We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming getaway!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I recently had the opportunity to get away on my own to the Benmiller Inn in Goderich, Ontario - and I can't wait to do it again! I was greeted warmly by Dawn at the front desk and immediately made to feel welcome! My room was charming, dinner was fabulous, I enjoyed a great night's sleep, and treated myself to a wonderful, relaxing massage at the spa the next morning. It was only a little over an hour's drive for me from London, and I decided to drive to Stratford for the afternoon before going home, which was another easy drive away! It was such a lovely, affordable and rejuvenating time away! I will definitely go back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you and I am so happy that you came to see us at the Benmiller Inn and had the opportunity to experience all the different things we have to offer. We will see you soon once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    108
    58
    42
    19
See reviews for
31
238
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our Extended Holiday Stay At Ben Miller Inn Was Second To None

This is the happy truth. We came for a few days this spring, after house moving, just to relax and plan a trip to Florida till our new place was ready, and after a few days enjoying the gorgeous pool, hot tub and sauna, overlooking the mighty Maitland River and mill falls, my wife Anna said...”Let’s Stay Here!”.

We were actually packed with sandals, shorts etc in the SUV. To be frank, we have stayed at the Inn many times over the years, since 1978, sometime several days at a time, sometimes just for lunch on the outdoor patio beside the river, but this was totally impromptu and such a pleasant surprise to us both to consider. Certainly we were exhausted, but the attention everyone paid to us, and such stunning surroundings, inside and out, we found it quite easy to get used to the idea. After such remarkable food experiences, in the ambience of a first class establishment we have always thought, combined with a setting along the river tributaries that flow beside the dining room and meander about the premises, and just in the first couple of days, we said to ourselves.....the pool is warm, the hot tub is hot, the views are amazing, the people smile, the food is sumptuous and elegant, our favourite room with balcony overlooked the water was perfect, how could we hope for better down south, and take the many risks associated with travel. Besides,we decided "pampering" trumps the rat race.

We didn’t tell the staff that we were heading to Florida at first, but eventually we did. They were astounded. Can you imagine seeing the same hosts daily as you partake such delectable’s created by the several chefs, often they would see us walking down the walkway for late morning breakfast and have our table waiting with hot coffee already poured!!! We encouraged them to call us by our first names, which they had difficulty accepting, but we insisted. All the staff is truly genuine and conciencous, just what you might expect from an established country inn.

After every breakfast, which included fresh fruit continental and their signature scones, then hot Huron County food where even the pea meal bacon was homemade, we had to work it off, so we headed out to explore, at least every second day was walking the trails around the Inn and Conservation Area, the local towns, always returning to the pool for a couple of hours to read and compute. Eventually, the fish were jumping right outside the floor to ceiling windows at the pool. Our favourite thing.

The housekeeping staff kept us clean and tidy beyond our expectation. They were terrific. We even met the Owner, who is truly dedicated to ensure all is good for his guests. Almost all the staff is longstanding with the Inn.

We have come to enjoy the comings and goings at the Inn, seeing them working with young couples planning their wedding, sharing a chat with the gardener, asking the chef in afternoon what he is preparing special for that night,(the rack of lamb is indescribable) talking with the desk crew that seem to have the best job of talking with people on the phone who are excitedly booking a getaway. Everything was set in a rustic yet elegant atmosphere, but almost every guest we saw was dressed to their own comfort, like us. That way, they had the most fun it seemed.

We wouldn’t hesitate to return, even after experiencing as much of the daily routine of business as we did, but it was what worked for us.

Thank you all at the Inn for a very memorable holiday.

Anna and Paul
PS: the Sunday Brunch draws crowds from afar, and made things exciting for us, we couldn't wait till the weekend. The pastry chef Martin is renowned for his creations, we can attest.


.

.


.

Room Tip: Staff are happy to show you any room that you might enjoy. They have such a variety, from the main I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so much! It has been such a privilege to get to know you two. Your support means so much to us and we all miss seeing you each morning at breakfast. You are part of our Benmiller family and we always look forward to seeing you and chatting with you. We will see you in the fall again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had a wonderful evening away by myself, hubby and baby stayed home! The food was great! my room at the spa building. it had a amazing view of the river. the walk down to dinner and breakfast was beautiful. The Staff was so friendly and helpful. Just a great relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jneatty19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
It is nice to be able to get away for a night and relax. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here. Thank you for the review and the kind words. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have been staying several nights a week at the Benmiller Inn since 2009. over this long period of time you would expect some variations in the level of service," This has not been the case" The service from all staff, the accommodation, meals and amenities have always been great. I have referred many friends and business associates and they have all been enthusiastic about the inn

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Benmiller Inn. We look forward to your arrival every week and thank you for your continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerwood
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Benmiller Inn is a superb place to get away from it all in style. It's rustic and luxurious all at the same time: from the gorgeous views of the river, to the room décor, to the sumptuous meals, to the wine list, to the staff there to ensure every perfect personal detail. When I first called to book our getaway, Lori suggested the perfect room, and it was breathtaking. Once again we have another beautiful memory thanks to the Benmiller Inn. If you've never stayed here, you simply must because quite frankly, the Benmiller Inn never disappoints. We cannot wait until we come back again next year.

Room Tip: Our favourite rooms are in The Mill
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerwoodAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to share them with us and others. It was so nice to see you again. You have inspired Lori and myself so much and we are happy that you find Benmiller Inn to be one of those special places for you and your family to visit. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had our wedding at Benmiller Inn in May 2014 - I highly recommend the Inn for anything from a simple dinner, to a weekend away to a large event, such as a wedding or corporate retreat!
The sales staff is wonderful to work with, the restaurant is simply amazing, the ambiance is first class and the entire experience of The Benmiller Inn is certainly first class.

Room Tip: I'd suggest staying in the main building - close to the bar & restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us here at the Benmiller Inn. We have so much fun doing weddings and we love helping to create memories that last forever. We hope to see you again..perhaps on your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This past January The Benmiller Inn was our selected venue to host a family wedding. It was an exceptional event. The 100 guests, family members and friends continue to compliment us on the charm, hospitality, food and suitability of your hotel for an event like this.


Sharpe’s Retreat was the perfect building for part of our family to call home for this weekend. Friday’s rehearsal dinner was followed with a party catered by Benmiller. Forty to fifty guests comfortably spread out in the spacious and home like setting of Sharpe’s Retreat. Saturday morning the house then became a central preparation & dressing room for girls in the wedding party. Thank you for extending the buffet breakfast this far from the dining room. The girl’s had a great time.


We seemed to be eating constantly this weekend. Fortunately we were at Benmiller. All meals were delicious, individual diet requirements were attended to and even the most discriminating food critics, (our son in-law and many friends are chefs), declared Benmiller food the best!


Staff, too many to name individually, were warm, welcoming and devoted. The Inn’s charming and nostalgic décor was comforting, relaxed and created the mood of a personal visit to a grand country cottage rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful, kind words. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
6.8 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
262 reviews
6.4 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
233 reviews
17.2 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
18.2 km away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
7.9 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Property: Benmiller Inn & Spa
Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario - Huron County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing