We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cameron's Cove Bed & Breakfast(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samuels Hotel(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Albert Inn and Cottages(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldon St Guest House(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Cedar Lodge Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Inn(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$82
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamz Inn(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$132
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunlop Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
116
120
62
50
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
120
62
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggledhill housedining roomthe riverhot tubconservation areacrepesselect roomdifferent buildingswedding guestsrelaxing experiencefine diningbeautiful spotbalcony overlookingromantic weekendcomfy chairslarge room
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 370 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a night stay. We went for the November deal, which was a regular room with the brunch on Sunday. We stayed in the Woollen Mill building which is where the restaurant is.
The room was small, but it didn't matter as there was a lot of comfortable sitting space on the main floor. They had games you could play (crib, backgammon etc.), or just sit and have drinks from the bar.
Enjoyed the spa. I sent my husband for a deep tissue massage and I had the reflexology. Both were well done (note: gratuity is automatically added if you put it on your room).
The entree options for the $29 3 course dinner meal was the only disappointment. Wish they had a couple more items to choose from.
The have a large indoor pool with windows overlooking a river. The hot tub was nice but could use an update. The pool is in the River Mill building down the road.
Loved the live music they had in the sitting area after dinner.
Loved the amazing brunch the next day. Fresh made omelettes and crepes. A great selection of hot foods ... and some wonderful desserts.
Didn't do any real hiking (there are trails), but did take the time to enjoy the various benches they had a different 'scenic' spots.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyOnHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy all of the different areas. We do hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at Benmiller on November 9-11. It was a lovely - outstanding experience. Beautiful setting, the large room in the "River" building had been recently renovated to very high standards - large, windown overlooking the Maitland River, with the sound of the "mill" through the windows. The swimming pool is large with a beautiful view and lovely sauna and whirlpool. The new ownership at Benmiller is obviously "doing things right" .... the staff were gracious, helpful and accommodating ... the spa services were excellent - we really liked that they added the tip to the bill - the meals were very good to excellent and the setting "quiet, first class" ..... we hadn't been at the Benmiller for about 20 years but we will return soon .... highly recommended. Bob and Lucinda, Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed everything and that we are on the right track. Many wonderful changes ahead in the future so we hope to see you again soon.;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a wonderful weekend stay at Benmiller and were really pleased with our experience! We stayed in the Spa room. There was a luxurious king bed with feather top mattress! There was also a big window overlooking the river and electric fireplace, as well as a flat screen TV. However, this may be something that is common in resorts that I was not aware of, but I found it super weird that the shower/jacuzzi was IN the bedroom itself, i.e. there was no separation/privacy between the shower and the bed - I just found this very strange!

The main building is gorgeous, there was a live musician performing who was wonderful. The restaurant was beautiful, and most tables have big comfy armchairs to sit in! Dessert was good, but very small portions at a very expensive price. Brunch was great; best part was the crepe and omelet station. The other food was good too, although some of it was not kept very hot at all.

I would definitely recommend the Benmiller Inn for a pleasant weekend away and we will most definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent the first weekend in October celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary at the Benmiller Inn & Spa. We had a great, relaxing time. This was our 2nd stay - 1st time was in 1999, so we did see some changes. The tornado that ripped through in 2011 definitely had an impact and there are still renovations in the works to repair the damage done. However, the cozy country atmosphere of Ben Miller is still there. The accommodations are comfortable, the spa and dining room is good, but the Sunday morning country breakfast is absolutely fabulous. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reene1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Sunday brunch is very popular. Glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Thank you for a relaxing weekend away. My husband and I stayed over the Thanksgiving Weekend. Our room was upgraded as well as brunch on Sunday which was a special one because of the holiday. The food by far is the best food at an Ontario resort that I have been to-there have been many. Our dinner on Saturday night from the Prix-Fix was delicious, didn't stuff us and left us room for more drinks in the lounge while we listened to live music.
Our room wasn't attached to the main in, so we had to walk (not complaining), it gave us a short time to walk off dinner.
The Brunch however, was so good. We were blown away with the quality and choice, we have made a choice to come back often for brunch with other family members.
We will be back in a few months to enjoy a special that was posted, we are bringing friends to enjoy with us as well.
The staff were very professional-even fairly young ones. They attended to us quickly at all meals and were courteous and polite.
Thanks for your hospitality. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed everything. We are very proud of the staff that we have and I will pass on your comments to all. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews