We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
121
123
65
54
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
123
65
54
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building dining room gledhill house the river hot tub old mill crepes select room different buildings fine dining wedding guests overlooking the pond deluxe suite an older property beautiful spot romantic weekend bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 386 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had our wedding at Benmiller Inn in May 2014 - I highly recommend the Inn for anything from a simple dinner, to a weekend away to a large event, such as a wedding or corporate retreat!
The sales staff is wonderful to work with, the restaurant is simply amazing, the ambiance is first class and the entire experience of The Benmiller Inn is certainly first class.

Room Tip: I'd suggest staying in the main building - close to the bar & restaurant.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us here at the Benmiller Inn. We have so much fun doing weddings and we love helping to create memories that last forever. We hope to see you again..perhaps on your first anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This past January The Benmiller Inn was our selected venue to host a family wedding. It was an exceptional event. The 100 guests, family members and friends continue to compliment us on the charm, hospitality, food and suitability of your hotel for an event like this.

Sharpe’s Retreat was the perfect building for part of our family to call home for this weekend. Friday’s rehearsal dinner was followed with a party catered by Benmiller. Forty to fifty guests comfortably spread out in the spacious and home like setting of Sharpe’s Retreat. Saturday morning the house then became a central preparation & dressing room for girls in the wedding party. Thank you for extending the buffet breakfast this far from the dining room. The girl’s had a great time.

We seemed to be eating constantly this weekend. Fortunately we were at Benmiller. All meals were delicious, individual diet requirements were attended to and even the most discriminating food critics, (our son in-law and many friends are chefs), declared Benmiller food the best!

Staff, too many to name individually, were warm, welcoming and devoted. The Inn’s charming and nostalgic décor was comforting, relaxed and created the mood of a personal visit to a grand country cottage rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful, kind words. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Charm, in the dictionary, should have a photo of Benmiller Inn and spa. Our recent experience was perfect from check-in to check-out. The staff..in every department was professional, friendly, helpful and fun! The food was amazing for both dinner and brunch. The hot food was piping hot and the cold selections were fresh, tasty and plenty of everything! Dinner was amazing and we all ordered something different so we could do some of our own taste testing! There was enterainment on the Saturday night and it was terrific! The rooms were tranquil with a relaxing atmosphere. We went for a long walk after brunch and even the neighbours were friendly! This is a gem and if you have not been there or maybe not for awhile-check it out-you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rivermill and our family at Gledhill and both were fantastic! Quiet and peaceful and super comfortable!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

It was wonderful having you here! Thank you for the great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed our your entire experience here at Benmiller Inn. We look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night on the Saturday of the Valentine's day weekend and were overall quite happy with our stay. The place was completely booked the night we were there. We had a spa room which was very nice and had a big tub (right in the main part of the room, off to the side). I'd suggest to Benmiller to add doormats to the rooms when you come in though, as the entrance is right in front of the bathroom and there is nowhere to put your snowy, wet, muddy boots so that was a bit of a pain. It'd also be nice to have a kettle with a few tea choices for the tea drinkers, which some hotels do.
The room was a bit chilly but we turned up the heat and it was warm in no time. The little electric fireplace is also a nice touch. We had room 87, which had a wonderful view of the river. I'd definitely request that room next time. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great and relaxing sleep.
The dinner was really good, even if the service was pretty slow. We ate from the vegetarian menu for the most part - the avocado bruschetta is especially delicious. The mushroom risotto was really good, and my husband said his trout was cooked perfectly. I did find it strange that one of the main veg options was Gardein fake chicken...I'd think they could create something better and more original with tofu or tempeh instead..not a big deal though. The carrot cake for dessert was amazing. They have a ton of wine choices and we had a nice, reasonably priced one. The brunch the next day was pretty good too, with enough veggie options to eat. It was nice to have the cook making custom crepes and omelettes there.
The main lounge with live music is nice and cozy and a really nice place to sit and have a couple of drinks.
A nice addition would be if they had someone able to drive people back and forth from the spa room block area to the main lodge in the cold winter months. Everyone just drove over since it's literally right around the corner but it's nice to be able to have some more drinks and not worry about having to drive at all when it's freezing out and too cold to walk at night. Not a big deal at all, but this is just an idea for a nice added touch.

Our only complaint really was that the pool was too cold. We went down to swim but didn't even end up going in all the way as it was too cold. I've read this complaint on many other reviews too so had assumed this would be fixed, and was very disappointed they haven't addressed this issue. No one else seemed to be swimming. Also, the towels in the pool area could use a replacement as they are so tiny and quite ratty.

Overall though, we were very happy with our stay and would definitely come back, even if just for a meal if we're in the area. I'd definitely recommend it as a nice stay for friends and family though.

Room Tip: Room 87 - spa room - had a great view. Ask for one with a river view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moose_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Benmiller. Our pool can be a little on the cool side compared to some and we are currently looking at installing a new heater so next time you come it should be much warmer. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I reviewed the Benmiller a year ago, and I'm pleased to write that they have addressed my concerns and now deserve an "excellent" rating. First, to address the concerns from a year ago, their wi-fi now works consistently and the pool area has been cleaned up, is kept warmer, and towels were readily available. I had been concerned by an earlier review about the pool and spa temperature, but whatever the problem may have been, it seems to have been fixed. If you're going to walk between buildings, you still have to walk on the roadway, but that weekend we had a lot of snow.
Once again, we booked a deluxe room in the River Mill and were very pleased with the room's warmth, cleanliness and comfort. The greatest advantage of the hotel is the wonderful surroundings and views. We really enjoyed watching the ducks, loons, and hawks from the room's panoramic windows. We also had a great view of Benmiller Creek as it ran by our dining room window.
I wasn't quite as pleased with the dining as usual, but this is probably due to the very busy Valentine's weekend. The food was tasty, the selection was excellent with the package, and it was generally well-prepared, but small things such as bringing my hot soup on a frigid plate, or bringing an entirely cold, not torched, creme brulee detracted a bit.
One definite suggestion is to have the desk tell the customer that they need to book dining reservations when they book the package. My son stayed the night before we did (we babysat) and didn't know to make dining reservations. With no reservations, they were left with only very early or very late dining times. Our thanks to the Manager, Dawn Beach, for helping to work out the problem this caused.
I see they are offering special room and dining rates for the rest of February and March. We will definitely be taking advantage of this.

Room Tip: We always book the River Mill if it's available. We've never found the pool/spa area crowded, even on Valentine's weekend. We even struck up a conversation about Alice Munro with some of the other guests in the sauna (which you need to make sure is warmed up at least 20 minutes before you use it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you back again here at the Benmiller Inn and Spa. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews