We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Maple Leaf Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Lodge Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samuels Hotel(Goderich)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Inn(Goderich)
US$92
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamz Inn(Goderich)
US$136
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dunlop Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ashwood Inn(Bayfield)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
115
117
60
48
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
117
60
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggledhill housedining roomthe riverhot tubold millconservation areacrepesselect roomsmall balconydifferent buildingsbuffet breakfastwedding guestsrelaxing experiencefine diningbeautiful spotromantic weekend
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 362 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you're looking to spend too much money at a resort that's rather dated, then stay here. Otherwise, spend your hard-earned money elsewhere. My wife and I recently spend 2 nights here for a getaway from the Michigan Thanksgiving rush. The rooms, albeit quiet, are dated and in need of upgrade - peeling paint and bare screws in the wall where pictures used to hang. The front desk staff missed our calls to them twice, gave mediocre restaurant recommendations (really, a chain burger joint for a couple trying to have a nice retreat?) and told us that the HST was likely refundable to US citizens (sorry, that went away several years ago as I found out). While the restaurant was nice, it too was over-priced (Thyme on 21 has better food at a lower price - if you can get a table as they are VERY busy, in contrast to the hotel restaurant). That was a restaurant discovery we found on our own. Spa services were mediocre - my wife said her facial and massage were fine, I asked for a "deep tissue" massage and got a pretty light workout. Although the pool is nice, no need to check out the "exercise room" as there are 3 rickety old machines and some dumbells in a 5-gallon pail - good luck. We spent our honeymoon here many years ago and found it charming at that point. Today, it seems as they are trying to milk it's history for all it's worth. There are many better places to go for the price we were charged. We won't go back again.

Room Tip: Room 62 was where we stayed. Spacious and away from the few others at the resort, but clearly in need of an update.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. We continue to work at renovations and have just completed Woolen Mill with new floors, paint etc. We are a historic Mill and that is what people love about us for the most part. The exercise room is something that we are working on building up and increasing in the near future. The room in which you stayed is one of our most sought after rooms and I am sorry that you did not enjoy the feel of it.
I am glad you enjoyed Thyme on 21 as it is a beautiful place to dine in our area.
Our guest services people do get very busy with calls and guests and I apologize if they missed your calls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Recently celebrated our Anniversary at The Benmiller Inn, specifically the Gledhill House. We were very happy with the service ( Dan ) and restaurant atmosphere. The meal was exceptionally well done from the appetizer thru to the dessert. We anticipated the rooms were going to be dated and in need of updating; however, what we didn't expect was the noise. The noise created by plumbing issues throughout the entire night resulted in a very interrupted sleep. When addressed the issue during checkout, the response was less than favourable. Not returning.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

I apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. It has been dealt with and it ended up being a pressure issue in the lines. Please contact me directly if you would like to give us another opportunity as I would be happy to give you a special rate as an apology for the sleepless night. That is not what we want you to remember about us but from time to time issues do arise as they do in our own homes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Recently stayed four nights at the Inn my company had an annual meeting their and the place was awesome. The staff very friendly and went above and beyond to provide service. Also had the best dinner of the stay in Goderich at the BenMiller Restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

One of the most wonderful aspects of the Benmiller is its cozy, restful country inn quality, fitting its history and location. We stayed in the River House this time, in a room with a balcony overlooking the Maitland River, and we thoroughly enjoyed the views, as well as the luxuriously comfortable bed. We also had a nice sitting area next to the sliding door. The pool was sparkling clean, and we loved basking in the hot autumn sun on the pool deck. Dinner in the Ivey Room was delicious and stylish, served with grace. We walked the trails in the next-door Conservancy area, and took the pleasant drive over to Stratford for a play and dinner. The Inn staff was warm, cordial, helpful, and professional - all one could wish.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the 3 main buildings are individually distinctive - this is not a cookie-cutter place! The staff is happy to show you different rooms. They're all nice in different ways. If you describe your preferences to the reservationist, you will find a room that suits you.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMurasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We love to hear about people enjoying our beautiful Inn. We look forward to having you stay with us again here at Benmiller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews