We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Escape”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent one night at the Benmiller Inn, looking for an active weekend escape from Toronto.

Here's a short report:

the drive from Toronto was about 2hours and 45 minutes. It was a pleasant drive with many interesting stops on the way. We arrived at the Inn and were stunned by how beautiful the property was. After checking in, we had lunch outside in a beautiful garden setting, great food and good drinks.

The rooms are scattered over a large property, with 5 or 6 different buildings, so make sure you know where you want to be. We stayed in a spa room that was about 500m from the main building. The room was big and nicely appointed, but was very modern, sparse and not very cottagey or rustic. If you prefer a rustic room, another building is probably recommended. That said, it had a lovely view, great bed and huge Jacuzzi tub. Note: the spa rooms dont have full window blinds, and the sun comes in early! If you're planning to sleep in, don't pick a spa room.

We grabbed a hiking map and did 5 kms of really good hiking through the woods, the trail starting right near our hotel room. Trails were immaculate and easy to follow for novice hikers. We had dinner at the Inn, and all the positive reviews about the food are spot on. It was delicious, locally sourced and on par with top dining in Toronto. In fact the food overall was wonderful, and a huge plus for the Benmiller.

Bright and early in the am, we took our bikes down to the beach at Goderich and biked from beach to beach. We returned for our included buffet brunches, which was spectacular.

Some advice: Make sure you understand the differences between the rooms so you find the right room for you. The staff and service are very good, although very quirky and strange at times.

We cant wait to go back for a weekend!

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in a spa room again. It is too sparse and doesnt have any character. Plus, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoJeff76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed the property and our beautiful gardens and were able to get in some great hiking. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    108
    58
    42
    19
See reviews for
31
238
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just spent a weekend in Goderich and had an enjoyable experience at the Ben Miller Inn

Arrived about 1:30 on Saturday afternoon and checked in. Room wasn't ready yet so we handled all the paperwork and ventured off into town to kill a few hours..... the receptionist was very friendly and accommodating and we booked our reservations for brunch.

We were in the Gledhill building which is just down the road from the Main building which has the registration, restaurant, lounge and patio. You can walk to Gledhill but maybe not with your luggage. The Gledhill building overlooks the river and has a small balcony with 2 chairs.

The pool and spa are right across the street from Gledhill as well.

We stayed in a SELECT room and they are a very nice size with a KING sized bed, full sized couch (with sofa bed) and 2 large sitting chairs. There is a small flat screen TV on the dresser that gets most of the basic cable channels. There is also a bar area with mini fridge, sink, wine glasses, opener, iron, robes and extra bedding.... The bathrooms are a little dated and could use upgrading for sure....The taps look like they are from the 80's.....but clean...

We had brunch in the Ivey dining on Sunday morning which was included in our room package. We made a reservation for first thing at 9:00 and the serve staff seemed a bit behind in setting up but everything worked out. The food selection is awesome and they seem to focus more on the hot lunch items. Brunch included, omelette station, sweets and pastries, cheeses, fresh fruits, salads and hot dishes.... LOTS to choose from and the service was very attentive.

We went into town in this rainy weekend and walked around the courtyard square - which is where most of the shopping and restaurants are. Tried to get a cream puff from Culberts but apparently they sell out by NOON most days and not open on Sundays.

My wife and I really enjoyed the Inn and will come back in the fall for another visit

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our Gledhill House and our Sunday brunch. We do hope to see you in the future again. Lots of upgrades and changes planned for the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Love this place. My husband and I bike through there regularly from Bayfield and stop for lunch on the patio. It is quite refined. The food is great. I have not stayed in the hotel but, was contemplating having my wedding here. It's a lot like the Old Mill in Toronto but, in the country.
This is truly an oasis in the country with the Mill and the river. If you want to see first hand the damage that the Goderich Tornado did, all of the lovely trees on the embankment have been downed. The Benmiller was lucky to have been spared although some of the outbuildings were damaged.
I would recommend taking your bike. There are cycling day trips from Benmiller. to points east, North or South to Bayfield (stop for lunch or a swim in the lake)... There are fantastic rural routes/lines with no cars on them parallel to Hwy 21, best cycling in Ontario...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saragil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have some wonderful places to bike and hike in the area. Glad that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This past week I had the pleasure of experiencing my first stay at the Benmiller Inn.I have eaten at the restaurant in the past,but this was first time I really got to see what the Inn was all about.
I had dinner my first evening,and being mostly vegetarian it can sometimes be a challenge.I was pleasantly surprised when they had a wonderful entree, and tweaked a appetizer so that I could thoroughly enjoy my meal.
As to my room,everything was wonderful,from the bed,to the Aveda products in the bathroom.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne333_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us here. We have just launched an entire Vegetarian menu so you will have more options to choose from. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean but very dated. Bed was very comfortable. Some staff were kind of friendly. Food was good not great. We were given one night and paid for another. Here in winter, maybe nicer in summer. Nice place but pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are constantly changing and growing. Many updates are currently going on around the property and in the rooms. We do hope to see you again so you can see some of these changes for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We occasionally have stayed at the Benmiller Inn as a convenient getaway since it was first established in the early 1970's. Over the years, it has gone through a number of owners and our stays and the quality of the food and accommodations have had their ups and downs.
Based on a positive experience meeting friends there for a Sunday brunch recently, we decided to give an overnight a try as a late Valentine's celebration. This is the first stay we've attempted in 5 or 6 years. As always, the setting is truly lovely. Th view of the river, ponds and stream are a great attraction.We stayed in one of the River Mill rooms, above the pool and spa. These rooms have been completely renovated following the tornado damage of a couple of years ago. The room was lovely with a large whirlpool tub and a comfortable king bed. The pool and spa are little changed and could use a little updating and certainly could be kept warmer in the middle of winter. As well, no one seems to be restocking the pool towels and these are a little old and frayed. The pool/spa didn't seem to be getting much use while we were there.
Food has varied over the years, and and has sometimes been a little unpredictable. For our recent visit, the dinner selection was good, with an emphasis on local foods, and the portions were large, but I found the dishes varied from truly excellent to needing a surer hand with seasoning. The Sunday brunch is a great bargain with a good selection and truly excellent crepes and roast beef.
The new owners seem to be trying to revive the excellence of the inn, but it still needs more attention to detail. The wi-fi was intermittent (we were told they were working on this), and the pathway from the River Mill and Gledhill house to the main inn was snow-covered and not cleared while we were there, requiring walking on the roadway. Perhaps they need more maintenance staff. In all, though staff, were pleasant and accommodating and with a few little tweaks this will once again be a truly excellent destination.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You are absolutley right! The new owner is working very hard with the hopes that we can bring Benmiller back to what it once was. Many renovations are complete, more to come. Wi-fi is being fixed now with new wires being ran and should be back to normal mid March. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

In January 2012 my Husband I got married at Benmiller. With the Inns beautiful country atmosphere and the amazing staff our day was perfect. The staff was welcoming and happy to assist with everything. We found the beds very comfortable and the bedding very clean.
We returned for our 1st Anniversary this month and again the service, room and staff where remarkable. A wedding was taking place while we were there and the staff made other arrangements for us to enjoy a private candlelit, romantic dinner. We have developed a wonderful relationship with an amazing business. Every meal/buffet we had, the food was well presented and tasteful. It's great to know you don't have to go far from home for perfection!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCKovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We value your support and friendship and look forward to seeing yous again. It is always a pleasure. Getting to know wonderful people such as yourselves and building a relationship is what makes Benmiller special. Thank you for adding the wonderful pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
261 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
234 reviews
17.2 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
18.2 km away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Property: Benmiller Inn & Spa
Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing