We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Colborne Bed and Breakfast(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Samuels Hotel(Goderich)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Lodge Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Leaf Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamz Inn(Goderich)
US$134
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Inn(Goderich)
US$107
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
119
121
65
52
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
121
65
52
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingdining roomgledhill housethe riverhot tubcrepesselect roomdifferent buildingsbeautiful spotwedding guestsfine diningoverlooking the pondan older propertyromantic weekendbit datedcomfy chairslarge room
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 379 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just got back from overnight stay. We did the Valetone 's package that included room, dinner and breakfast.
We stayed in the main building and had a very nice room. Very spacious and very clean, as well as quaint. Our room had a mini bar and in room coffee maker, equipped with coffee and cream, which was really nice. Bathroom was spacious with a large tub and as well spotless.
The Friday night entertainment was super! Lounge area is very cozy with beautiful fireplace
lit with warm lighting and candles.
The disappointing part of our stay was the food. We ordered beef tenderloin, which arrived at the table cold for both my husband and myself. We let our waiter know, he took our plates, and the same plates came back re-warmed which dried out our tenderloin. Normal price for this meal is 34 dollars, so we would have expected to have fresh meals brought out, not have them heated to dry out the meat.
Breakfast as well was disappointing. It was a buffet, eggs cold, bacon raw. Several patrons were asking for cooked bacon, and our table next to us we're commenting how cold the meal was.
On check out I was asked if we enjoyed our stay. I did say the room was lovely as was the Inn, however our food was not. The only comment made was " that is surprising, we do not get complaint's about our food",however another couple at dinner had also complained so we know this was not true.
All in all the Inn is lovely, but would not recommend it due to our dining experience, and lack of response on check out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunLover154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed Jan/11/14, day before arrival we were contacted to advise our room that we booked would not be available due to a pump problem? Upon arrival the front desk clerk mentioned that all the rooms had to be moved due to a pump problem with the sewage? Not what you want to hear when checking in! We called the inn directly to book and was not told that the room would be in another building off site and that we would need to drive back and forth to the dining room/bar. The room provided was some what clean (the bedding was clean), it was a very large area, two rooms converted to one? Minimal furniture, the fireplace in the one part of the room was a minature gas wood stove replica, the TV was in the other room with bed and a garage sale ceiling fan over head. The mini bar area was a real turn off, the bar sink needed to be replace. The entire bottom of the sink was covered with rust/lime build up.
The positive part of our stay was the meal and the entertainment. Stayed only one night and would not recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

My apologies for the issue with the pump and us having to switch your room. Sometimes these things happen on short notice, though it was not the sewage pump but a water pump so your room would of had no water. The room you were in was a deluxe suite-lots of room and I am sorry that you did not find it to your liking but it is a very popular room due to the amount of space. I will look into the sink you spoke of and get that changed right away. Thank you for your comments and we do hope that you will try us again at a later time as we are continually improving and upgrading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Comprised of an old mill building (spa) and relatively close-by buildings like the old manor main building, it has quaint to modern new rooms. Although this stay was in winter (over NYE too) the rooms were well-heated and comfy, but the trek to the main building for dining was onerous as you need to drive or take a walk on the edge of the hiway. If would like robes in your room, be sure to ask for them and they'll bring them so you can walk to the spa in your robes instead of disrobing from your clothes when you get there. It isn't a robes-everywhere spa-resort, but a venue resort with a limited spa. They do have RMT service (Thanks Cathy!), and non-RMT (such as hot stone massage, very nice too, Thanks Ward!). The Mani-Pedi was far better for 'pedi' and the mani treatment was low-end in comparison to everywhere else we'd been (including those inexpensive little Asian places). But, overall, even the pedi equipment (no proper pedi massage or recliner chairs etc, just a pan of soapy water to soak in). The dining was adequate, and the Ahi Tuna was good, but the 'breakfast buffet' was horrible, small, poorly refreshed, and especially abhorrent for New Year morning, which was included as part of the 'NYE' package. They should definitely make this a proper New Year brunch as part of the 'package' as it was a total let-down to the experiences there this time. It does have 'location' going for it though, if you're from the London area.

Room Tip: If you want the bar and dining, stay in the Mail Building; but if you prefer the Spa and Pool, stay in the Spa Building (they are a ½ mile apart). The Spa Building rooms can have a wonderful view of the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldfishingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We revisited our honeymoon trip to Ben Miller for our 30th wedding anniversary. We stayed there 30 years ago after a intimate Christmas Wedding. A lot has changed, but in someways nothing has changed. The room was very comfortable and large. The resort was not busy, so the two nights we spent there were very quiet. The restaurant was excellent and the service very attentive as we and two other couples were the only ones present. The best dish was the stuffed pork, which was outstanding. The fixed price menu was also good value. The indoor recreation area has an indoor pool and hot tub which are large and very well maintained. I was disappointed with the lack of weights and workout cardio machines. The tornado damage of 2011 is evident in the surrounding country side, with many trees destroyed and damaged. This damaged does not effect the ambiance and charm of the facility. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your time with us here. Our exercise area is something we are working on and hope to improve on in the near future. Glad you had an opportunity to enjoy our beautiful dining room. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have been to the Benmiller inn three times in the last year and have never been disappointed. The rooms are large and have amazing views. The grounds are beautiful. It is a great place for a weekend getaway. The weekend brunch is also quite tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for the kind words. We always love getting feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews