose the third floor for less stairway noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I think the hype on this Inn and Spa exceeds the reality by a fair bit though the restaurant deserves 4-5 stars.
Admittedly a visit in winter probably doesn't play to the natural strengths of this site and the beauty of the river and surrounding forests. The facility is a group of historic buildings with all the charm you would expect but little of the upgraded infrastructure needed to make them really shine. Case in point...........our bathroom lighting was wired from the ground fault receptacle next to the sink which needed to be routinely reset to allow for lighting, not sure if this is legal, but at the least not a good engineering practice. Water in the shower was sketchy at best, clearly not pressure balanced which made moderating water temperature for my morning shower a challenge at the best. The room was nice and large,with a great bed and bedding though the rest of the fixtures were dated and worn. My overall impression was that they used a local "handyman" to maintain the sites vs professional tradespersons.
Dinner in the restaurant was great though our server was a bit "off". The breakfast buffet the next morning was stellar with a great variety of tasty treats making it a super way to start the day. I will return (perhaps not to stay over) to see the site during the summer/fall as I suspect the setting will be awesome and I liked the location of the restaurant patio overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We arrived less than an hour before the Gooderich tornado devasted portions of the Benmiller Inn including our room. Granted the place was in chaos and uninhabitable after the tornado. And, granted, the management was deeply focussed upon responding to the devastation and to free us from a forest of downed trees, damaged vehicles and terrifying minutes as windows shattered and pieces of roofs from several area buildings tore across the landscape. The staff di manage sandwiches and a glass of wine and a modest effort was made to find alternate accommodation. But, our complaint about Benmiller is essentially that since that terrifying experience--and there were several other affected guests--not one solitary person from the Benmiller Inn has contacted us to see how we managed and to suggest that, perhaps, given our dreadful experience there that we might be induced back again. To try and re-live our lost anniversary weekend would be imposible but to have somebody from Benmiller actually take the time and incur the effort to find out if were interested in ever visiting the place again-- the lack of caring or even concern is unforgivable. I could not recommend a place with such a mediocre attitude to guests who were traumatised,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
272 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
239 reviews
17.2 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
166 reviews
18.2 km away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range: $160 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing