We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Samuels Hotel(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Albert Inn and Cottages(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Cedar Lodge Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamz Inn(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$132
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Inn(Goderich)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$82
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunlop Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cameron's Cove Bed & Breakfast(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldon St Guest House(Goderich)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
116
120
62
50
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
120
62
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggledhill housedining roomthe riverhot tubconservation areacrepesselect roomdifferent buildingswedding guestsrelaxing experiencefine diningbeautiful spotbalcony overlookingromantic weekendcomfy chairslarge room
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 370 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

One of the most wonderful aspects of the Benmiller is its cozy, restful country inn quality, fitting its history and location. We stayed in the River House this time, in a room with a balcony overlooking the Maitland River, and we thoroughly enjoyed the views, as well as the luxuriously comfortable bed. We also had a nice sitting area next to the sliding door. The pool was sparkling clean, and we loved basking in the hot autumn sun on the pool deck. Dinner in the Ivey Room was delicious and stylish, served with grace. We walked the trails in the next-door Conservancy area, and took the pleasant drive over to Stratford for a play and dinner. The Inn staff was warm, cordial, helpful, and professional - all one could wish.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the 3 main buildings are individually distinctive - this is not a cookie-cutter place! The staff is happy to show you different rooms. They're all nice in different ways. If you describe your preferences to the reservationist, you will find a room that suits you.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMurasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We love to hear about people enjoying our beautiful Inn. We look forward to having you stay with us again here at Benmiller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We returned for a three night visit after nearly 20 years. Nothing had changed, but that is a good thing.
To be fair, the Inn is in need of some updating but the manager told me they were shutting down for several weeks this winter to do the whole place. It will make the Inn truly special once more.
The restaurant is a gem. Five star food in a casual setting.
This is a great place for a get-away for couples. Never used the spa so I can't comment. We like to hike and there are so many great trails to enjoy on a fall weekend. Goderich is quaint; the lake is beautiful. Ben Miller Inn will remain a favorite.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank timgrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your review . As discussed when you were here we have done all of the rooms upstairs in the main building. New paint, no wood flooring, wallpaper removed in most rooms and lots more. I cant wait for you to come back and see it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We first spent a night at the Benmiller on honeymoon 36 years ago. We have been back over the years with mixed impressions. The grounds, water, and buildings always charm. This time we stayed for two nights as part of a "cousins reunion". We stayed in the River Inn. Dinner for six was well prepared and served. I had raw tuna which was almost fork tender. Rest of diners were pleased with their choices. Breakfast brought good reviews for the homemade peameal bacon. French toast was made using bread pudding for a change of pace. Front staff was helpful for making dinner reservations for our second night at a restaurant in Goderich. Good upgrades to furnishings in the public area of the Woolen Mill. We were there mid week and had the pool area to ourselves. The bed was very comfortable.Housekeeping service seemed extremely casual. Room was unserviced when we returned at 3pm. When turn down service appeared at 6 pm, we asked if they could come back at 7 pm. They never returned. Towels were not replaced with fresh ones. From an aesthetics standpoint, it is very jarring to look at the River Inn for the outside and see bright colored curtains at the windows. Once you are inside, you realize they are thermal linings. Would be nice if neutral colors had been used. Overall, we are glad the Benmiller continues to offer a quiet place in the country with river views.

Room Tip: Suggest you get a room in the River Mill with a balcony and river view. You are within a few steps of the pool and spa.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at the Benmiller in overnight on the weekend with my husband and another couple. Had stopped in for lunch previously, so decided to try it for a relaxing 'time away'. Absolutely beautiful spot! Our package included dinner and Sunday brunch the next day and the food did not disappoint! First class food paired with superb service from the time we arrived made this an absolutely wonderful weekend.

It's not cheap as far as budget goes, but we thought the value was there and worth every penny. Definately and special occassion spot if you are looking for something extra wonderful:)

There are trails and a conservation area very close to the inn and the front desk staff provided us with directions and a map and we hiked over to see the falls.

Small touches like the turndown and lemon cookies and the book detailing the history of the inn in our room just enhanced an already charming spot!

The entertainment was a piano player/singer that entranced us so much that we did not want to see him leave - excellent, professional and fun! It would be worth the drive just to come for him!

This is a spot that is well worth making a destination for your weekend and the fall colours just make this place - good for the soul:)

Out of 10 - I'd put this as a 12! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We asked for a table in the restaurant in the corner that overlooks the stream, so that added to the atmosphere. They also have a lovely patio.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianEh013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews