We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
121
123
65
54
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
123
65
54
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building gledhill house dining room the river hot tub old mill conservation area crepes select room different buildings wedding guests relaxing experience fine dining overlooking the pond deluxe suite an older property romantic weekend
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 387 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We returned for a three night visit after nearly 20 years. Nothing had changed, but that is a good thing.
To be fair, the Inn is in need of some updating but the manager told me they were shutting down for several weeks this winter to do the whole place. It will make the Inn truly special once more.
The restaurant is a gem. Five star food in a casual setting.
This is a great place for a get-away for couples. Never used the spa so I can't comment. We like to hike and there are so many great trails to enjoy on a fall weekend. Goderich is quaint; the lake is beautiful. Ben Miller Inn will remain a favorite.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank timgrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your review . As discussed when you were here we have done all of the rooms upstairs in the main building. New paint, no wood flooring, wallpaper removed in most rooms and lots more. I cant wait for you to come back and see it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We first spent a night at the Benmiller on honeymoon 36 years ago. We have been back over the years with mixed impressions. The grounds, water, and buildings always charm. This time we stayed for two nights as part of a "cousins reunion". We stayed in the River Inn. Dinner for six was well prepared and served. I had raw tuna which was almost fork tender. Rest of diners were pleased with their choices. Breakfast brought good reviews for the homemade peameal bacon. French toast was made using bread pudding for a change of pace. Front staff was helpful for making dinner reservations for our second night at a restaurant in Goderich. Good upgrades to furnishings in the public area of the Woolen Mill. We were there mid week and had the pool area to ourselves. The bed was very comfortable.Housekeeping service seemed extremely casual. Room was unserviced when we returned at 3pm. When turn down service appeared at 6 pm, we asked if they could come back at 7 pm. They never returned. Towels were not replaced with fresh ones. From an aesthetics standpoint, it is very jarring to look at the River Inn for the outside and see bright colored curtains at the windows. Once you are inside, you realize they are thermal linings. Would be nice if neutral colors had been used. Overall, we are glad the Benmiller continues to offer a quiet place in the country with river views.

Room tip: Suggest you get a room in the River Mill with a balcony and river view. You are within a few steps of the pool and spa.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at the Benmiller in overnight on the weekend with my husband and another couple. Had stopped in for lunch previously, so decided to try it for a relaxing 'time away'. Absolutely beautiful spot! Our package included dinner and Sunday brunch the next day and the food did not disappoint! First class food paired with superb service from the time we arrived made this an absolutely wonderful weekend.

It's not cheap as far as budget goes, but we thought the value was there and worth every penny. Definately and special occassion spot if you are looking for something extra wonderful:)

There are trails and a conservation area very close to the inn and the front desk staff provided us with directions and a map and we hiked over to see the falls.

Small touches like the turndown and lemon cookies and the book detailing the history of the inn in our room just enhanced an already charming spot!

The entertainment was a piano player/singer that entranced us so much that we did not want to see him leave - excellent, professional and fun! It would be worth the drive just to come for him!

This is a spot that is well worth making a destination for your weekend and the fall colours just make this place - good for the soul:)

Out of 10 - I'd put this as a 12! You will not be disappointed.

Room tip: We asked for a table in the restaurant in the corner that overlooks the stream, so that added to the atmosphere. They also have a lovely patio.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianEh013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We treated ourselves to a weekend away at the Ben Miller Spa and Inn. I had spent a weekend there 12 years ago and was so enamoured at that time I couldn't wait to return. Walkling into the mail building, lounge and dining area were quaint, cozy and just as I remembered. Our room was located in one of the buildings off site..which also housed the pool and spa. The view was beautiful over the river however the room itself was "tired". It is time for renovations to be completed in this part of the Inn. I cannot address the rest of the rooms in the other buildings. The bed, linens and pillows were fabulous.
We did eat at the dining room one evening and the meal was five star. The restaurant and lounge stops serving food on sundays at 8. Don who was Bartending was wonderful to us and made a great cesar salad after hours. We can't thankhim enough. Breakfast brunch and breakfast off the menu was wonderful as well. We did not participate in the spa, pool or fitness area.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WenforShelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a "spa room", which includes an in-room jacuzzi tub. My impression is that not every room has a private bathroom, so we sprang for this. Since it was a romantic getaway weekend, it made sense. These rooms are in the same building as the pool, spa and "gym". The room has a modern look to it, sort of a typical hotel room, and not the rustic look of some others. Breakfast was fine - the sausage and bacon were good, the French toast not so much. Service was very good. Sunday brunch (included for us) was lovely with lots to choose from including an omelette/crepe bar. Excellent service. Check-in/out was a breeze. Note that the Benmiller is about a 10 minute drive to town.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews