We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
121
123
65
54
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
123
65
54
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building gledhill house dining room the river hot tub old mill conservation area crepes select room different buildings wedding guests relaxing experience fine dining overlooking the pond deluxe suite an older property romantic weekend
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 387 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our Extended Holiday Stay At Ben Miller Inn Was Second To None

This is the happy truth. We came for a few days this spring, after house moving, just to relax and plan a trip to Florida till our new place was ready, and after a few days enjoying the gorgeous pool, hot tub and sauna, overlooking the mighty Maitland River and mill falls, my wife Anna said...”Let’s Stay Here!”.

We were actually packed with sandals, shorts etc in the SUV. To be frank, we have stayed at the Inn many times over the years, since 1978, sometime several days at a time, sometimes just for lunch on the outdoor patio beside the river, but this was totally impromptu and such a pleasant surprise to us both to consider. Certainly we were exhausted, but the attention everyone paid to us, and such stunning surroundings, inside and out, we found it quite easy to get used to the idea. After such remarkable food experiences, in the ambience of a first class establishment we have always thought, combined with a setting along the river tributaries that flow beside the dining room and meander about the premises, and just in the first couple of days, we said to ourselves.....the pool is warm, the hot tub is hot, the views are amazing, the people smile, the food is sumptuous and elegant, our favourite room with balcony overlooked the water was perfect, how could we hope for better down south, and take the many risks associated with travel. Besides,we decided "pampering" trumps the rat race.

We didn’t tell the staff that we were heading to Florida at first, but eventually we did. They were astounded. Can you imagine seeing the same hosts daily as you partake such delectable’s created by the several chefs, often they would see us walking down the walkway for late morning breakfast and have our table waiting with hot coffee already poured!!! We encouraged them to call us by our first names, which they had difficulty accepting, but we insisted. All the staff is truly genuine and conciencous, just what you might expect from an established country inn.

After every breakfast, which included fresh fruit continental and their signature scones, then hot Huron County food where even the pea meal bacon was homemade, we had to work it off, so we headed out to explore, at least every second day was walking the trails around the Inn and Conservation Area, the local towns, always returning to the pool for a couple of hours to read and compute. Eventually, the fish were jumping right outside the floor to ceiling windows at the pool. Our favourite thing.

The housekeeping staff kept us clean and tidy beyond our expectation. They were terrific. We even met the Owner, who is truly dedicated to ensure all is good for his guests. Almost all the staff is longstanding with the Inn.

We have come to enjoy the comings and goings at the Inn, seeing them working with young couples planning their wedding, sharing a chat with the gardener, asking the chef in afternoon what he is preparing special for that night,(the rack of lamb is indescribable) talking with the desk crew that seem to have the best job of talking with people on the phone who are excitedly booking a getaway. Everything was set in a rustic yet elegant atmosphere, but almost every guest we saw was dressed to their own comfort, like us. That way, they had the most fun it seemed.

We wouldn’t hesitate to return, even after experiencing as much of the daily routine of business as we did, but it was what worked for us.

Thank you all at the Inn for a very memorable holiday.

Anna and Paul
PS: the Sunday Brunch draws crowds from afar, and made things exciting for us, we couldn't wait till the weekend. The pastry chef Martin is renowned for his creations, we can attest.

.

.

.

Room tip: Staff are happy to show you any room that you might enjoy. They have such a variety, from the main Inn building to any of the other mill buildings, most including waterviews.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you so much! It has been such a privilege to get to know you two. Your support means so much to us and we all miss seeing you each morning at breakfast. You are part of our Benmiller family and we always look forward to seeing you and chatting with you. We will see you in the fall again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had a wonderful evening away by myself, hubby and baby stayed home! The food was great! my room at the spa building. it had a amazing view of the river. the walk down to dinner and breakfast was beautiful. The Staff was so friendly and helpful. Just a great relaxing place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jneatty19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

It is nice to be able to get away for a night and relax. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here. Thank you for the review and the kind words. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have been staying several nights a week at the Benmiller Inn since 2009. over this long period of time you would expect some variations in the level of service," This has not been the case" The service from all staff, the accommodation, meals and amenities have always been great. I have referred many friends and business associates and they have all been enthusiastic about the inn

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Benmiller Inn. We look forward to your arrival every week and thank you for your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Benmiller Inn is a superb place to get away from it all in style. It's rustic and luxurious all at the same time: from the gorgeous views of the river, to the room décor, to the sumptuous meals, to the wine list, to the staff there to ensure every perfect personal detail. When I first called to book our getaway, Lori suggested the perfect room, and it was breathtaking. Once again we have another beautiful memory thanks to the Benmiller Inn. If you've never stayed here, you simply must because quite frankly, the Benmiller Inn never disappoints. We cannot wait until we come back again next year.

Room tip: Our favourite rooms are in The Mill
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerwoodAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to share them with us and others. It was so nice to see you again. You have inspired Lori and myself so much and we are happy that you find Benmiller Inn to be one of those special places for you and your family to visit. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had our wedding at Benmiller Inn in May 2014 - I highly recommend the Inn for anything from a simple dinner, to a weekend away to a large event, such as a wedding or corporate retreat!
The sales staff is wonderful to work with, the restaurant is simply amazing, the ambiance is first class and the entire experience of The Benmiller Inn is certainly first class.

Room tip: I'd suggest staying in the main building - close to the bar & restaurant.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us here at the Benmiller Inn. We have so much fun doing weddings and we love helping to create memories that last forever. We hope to see you again..perhaps on your first anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews