We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cameron's Cove Bed & Breakfast(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samuels Hotel(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Albert Inn and Cottages(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldon St Guest House(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Cedar Lodge Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Inn(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$82
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamz Inn(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$132
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunlop Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
116
120
62
50
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
120
62
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggledhill housedining roomthe riverhot tubconservation areacrepesselect roomdifferent buildingswedding guestsrelaxing experiencefine diningbeautiful spotbalcony overlookingromantic weekendcomfy chairslarge room
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 370 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the perfect place to relax. The pool is large, always clean and refreshing. Lovely places to sit and enjoy the river. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable. I felt very pampered. Breakfast was included, the selections from the buffet were good, fresh and hot and but they were also willing to make something special when asked. The staff was very courteous and friendly. This has become a regular summer get away. Watch for specials on their website, and don't forget to ask about AAA and CAA discounts.

Room Tip: If you like to be near the dining area, stay in the Main House. The spa area has nice rooms also if you want to be near the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in the main building (Woolen Mill) over a weekend. Our friends were getting married on site, and so we sort of took over the whole place! The room was clean, the food and service through out the stay was excellent! We very much enjoyed the Sunday Brunch selections, and especially enjoyed the Crepe station! (BTW, that guy needs another crepe pan & burner!!)
The grounds are nicely kept, we did not have the chance to use the pool or spa though. The sound of rushing water was nearly everywhere we walked around the grounds. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a 1st floor room if you have difficulty with stairs or walking. These are historical buildings, be aware!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Benmiller Inn looked tired, it was lacking the "loving touch" (maybe a flower on the table would have been nice. Not much selection on breakfast buffet. The worst was, we were dropped off at the other buildings and had to walk back to main building with our luggage along country road. (maybe a golf cart for luggage transport would have been nice) I can not recommend this inn & spa (lacking atmosphere) Also, this is not close to Goderich, not much to do there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovingcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our layout here is unique for sure with the road but we have looked into many alternatives and for either ministry guidelines with the water being there we cannot build a private bridge or insurance reasons we are not permitted to have carts etc. They have widened the sidewalk so that has helped. Part of our charm is that we are outside of town surrounded by the quiet countryside...rivers, streams and bush. Its quiet and peaceful. Guests can just relax and rejuvenate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in the Gledhill buiding - rooms tired - bathroom dated - bed mattress in dire need of replacement - even cleaning the windows might have helped overall impression. On entry to building there was a musty smell - a new coat of paint throughout the halls as well as new rugs would help one's first impression.
The pool and spa area - pool ok but sauna would have taken hours to heat up to enable use - hot tub tired and dingy. Exercise equipment - we considered somewhat dangerous to use - well past the replacement date.
On the plus side - the restaurant staff were warm, welcoming and cheerful. A couple of standout items on the menu and what didn't stand out was more than acceptable, though one chef's lamb creation was strange - a lamb pasta creation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverceleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We have been working at updates and renovations and continue to do so. Lots to do but I assure you new carpet etc is in the works. Thank you for your input and we do hope that you will come back in the future to see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family stayed here for four nights in the middle of July, and we enjoyed our stay. Our room was in the Gledhill house, overlooking the pond; it was a beautiful view from the second floor and our balcony. I was somewhat disappointed with the bathroom, which needed a reno, but it was clean and well maintained, so no real complaint about it.
The beautiful indoor pool was just across the road from our building, and our boys really enjoyed it. There was a beautiful deck outside the pool that overlooked the river, and it was a lovely place to sit and read. The spa is in an adjacent section of the pool building, and the two spa services I had there were great. I think the tornado that hit this region a couple of years ago tore away many trees around this part of the property.
The real highlight of this inn was for me the food. The breakfasts were fantastic, as were the two dinners we ate there. Other reviews mention the walk to the main building as problematic - we always enjoyed it, in part because we found the food so great that we needed an after-dinner walk.
We had great service, and found all the staff members polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Our Gledhill House room was large, and had a great view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

You are correct about the tornado. It did have a huge impact on our trees but every season we see a lot of new growth. I love the deck on the back of the pool too. Its one of my favourite views on the entire property. I am glad that you enjoyed all of the various things we have to offer here at Benmiller, pool, spa, food etc. Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you agin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews