We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Went to the Benmiller with a couple of my girlfriends for a long overdue Girls' Getaway and we elected to book an overnight stay at the Benmiller Inn & Spa. So glad we did - we had an excellent time.

We chose one of the Select rooms, which was overlooking the millpont (beautiful view in the morning) and was just down the road from the main building. Worked great for us as it was right beside access to the Maitland Trail network and right across from the building housing the sauna, hot-tub and pool, to which we availed ourselves.

We had dinner at the Inn's restaurant - beautiful ambiance, a great spot for a quiet meal, no rush, good food. We returned for lunch the next day, after a long hike through the woods and along the river, and had some of their pulled pork sliders and sweet potato fries... excellent!

Overall the Inn is well appointed and well kept. There are some wear'n'tear signs but, honestly, these old buildings are in superb shape! The hosts were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. I would book a return stay. Recommended for couples, certainly, and for friends who are looking to get away for some quiet reprieve and catch-up! Loads to do in the area - kayaking, hiking, sightseeing. Not far from town (a few minutes in the car) for shopping and foodie stops.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room overlooking the water (east-facing) for beautiful sunrise moments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Wonderful pictures and thank you for the nice review. Our Select rooms are wonderful. Glad you enjoyed the view. We do lots of girls getaway week ends and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    108
    58
    42
    19
See reviews for
31
238
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I just returned from a night stay. We went for the November deal, which was a regular room with the brunch on Sunday. We stayed in the Woollen Mill building which is where the restaurant is.
The room was small, but it didn't matter as there was a lot of comfortable sitting space on the main floor. They had games you could play (crib, backgammon etc.), or just sit and have drinks from the bar.
Enjoyed the spa. I sent my husband for a deep tissue massage and I had the reflexology. Both were well done (note: gratuity is automatically added if you put it on your room).
The entree options for the $29 3 course dinner meal was the only disappointment. Wish they had a couple more items to choose from.
The have a large indoor pool with windows overlooking a river. The hot tub was nice but could use an update. The pool is in the River Mill building down the road.
Loved the live music they had in the sitting area after dinner.
Loved the amazing brunch the next day. Fresh made omelettes and crepes. A great selection of hot foods ... and some wonderful desserts.
Didn't do any real hiking (there are trails), but did take the time to enjoy the various benches they had a different 'scenic' spots.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyOnHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy all of the different areas. We do hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at Benmiller on November 9-11. It was a lovely - outstanding experience. Beautiful setting, the large room in the "River" building had been recently renovated to very high standards - large, windown overlooking the Maitland River, with the sound of the "mill" through the windows. The swimming pool is large with a beautiful view and lovely sauna and whirlpool. The new ownership at Benmiller is obviously "doing things right" .... the staff were gracious, helpful and accommodating ... the spa services were excellent - we really liked that they added the tip to the bill - the meals were very good to excellent and the setting "quiet, first class" ..... we hadn't been at the Benmiller for about 20 years but we will return soon .... highly recommended. Bob and Lucinda, Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed everything and that we are on the right track. Many wonderful changes ahead in the future so we hope to see you again soon.;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a wonderful weekend stay at Benmiller and were really pleased with our experience! We stayed in the Spa room. There was a luxurious king bed with feather top mattress! There was also a big window overlooking the river and electric fireplace, as well as a flat screen TV. However, this may be something that is common in resorts that I was not aware of, but I found it super weird that the shower/jacuzzi was IN the bedroom itself, i.e. there was no separation/privacy between the shower and the bed - I just found this very strange!

The main building is gorgeous, there was a live musician performing who was wonderful. The restaurant was beautiful, and most tables have big comfy armchairs to sit in! Dessert was good, but very small portions at a very expensive price. Brunch was great; best part was the crepe and omelet station. The other food was good too, although some of it was not kept very hot at all.

I would definitely recommend the Benmiller Inn for a pleasant weekend away and we will most definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Spent the first weekend in October celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary at the Benmiller Inn & Spa. We had a great, relaxing time. This was our 2nd stay - 1st time was in 1999, so we did see some changes. The tornado that ripped through in 2011 definitely had an impact and there are still renovations in the works to repair the damage done. However, the cozy country atmosphere of Ben Miller is still there. The accommodations are comfortable, the spa and dining room is good, but the Sunday morning country breakfast is absolutely fabulous. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reene1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Sunday brunch is very popular. Glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Thank you for a relaxing weekend away. My husband and I stayed over the Thanksgiving Weekend. Our room was upgraded as well as brunch on Sunday which was a special one because of the holiday. The food by far is the best food at an Ontario resort that I have been to-there have been many. Our dinner on Saturday night from the Prix-Fix was delicious, didn't stuff us and left us room for more drinks in the lounge while we listened to live music.
Our room wasn't attached to the main in, so we had to walk (not complaining), it gave us a short time to walk off dinner.
The Brunch however, was so good. We were blown away with the quality and choice, we have made a choice to come back often for brunch with other family members.
We will be back in a few months to enjoy a special that was posted, we are bringing friends to enjoy with us as well.
The staff were very professional-even fairly young ones. They attended to us quickly at all meals and were courteous and polite.
Thanks for your hospitality. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed everything. We are very proud of the staff that we have and I will pass on your comments to all. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My niece booked the Benmiller for a "girl's weekend" (mother, daughter, aunt and daughter's girlfriend) in early July 2012. It was the hottest weekend of the year and the air conditioning in the room was working but very loud. It was making a clanking sound that you couldn't even talk over, let alone sleep in. Management said they would come and look at it. They sent an eighteen or so year old student who knew nothing about air conditioning. He said that they would send someone to fix it. Then management called and we were told that no one was available who could fix it. The girls were okay to sleep in the livingroom but we were told that we could rent another room (with 10%) off if we didn't like the noise. As "compensation" they sent us up 6 chocolate covered strawberries to make up for the horrible room conditions. So my sister and I sweated the whole night in this overpriced room. The next day we went into the pool/jacuzzi. It was very much over chlorinated and the jacuzzi made my skin itch. It looked dirty but I didn't want to disappoint my niece who had made all the arrangements. (It took me four washings of my bathing suit to finally get that chlorination out). What an expensive waste of money. The desk staff made us feel like pests for complaining about the airconditioner and made many excuses. Not impressed! Would NEVER go back there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyleneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
I do apologize for the issues that you had during your stay. We have just finished installing some new air conditioners that are quiet and more energy efficient. Our pool is monitered by the health unit and we do daily checks that we are indeed within the guidelines that the health unit gives us. I am sorry if you felt it was over chlorinated.
Again, our sincerest apologies for a stay that was less then satisfactory. Our guests are very important to us and all feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Goderich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
261 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
234 reviews
17.2 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
18.2 km away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Property: Benmiller Inn & Spa
Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing