We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
120
123
65
53
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
123
65
53
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building dining room gledhill house the river hot tub crepes select room different buildings wedding guests fine dining overlooking the pond deluxe suite an older property beautiful spot romantic weekend bit dated caesar salad
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 384 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night on the Saturday of the Valentine's day weekend and were overall quite happy with our stay. The place was completely booked the night we were there. We had a spa room which was very nice and had a big tub (right in the main part of the room, off to the side). I'd suggest to Benmiller to add doormats to the rooms when you come in though, as the entrance is right in front of the bathroom and there is nowhere to put your snowy, wet, muddy boots so that was a bit of a pain. It'd also be nice to have a kettle with a few tea choices for the tea drinkers, which some hotels do.
The room was a bit chilly but we turned up the heat and it was warm in no time. The little electric fireplace is also a nice touch. We had room 87, which had a wonderful view of the river. I'd definitely request that room next time. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great and relaxing sleep.
The dinner was really good, even if the service was pretty slow. We ate from the vegetarian menu for the most part - the avocado bruschetta is especially delicious. The mushroom risotto was really good, and my husband said his trout was cooked perfectly. I did find it strange that one of the main veg options was Gardein fake chicken...I'd think they could create something better and more original with tofu or tempeh instead..not a big deal though. The carrot cake for dessert was amazing. They have a ton of wine choices and we had a nice, reasonably priced one. The brunch the next day was pretty good too, with enough veggie options to eat. It was nice to have the cook making custom crepes and omelettes there.
The main lounge with live music is nice and cozy and a really nice place to sit and have a couple of drinks.
A nice addition would be if they had someone able to drive people back and forth from the spa room block area to the main lodge in the cold winter months. Everyone just drove over since it's literally right around the corner but it's nice to be able to have some more drinks and not worry about having to drive at all when it's freezing out and too cold to walk at night. Not a big deal at all, but this is just an idea for a nice added touch.

Our only complaint really was that the pool was too cold. We went down to swim but didn't even end up going in all the way as it was too cold. I've read this complaint on many other reviews too so had assumed this would be fixed, and was very disappointed they haven't addressed this issue. No one else seemed to be swimming. Also, the towels in the pool area could use a replacement as they are so tiny and quite ratty.

Overall though, we were very happy with our stay and would definitely come back, even if just for a meal if we're in the area. I'd definitely recommend it as a nice stay for friends and family though.

Room Tip: Room 87 - spa room - had a great view. Ask for one with a river view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moose_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Benmiller. Our pool can be a little on the cool side compared to some and we are currently looking at installing a new heater so next time you come it should be much warmer. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I reviewed the Benmiller a year ago, and I'm pleased to write that they have addressed my concerns and now deserve an "excellent" rating. First, to address the concerns from a year ago, their wi-fi now works consistently and the pool area has been cleaned up, is kept warmer, and towels were readily available. I had been concerned by an earlier review about the pool and spa temperature, but whatever the problem may have been, it seems to have been fixed. If you're going to walk between buildings, you still have to walk on the roadway, but that weekend we had a lot of snow.
Once again, we booked a deluxe room in the River Mill and were very pleased with the room's warmth, cleanliness and comfort. The greatest advantage of the hotel is the wonderful surroundings and views. We really enjoyed watching the ducks, loons, and hawks from the room's panoramic windows. We also had a great view of Benmiller Creek as it ran by our dining room window.
I wasn't quite as pleased with the dining as usual, but this is probably due to the very busy Valentine's weekend. The food was tasty, the selection was excellent with the package, and it was generally well-prepared, but small things such as bringing my hot soup on a frigid plate, or bringing an entirely cold, not torched, creme brulee detracted a bit.
One definite suggestion is to have the desk tell the customer that they need to book dining reservations when they book the package. My son stayed the night before we did (we babysat) and didn't know to make dining reservations. With no reservations, they were left with only very early or very late dining times. Our thanks to the Manager, Dawn Beach, for helping to work out the problem this caused.
I see they are offering special room and dining rates for the rest of February and March. We will definitely be taking advantage of this.

Room Tip: We always book the River Mill if it's available. We've never found the pool/spa area crowded, even on Valentine's weekend. We even struck up a conversation about Alice Munro with some of the other guests in the sauna (which you need to make sure is warmed up at least 20 minutes before you use it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you back again here at the Benmiller Inn and Spa. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just got back from overnight stay. We did the Valetone 's package that included room, dinner and breakfast.
We stayed in the main building and had a very nice room. Very spacious and very clean, as well as quaint. Our room had a mini bar and in room coffee maker, equipped with coffee and cream, which was really nice. Bathroom was spacious with a large tub and as well spotless.
The Friday night entertainment was super! Lounge area is very cozy with beautiful fireplace
lit with warm lighting and candles.
The disappointing part of our stay was the food. We ordered beef tenderloin, which arrived at the table cold for both my husband and myself. We let our waiter know, he took our plates, and the same plates came back re-warmed which dried out our tenderloin. Normal price for this meal is 34 dollars, so we would have expected to have fresh meals brought out, not have them heated to dry out the meat.
Breakfast as well was disappointing. It was a buffet, eggs cold, bacon raw. Several patrons were asking for cooked bacon, and our table next to us we're commenting how cold the meal was.
On check out I was asked if we enjoyed our stay. I did say the room was lovely as was the Inn, however our food was not. The only comment made was " that is surprising, we do not get complaint's about our food",however another couple at dinner had also complained so we know this was not true.
All in all the Inn is lovely, but would not recommend it due to our dining experience, and lack of response on check out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunLover154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed Jan/11/14, day before arrival we were contacted to advise our room that we booked would not be available due to a pump problem? Upon arrival the front desk clerk mentioned that all the rooms had to be moved due to a pump problem with the sewage? Not what you want to hear when checking in! We called the inn directly to book and was not told that the room would be in another building off site and that we would need to drive back and forth to the dining room/bar. The room provided was some what clean (the bedding was clean), it was a very large area, two rooms converted to one? Minimal furniture, the fireplace in the one part of the room was a minature gas wood stove replica, the TV was in the other room with bed and a garage sale ceiling fan over head. The mini bar area was a real turn off, the bar sink needed to be replace. The entire bottom of the sink was covered with rust/lime build up.
The positive part of our stay was the meal and the entertainment. Stayed only one night and would not recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

My apologies for the issue with the pump and us having to switch your room. Sometimes these things happen on short notice, though it was not the sewage pump but a water pump so your room would of had no water. The room you were in was a deluxe suite-lots of room and I am sorry that you did not find it to your liking but it is a very popular room due to the amount of space. I will look into the sink you spoke of and get that changed right away. Thank you for your comments and we do hope that you will try us again at a later time as we are continually improving and upgrading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Comprised of an old mill building (spa) and relatively close-by buildings like the old manor main building, it has quaint to modern new rooms. Although this stay was in winter (over NYE too) the rooms were well-heated and comfy, but the trek to the main building for dining was onerous as you need to drive or take a walk on the edge of the hiway. If would like robes in your room, be sure to ask for them and they'll bring them so you can walk to the spa in your robes instead of disrobing from your clothes when you get there. It isn't a robes-everywhere spa-resort, but a venue resort with a limited spa. They do have RMT service (Thanks Cathy!), and non-RMT (such as hot stone massage, very nice too, Thanks Ward!). The Mani-Pedi was far better for 'pedi' and the mani treatment was low-end in comparison to everywhere else we'd been (including those inexpensive little Asian places). But, overall, even the pedi equipment (no proper pedi massage or recliner chairs etc, just a pan of soapy water to soak in). The dining was adequate, and the Ahi Tuna was good, but the 'breakfast buffet' was horrible, small, poorly refreshed, and especially abhorrent for New Year morning, which was included as part of the 'NYE' package. They should definitely make this a proper New Year brunch as part of the 'package' as it was a total let-down to the experiences there this time. It does have 'location' going for it though, if you're from the London area.

Room Tip: If you want the bar and dining, stay in the Mail Building; but if you prefer the Spa and Pool, stay in the Spa Building (they are a ½ mile apart). The Spa Building rooms can have a wonderful view of the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldfishingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews