We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“character, charm, and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Howell, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“character, charm, and quality”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

One of the most wonderful aspects of the Benmiller is its cozy, restful country inn quality, fitting its history and location. We stayed in the River House this time, in a room with a balcony overlooking the Maitland River, and we thoroughly enjoyed the views, as well as the luxuriously comfortable bed. We also had a nice sitting area next to the sliding door. The pool was sparkling clean, and we loved basking in the hot autumn sun on the pool deck. Dinner in the Ivey Room was delicious and stylish, served with grace. We walked the trails in the next-door Conservancy area, and took the pleasant drive over to Stratford for a play and dinner. The Inn staff was warm, cordial, helpful, and professional - all one could wish.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the 3 main buildings are individually distinctive - this is not a cookie-cutter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMurasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We love to hear about people enjoying our beautiful Inn. We look forward to having you stay with us again here at Benmiller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    108
    58
    42
    19
See reviews for
31
238
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We returned for a three night visit after nearly 20 years. Nothing had changed, but that is a good thing.
To be fair, the Inn is in need of some updating but the manager told me they were shutting down for several weeks this winter to do the whole place. It will make the Inn truly special once more.
The restaurant is a gem. Five star food in a casual setting.
This is a great place for a get-away for couples. Never used the spa so I can't comment. We like to hike and there are so many great trails to enjoy on a fall weekend. Goderich is quaint; the lake is beautiful. Ben Miller Inn will remain a favorite.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank timgrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review . As discussed when you were here we have done all of the rooms upstairs in the main building. New paint, no wood flooring, wallpaper removed in most rooms and lots more. I cant wait for you to come back and see it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We first spent a night at the Benmiller on honeymoon 36 years ago. We have been back over the years with mixed impressions. The grounds, water, and buildings always charm. This time we stayed for two nights as part of a "cousins reunion". We stayed in the River Inn. Dinner for six was well prepared and served. I had raw tuna which was almost fork tender. Rest of diners were pleased with their choices. Breakfast brought good reviews for the homemade peameal bacon. French toast was made using bread pudding for a change of pace. Front staff was helpful for making dinner reservations for our second night at a restaurant in Goderich. Good upgrades to furnishings in the public area of the Woolen Mill. We were there mid week and had the pool area to ourselves. The bed was very comfortable.Housekeeping service seemed extremely casual. Room was unserviced when we returned at 3pm. When turn down service appeared at 6 pm, we asked if they could come back at 7 pm. They never returned. Towels were not replaced with fresh ones. From an aesthetics standpoint, it is very jarring to look at the River Inn for the outside and see bright colored curtains at the windows. Once you are inside, you realize they are thermal linings. Would be nice if neutral colors had been used. Overall, we are glad the Benmiller continues to offer a quiet place in the country with river views.

Room Tip: Suggest you get a room in the River Mill with a balcony and river view. You are within a few steps o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed at the Benmiller in overnight on the weekend with my husband and another couple. Had stopped in for lunch previously, so decided to try it for a relaxing 'time away'. Absolutely beautiful spot! Our package included dinner and Sunday brunch the next day and the food did not disappoint! First class food paired with superb service from the time we arrived made this an absolutely wonderful weekend.

It's not cheap as far as budget goes, but we thought the value was there and worth every penny. Definately and special occassion spot if you are looking for something extra wonderful:)

There are trails and a conservation area very close to the inn and the front desk staff provided us with directions and a map and we hiked over to see the falls.

Small touches like the turndown and lemon cookies and the book detailing the history of the inn in our room just enhanced an already charming spot!

The entertainment was a piano player/singer that entranced us so much that we did not want to see him leave - excellent, professional and fun! It would be worth the drive just to come for him!

This is a spot that is well worth making a destination for your weekend and the fall colours just make this place - good for the soul:)

Out of 10 - I'd put this as a 12! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We asked for a table in the restaurant in the corner that overlooks the stream, so that added to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianEh013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We treated ourselves to a weekend away at the Ben Miller Spa and Inn. I had spent a weekend there 12 years ago and was so enamoured at that time I couldn't wait to return. Walkling into the mail building, lounge and dining area were quaint, cozy and just as I remembered. Our room was located in one of the buildings off site..which also housed the pool and spa. The view was beautiful over the river however the room itself was "tired". It is time for renovations to be completed in this part of the Inn. I cannot address the rest of the rooms in the other buildings. The bed, linens and pillows were fabulous.
We did eat at the dining room one evening and the meal was five star. The restaurant and lounge stops serving food on sundays at 8. Don who was Bartending was wonderful to us and made a great cesar salad after hours. We can't thankhim enough. Breakfast brunch and breakfast off the menu was wonderful as well. We did not participate in the spa, pool or fitness area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WenforShelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had a "spa room", which includes an in-room jacuzzi tub. My impression is that not every room has a private bathroom, so we sprang for this. Since it was a romantic getaway weekend, it made sense. These rooms are in the same building as the pool, spa and "gym". The room has a modern look to it, sort of a typical hotel room, and not the rustic look of some others. Breakfast was fine - the sausage and bacon were good, the French toast not so much. Service was very good. Sunday brunch (included for us) was lovely with lots to choose from including an omelette/crepe bar. Excellent service. Check-in/out was a breeze. Note that the Benmiller is about a 10 minute drive to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The main building and dining facilities are very good. Our room was in a separate building so we had to drive back and forth. (We are seniors) The room was "early 70's motel" - a very very old air conditioning unit, plywood doors, the coffee machine did not work. We were given a second machine which worked but had to ask for cream and there was no Earl Grey Tea available. The ceiling smoke detector and the baseboards had not been cleaned in a long time. Because we had booked with Expedia, we did not receive breakfast. For the price, it should have been included. The pool is excellent but unless you have a room in that building, you have to walk down the road. The setting is lovely and the view of the river from the deck at the pool is great. I would not recommend this Inn to anyone and do not intend to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Goderich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
261 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
235 reviews
17.2 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
18.2 km away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Property: Benmiller Inn & Spa
Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing