We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are back--a year later, I can give it a truly excellent rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I reviewed the Benmiller a year ago, and I'm pleased to write that they have addressed my concerns and now deserve an "excellent" rating. First, to address the concerns from a year ago, their wi-fi now works consistently and the pool area has been cleaned up, is kept warmer, and towels were readily available. I had been concerned by an earlier review about the pool and spa temperature, but whatever the problem may have been, it seems to have been fixed. If you're going to walk between buildings, you still have to walk on the roadway, but that weekend we had a lot of snow.
Once again, we booked a deluxe room in the River Mill and were very pleased with the room's warmth, cleanliness and comfort. The greatest advantage of the hotel is the wonderful surroundings and views. We really enjoyed watching the ducks, loons, and hawks from the room's panoramic windows. We also had a great view of Benmiller Creek as it ran by our dining room window.
I wasn't quite as pleased with the dining as usual, but this is probably due to the very busy Valentine's weekend. The food was tasty, the selection was excellent with the package, and it was generally well-prepared, but small things such as bringing my hot soup on a frigid plate, or bringing an entirely cold, not torched, creme brulee detracted a bit.
One definite suggestion is to have the desk tell the customer that they need to book dining reservations when they book the package. My son stayed the night before we did (we babysat) and didn't know to make dining reservations. With no reservations, they were left with only very early or very late dining times. Our thanks to the Manager, Dawn Beach, for helping to work out the problem this caused.
I see they are offering special room and dining rates for the rest of February and March. We will definitely be taking advantage of this.

Room Tip: We always book the River Mill if it's available. We've never found the pool/spa area crowded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

It was a pleasure to have you back again here at the Benmiller Inn and Spa. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just got back from overnight stay. We did the Valetone 's package that included room, dinner and breakfast.
We stayed in the main building and had a very nice room. Very spacious and very clean, as well as quaint. Our room had a mini bar and in room coffee maker, equipped with coffee and cream, which was really nice. Bathroom was spacious with a large tub and as well spotless.
The Friday night entertainment was super! Lounge area is very cozy with beautiful fireplace
lit with warm lighting and candles.
The disappointing part of our stay was the food. We ordered beef tenderloin, which arrived at the table cold for both my husband and myself. We let our waiter know, he took our plates, and the same plates came back re-warmed which dried out our tenderloin. Normal price for this meal is 34 dollars, so we would have expected to have fresh meals brought out, not have them heated to dry out the meat.
Breakfast as well was disappointing. It was a buffet, eggs cold, bacon raw. Several patrons were asking for cooked bacon, and our table next to us we're commenting how cold the meal was.
On check out I was asked if we enjoyed our stay. I did say the room was lovely as was the Inn, however our food was not. The only comment made was " that is surprising, we do not get complaint's about our food",however another couple at dinner had also complained so we know this was not true.
All in all the Inn is lovely, but would not recommend it due to our dining experience, and lack of response on check out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunLover154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed Jan/11/14, day before arrival we were contacted to advise our room that we booked would not be available due to a pump problem? Upon arrival the front desk clerk mentioned that all the rooms had to be moved due to a pump problem with the sewage? Not what you want to hear when checking in! We called the inn directly to book and was not told that the room would be in another building off site and that we would need to drive back and forth to the dining room/bar. The room provided was some what clean (the bedding was clean), it was a very large area, two rooms converted to one? Minimal furniture, the fireplace in the one part of the room was a minature gas wood stove replica, the TV was in the other room with bed and a garage sale ceiling fan over head. The mini bar area was a real turn off, the bar sink needed to be replace. The entire bottom of the sink was covered with rust/lime build up.
The positive part of our stay was the meal and the entertainment. Stayed only one night and would not recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

My apologies for the issue with the pump and us having to switch your room. Sometimes these things happen on short notice, though it was not the sewage pump but a water pump so your room would of had no water. The room you were in was a deluxe suite-lots of room and I am sorry that you did not find it to your liking but it is a very popular room due to the amount of space. I will look into the sink you spoke of and get that changed right away. Thank you for your comments and we do hope that you will try us again at a later time as we are continually improving and upgrading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Comprised of an old mill building (spa) and relatively close-by buildings like the old manor main building, it has quaint to modern new rooms. Although this stay was in winter (over NYE too) the rooms were well-heated and comfy, but the trek to the main building for dining was onerous as you need to drive or take a walk on the edge of the hiway. If would like robes in your room, be sure to ask for them and they'll bring them so you can walk to the spa in your robes instead of disrobing from your clothes when you get there. It isn't a robes-everywhere spa-resort, but a venue resort with a limited spa. They do have RMT service (Thanks Cathy!), and non-RMT (such as hot stone massage, very nice too, Thanks Ward!). The Mani-Pedi was far better for 'pedi' and the mani treatment was low-end in comparison to everywhere else we'd been (including those inexpensive little Asian places). But, overall, even the pedi equipment (no proper pedi massage or recliner chairs etc, just a pan of soapy water to soak in). The dining was adequate, and the Ahi Tuna was good, but the 'breakfast buffet' was horrible, small, poorly refreshed, and especially abhorrent for New Year morning, which was included as part of the 'NYE' package. They should definitely make this a proper New Year brunch as part of the 'package' as it was a total let-down to the experiences there this time. It does have 'location' going for it though, if you're from the London area.

Room Tip: If you want the bar and dining, stay in the Mail Building; but if you prefer the Spa and Pool, stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldfishingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We revisited our honeymoon trip to Ben Miller for our 30th wedding anniversary. We stayed there 30 years ago after a intimate Christmas Wedding. A lot has changed, but in someways nothing has changed. The room was very comfortable and large. The resort was not busy, so the two nights we spent there were very quiet. The restaurant was excellent and the service very attentive as we and two other couples were the only ones present. The best dish was the stuffed pork, which was outstanding. The fixed price menu was also good value. The indoor recreation area has an indoor pool and hot tub which are large and very well maintained. I was disappointed with the lack of weights and workout cardio machines. The tornado damage of 2011 is evident in the surrounding country side, with many trees destroyed and damaged. This damaged does not effect the ambiance and charm of the facility. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Glad you enjoyed your time with us here. Our exercise area is something we are working on and hope to improve on in the near future. Glad you had an opportunity to enjoy our beautiful dining room. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have been to the Benmiller inn three times in the last year and have never been disappointed. The rooms are large and have amazing views. The grounds are beautiful. It is a great place for a weekend getaway. The weekend brunch is also quite tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for the kind words. We always love getting feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Was looking for a romantic get-away between Christmas and New Years and had biked in this area years ago.
They have a great program.....mention room and breakfast and they give you the next, best room available. We got an awesome room, overlooking the Maitland River, 4th floor, size of a 2 bedroom apartment.

Drove over from K-W area, 90 KPH all the way, my buddy went downtown Toronto same time, the last 15 KM took him over an hour + with the ice storm/power outage there, his hotel was filled with screaming kids and dogs everywhere.

Quickly checked in and got settled in room, front desk mentioned TV and internet was off...so what? Lot's to do.

Decided to start with the pool/dry sauna/hot tub cycle for an hour or so, very quiet and private. Then got ready for dinner, yes if staying in the part of Benmiller that has the pool, have to go outside to get to dining room. We decided to walk, amazing number of stars, even saw the Milky Way.

Dinner was delicious, lot's of vegetarian selections for my partner and we had a very buttery but not oaky, private label Chardonnay. Yum.
Back in the room, we decided to do another pool/sauna/hot tub cycle or 3. Total relaxation + the king sized bed with feathertop was awesome. TV and internet was working...but who needs that in a place like this?
Next morning was a slow-wake up, the single portion hot in-room-beverage machine was awesome...I hate coffee flavoured tea....both were yummy.

We had reserved a brunch time and were slightly late walking up the road to dinning room, not a problem. Massive selection of food choices for brunch, we left plumped up nicely ( we love good food but not to excessive quantites, quality vs quantity). The Chef running the omlette station encourages bringing ingrediants from elsewhere ( ie blue cheese from cheese station) to create your perfect dish.

Back in the room, outside, Mr Eagle was flying around above Maitland River, sadly with family events scheduled, we had to pass on pool/sauna/hot tub.

Lot's to do in the area, Part 2 Bistro in Blyth was great, walking/biking trails in Goderich was enjoyable, shopping district in Bayfield was a bit boring.

Room Tip: Umm....next time you might want my fave room....yes we will be going back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shredder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your time here. Isn't it amazing sight to see the eagles over the river? We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
279 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
246 reviews
17.1 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
175 reviews
7.1 km away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Address: R.r.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range: $152 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing