We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back in a heart beat!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Stratford, Canada
1 review
“Would go back in a heart beat!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had a wonderful evening away by myself, hubby and baby stayed home! The food was great! my room at the spa building. it had a amazing view of the river. the walk down to dinner and breakfast was beautiful. The Staff was so friendly and helpful. Just a great relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jneatty19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
It is nice to be able to get away for a night and relax. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here. Thank you for the review and the kind words. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    108
    58
    42
    19
See reviews for
31
238
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have been staying several nights a week at the Benmiller Inn since 2009. over this long period of time you would expect some variations in the level of service," This has not been the case" The service from all staff, the accommodation, meals and amenities have always been great. I have referred many friends and business associates and they have all been enthusiastic about the inn

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Benmiller Inn. We look forward to your arrival every week and thank you for your continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerwood
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Benmiller Inn is a superb place to get away from it all in style. It's rustic and luxurious all at the same time: from the gorgeous views of the river, to the room décor, to the sumptuous meals, to the wine list, to the staff there to ensure every perfect personal detail. When I first called to book our getaway, Lori suggested the perfect room, and it was breathtaking. Once again we have another beautiful memory thanks to the Benmiller Inn. If you've never stayed here, you simply must because quite frankly, the Benmiller Inn never disappoints. We cannot wait until we come back again next year.

Room Tip: Our favourite rooms are in The Mill
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerwoodAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to share them with us and others. It was so nice to see you again. You have inspired Lori and myself so much and we are happy that you find Benmiller Inn to be one of those special places for you and your family to visit. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had our wedding at Benmiller Inn in May 2014 - I highly recommend the Inn for anything from a simple dinner, to a weekend away to a large event, such as a wedding or corporate retreat!
The sales staff is wonderful to work with, the restaurant is simply amazing, the ambiance is first class and the entire experience of The Benmiller Inn is certainly first class.

Room Tip: I'd suggest staying in the main building - close to the bar & restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us here at the Benmiller Inn. We have so much fun doing weddings and we love helping to create memories that last forever. We hope to see you again..perhaps on your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This past January The Benmiller Inn was our selected venue to host a family wedding. It was an exceptional event. The 100 guests, family members and friends continue to compliment us on the charm, hospitality, food and suitability of your hotel for an event like this.


Sharpe’s Retreat was the perfect building for part of our family to call home for this weekend. Friday’s rehearsal dinner was followed with a party catered by Benmiller. Forty to fifty guests comfortably spread out in the spacious and home like setting of Sharpe’s Retreat. Saturday morning the house then became a central preparation & dressing room for girls in the wedding party. Thank you for extending the buffet breakfast this far from the dining room. The girl’s had a great time.


We seemed to be eating constantly this weekend. Fortunately we were at Benmiller. All meals were delicious, individual diet requirements were attended to and even the most discriminating food critics, (our son in-law and many friends are chefs), declared Benmiller food the best!


Staff, too many to name individually, were warm, welcoming and devoted. The Inn’s charming and nostalgic décor was comforting, relaxed and created the mood of a personal visit to a grand country cottage rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful, kind words. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Charm, in the dictionary, should have a photo of Benmiller Inn and spa. Our recent experience was perfect from check-in to check-out. The staff..in every department was professional, friendly, helpful and fun! The food was amazing for both dinner and brunch. The hot food was piping hot and the cold selections were fresh, tasty and plenty of everything! Dinner was amazing and we all ordered something different so we could do some of our own taste testing! There was enterainment on the Saturday night and it was terrific! The rooms were tranquil with a relaxing atmosphere. We went for a long walk after brunch and even the neighbours were friendly! This is a gem and if you have not been there or maybe not for awhile-check it out-you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rivermill and our family at Gledhill and both were fantastic! Quiet and peaceful and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
It was wonderful having you here! Thank you for the great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed our your entire experience here at Benmiller Inn. We look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for one night on the Saturday of the Valentine's day weekend and were overall quite happy with our stay. The place was completely booked the night we were there. We had a spa room which was very nice and had a big tub (right in the main part of the room, off to the side). I'd suggest to Benmiller to add doormats to the rooms when you come in though, as the entrance is right in front of the bathroom and there is nowhere to put your snowy, wet, muddy boots so that was a bit of a pain. It'd also be nice to have a kettle with a few tea choices for the tea drinkers, which some hotels do.
The room was a bit chilly but we turned up the heat and it was warm in no time. The little electric fireplace is also a nice touch. We had room 87, which had a wonderful view of the river. I'd definitely request that room next time. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great and relaxing sleep.
The dinner was really good, even if the service was pretty slow. We ate from the vegetarian menu for the most part - the avocado bruschetta is especially delicious. The mushroom risotto was really good, and my husband said his trout was cooked perfectly. I did find it strange that one of the main veg options was Gardein fake chicken...I'd think they could create something better and more original with tofu or tempeh instead..not a big deal though. The carrot cake for dessert was amazing. They have a ton of wine choices and we had a nice, reasonably priced one. The brunch the next day was pretty good too, with enough veggie options to eat. It was nice to have the cook making custom crepes and omelettes there.
The main lounge with live music is nice and cozy and a really nice place to sit and have a couple of drinks.
A nice addition would be if they had someone able to drive people back and forth from the spa room block area to the main lodge in the cold winter months. Everyone just drove over since it's literally right around the corner but it's nice to be able to have some more drinks and not worry about having to drive at all when it's freezing out and too cold to walk at night. Not a big deal at all, but this is just an idea for a nice added touch.

Our only complaint really was that the pool was too cold. We went down to swim but didn't even end up going in all the way as it was too cold. I've read this complaint on many other reviews too so had assumed this would be fixed, and was very disappointed they haven't addressed this issue. No one else seemed to be swimming. Also, the towels in the pool area could use a replacement as they are so tiny and quite ratty.

Overall though, we were very happy with our stay and would definitely come back, even if just for a meal if we're in the area. I'd definitely recommend it as a nice stay for friends and family though.

Room Tip: Room 87 - spa room - had a great view. Ask for one with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moose_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Benmiller. Our pool can be a little on the cool side compared to some and we are currently looking at installing a new heater so next time you come it should be much warmer. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
262 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
232 reviews
17.2 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
18.2 km away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Property: Benmiller Inn & Spa
Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing