We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Waterloo Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely destination!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have visited the Benmiller Inn almost every year for over 25 years! Each visit has been unique. Our most recent visit a few days ago was one of the best! We had a room in the Gledhill building that overlooked the pond, with a small balcony. It was so beautiful. We noticed that the room had some new updates in terms of leather chairs, beautiful pillows and bedding, and a Keurig coffeemaker. We had dinner in the dining room which was excellent! Our server was Dan, and he was very knowledgeable about the menu and so friendly. The breakfast was delicious as always. We love coming back to Benmiller frequently, it is so relaxing and we can always count on a relaxing experience with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeWaterlooOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Feedback like this tells us we are heading in the right direction and I appreciate you taking the time to share with others how much you enjoy Benmiller. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    108
    58
    42
    19
See reviews for
31
238
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I decided to get away for the weekend for a much deserved break from the every day hectic world. We had been to Benmiller 8 years ago and my husband made the last minute decision that we should go again....and I am so happy he did. Is the Inn in need of some updating...absolutely. Can we see that the new owner is making and effort.....absolutely. These things take both time and money, but what they may lack in the way of frills they more than make up for in setting, staffing and overall enjoyment.
We stayed in the Gledhill House, second floor - loved waking up in the morning, opening the balcony doors and listening to all those happy birds!
Met a very nice young lady while walking the property who turned out to be the GM - Dawn - very helpful and took the time to discuss the work that has taken place since the storm blew through a couple of years ago.
The garden/patio area off the dining room is beautiful - you forget that there is a road just on the other side of the trees. Sit back, relax, and enjoy a cocktail, maybe dinner, and soft music playing while you listen to the water go by and enjoy the view of floral gardens and mature trees.
Breakfast was included in our stay and was delicious and the brunch on Sunday was very impressive with a good selection of breakfast and hot entrée items along with a selection of salads and naturally sinful desserts.
You are a short drive into Goderich (5-10 min) and definitely worth the drive into this lovely little town. A nice assortment of little shops in the downtown square and take a drive or walk down to the waterfront. Better yet, take a picnic lunch and enjoy. It has to be one of the nicest waterfronts we have seen in a long time....don't miss it.
And not to be forgotten - the staff who made our weekend that much better. Having had dinner both nights at the Inn, one night in the dining room and one night outside - the food was very good. We had the pleasure of being taken care of by Dan and Myron - both were wonderful, friendly and another reason why we would go back to Benmiller.
If you are there on a Saturday night, don't miss the entertainment in the lounge that starts at 7 pm - sit back, have an after dinner cocktail and enjoy the one man show - anyone who can do Elvis, Johnny Cash, Supertramp and Otis Redding over the evening has talent! The bonus is that if you are sitting outside when the entertainment starts - don't worry - they make sure they pipe him through the speaker system so you can still enjoy him.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunnys_1_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words and it was wonderful to speak with you. I have passed on your kind comments to Dan and Myron and we do hope to see you again soon. Fall is a beautiful time here to sit on the balcony and enjoy all of the fall colors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent one night at the Benmiller Inn, looking for an active weekend escape from Toronto.

Here's a short report:

the drive from Toronto was about 2hours and 45 minutes. It was a pleasant drive with many interesting stops on the way. We arrived at the Inn and were stunned by how beautiful the property was. After checking in, we had lunch outside in a beautiful garden setting, great food and good drinks.

The rooms are scattered over a large property, with 5 or 6 different buildings, so make sure you know where you want to be. We stayed in a spa room that was about 500m from the main building. The room was big and nicely appointed, but was very modern, sparse and not very cottagey or rustic. If you prefer a rustic room, another building is probably recommended. That said, it had a lovely view, great bed and huge Jacuzzi tub. Note: the spa rooms dont have full window blinds, and the sun comes in early! If you're planning to sleep in, don't pick a spa room.

We grabbed a hiking map and did 5 kms of really good hiking through the woods, the trail starting right near our hotel room. Trails were immaculate and easy to follow for novice hikers. We had dinner at the Inn, and all the positive reviews about the food are spot on. It was delicious, locally sourced and on par with top dining in Toronto. In fact the food overall was wonderful, and a huge plus for the Benmiller.

Bright and early in the am, we took our bikes down to the beach at Goderich and biked from beach to beach. We returned for our included buffet brunches, which was spectacular.

Some advice: Make sure you understand the differences between the rooms so you find the right room for you. The staff and service are very good, although very quirky and strange at times.

We cant wait to go back for a weekend!

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in a spa room again. It is too sparse and doesnt have any character. Plus, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoJeff76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed the property and our beautiful gardens and were able to get in some great hiking. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just spent a weekend in Goderich and had an enjoyable experience at the Ben Miller Inn

Arrived about 1:30 on Saturday afternoon and checked in. Room wasn't ready yet so we handled all the paperwork and ventured off into town to kill a few hours..... the receptionist was very friendly and accommodating and we booked our reservations for brunch.

We were in the Gledhill building which is just down the road from the Main building which has the registration, restaurant, lounge and patio. You can walk to Gledhill but maybe not with your luggage. The Gledhill building overlooks the river and has a small balcony with 2 chairs.

The pool and spa are right across the street from Gledhill as well.

We stayed in a SELECT room and they are a very nice size with a KING sized bed, full sized couch (with sofa bed) and 2 large sitting chairs. There is a small flat screen TV on the dresser that gets most of the basic cable channels. There is also a bar area with mini fridge, sink, wine glasses, opener, iron, robes and extra bedding.... The bathrooms are a little dated and could use upgrading for sure....The taps look like they are from the 80's.....but clean...

We had brunch in the Ivey dining on Sunday morning which was included in our room package. We made a reservation for first thing at 9:00 and the serve staff seemed a bit behind in setting up but everything worked out. The food selection is awesome and they seem to focus more on the hot lunch items. Brunch included, omelette station, sweets and pastries, cheeses, fresh fruits, salads and hot dishes.... LOTS to choose from and the service was very attentive.

We went into town in this rainy weekend and walked around the courtyard square - which is where most of the shopping and restaurants are. Tried to get a cream puff from Culberts but apparently they sell out by NOON most days and not open on Sundays.

My wife and I really enjoyed the Inn and will come back in the fall for another visit

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our Gledhill House and our Sunday brunch. We do hope to see you in the future again. Lots of upgrades and changes planned for the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Love this place. My husband and I bike through there regularly from Bayfield and stop for lunch on the patio. It is quite refined. The food is great. I have not stayed in the hotel but, was contemplating having my wedding here. It's a lot like the Old Mill in Toronto but, in the country.
This is truly an oasis in the country with the Mill and the river. If you want to see first hand the damage that the Goderich Tornado did, all of the lovely trees on the embankment have been downed. The Benmiller was lucky to have been spared although some of the outbuildings were damaged.
I would recommend taking your bike. There are cycling day trips from Benmiller. to points east, North or South to Bayfield (stop for lunch or a swim in the lake)... There are fantastic rural routes/lines with no cars on them parallel to Hwy 21, best cycling in Ontario...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saragil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have some wonderful places to bike and hike in the area. Glad that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This past week I had the pleasure of experiencing my first stay at the Benmiller Inn.I have eaten at the restaurant in the past,but this was first time I really got to see what the Inn was all about.
I had dinner my first evening,and being mostly vegetarian it can sometimes be a challenge.I was pleasantly surprised when they had a wonderful entree, and tweaked a appetizer so that I could thoroughly enjoy my meal.
As to my room,everything was wonderful,from the bed,to the Aveda products in the bathroom.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne333_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us here. We have just launched an entire Vegetarian menu so you will have more options to choose from. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean but very dated. Bed was very comfortable. Some staff were kind of friendly. Food was good not great. We were given one night and paid for another. Here in winter, maybe nicer in summer. Nice place but pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are constantly changing and growing. Many updates are currently going on around the property and in the rooms. We do hope to see you again so you can see some of these changes for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
261 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
234 reviews
17.2 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
18.2 km away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Property: Benmiller Inn & Spa
Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing