We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
120
123
65
54
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
123
65
54
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building dining room gledhill house the river hot tub crepes select room different buildings wedding guests fine dining overlooking the pond deluxe suite an older property beautiful spot romantic weekend bit dated caesar salad
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 385 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Benmiller Inn over the past 30 years. We have stayed in most of the buildings and enjoyed each and every room. The food is always exceptional as is the dining room service. Our only quibble on this visit was the housekeeping service. We stayed two days and no toiletries were brought on the second day, and the room cleaning appeared to have been very cursory. On the second evening we had cookies delivered to our room but not on our first evening--a bit hit and miss.
The comments made in other reviews about the winding staircase in the main building (Woollen Mill) is accurate. It is a bit of a tricky climb. No one offered to bring our suitcases up to our room. It might be worth offering some help to those who need it.
As for activities---the pool has always been a favourite spot for us, we hike the Maitland trail (at the top of the Main Street hill), we have picnicked and waded in the Maitland River at the Falls Reserve Conservation Area ( a short walk, and free to those staying at the inn), in the summer, drive 25 minutes to the Blyth theatre.

Room Tip: We have always enjoyed the rooms overlooking the Maitland River in the River Mill. The advantage is that you are in the same building as the pool, but you'll have to walk to the dining room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. The Maitland Trail is a beautiful trail..I am so happy you got to experience that during your stay. Many lovely picnic spots for sure. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We recently spent a night at this Inn and found it to have a lot of rustic atmosphere but difficult to navigate. When booking the hotel I do not recall anything about the amount of stairs to climb and that access for someone with knee problems would have difficulty with. The winding staircase with a door that opens out seemed a bit dangerous when carrying luggage up the stairs to our room. the landing is very small. The room was small but cute however a wet robe had been left on the back of the bathroom door from the previous occupant. The pool was very nice but again a winding staircase down to access. The change rooms had a stale "smelled like a wet dog" odour about them. The view was spectacular from the deck outside the pool. The breakfast was a bit pricey for what we received. Overall, a nice place but definitely not for anyone with physical limitations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomwen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The age of our Inn does make it challenging in some areas to navigate so we usually ask guests if stairs are an issue as we have many options of rooms where there are no stairs. We continue to work at renovations and updates and we hope you come back in the future to see the many changes that are happening here at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a nice weekend package our kids got us for our anniversary. The weather was perfect so we spent a lot of time outside. There's not much to see or do aside from the patio and bar, so we went into Goderich for a day.
The Inn is old and rustic. There's a few flaws but it seems to go well with its quaint charm. My biggest issue was that the room didn't get cool enough with the small AC in the window. The TV was also very small and far away from the bed.
The on site food was very good but portions were a little small for me. The staff was fantastic. Everyone bent over backwards to help us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiDooGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Inn and the beautiful town of Goderich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We got married this past January at the Benmiller Inn and Spa and would highly recommend the location to any perspective couples. The entire staff at the Benmiller was exceptional in every way. The sales manager Lori was always available to answer any questions and help keep us on track. She took any possible stress away from the wedding planning process. The day of the wedding we were blown away by the service provided. Mary Anne and her team ensured our cocktail hour, dinner service and reception were absolutely wonderful and unforgettable. The servers added a personal touch by getting to know us and our wedding guests. When the groom is a chef, the food served is extremely important, and the Benmiller exceeded our expectations. From the rehearsal dinner to the morning after brunch the food was exquisite. We have heard from many of our guests saying that the food was second to none. The kitchen took great care to accommodate any dietary restrictions to ensure that each guest did not miss out.
We could not speak more highly of the Benmiller Inn and Spa and can’t wait to go back to celebrate our anniversary!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

It was a pleasure to share in your special day. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Inn which did not live up to our expectations. Our group of 4 couples shared a separate cottage on the river. My wife and I were assigned the larger room which had a large separate entertainment room with river views and a flat screen TV. The bedroom also had a a modern flat screen TV. The problem is that the entertainment room had a strange odor, which persisted even though we opened the screen door and windows. It was there the second day as well. The bathtub did not drain adequately.

There was no communication between the front desk and the dining room. Even though it was off-season and there were not many guests, the dining room was unaware at dinner and breakfast twice that there was a group of 8 and each time they had to scramble to set up a table for us. Reservations at the Inn had been made months in advance.

The evening dinner was excellent. The breakfast buffet the next morning was not. The choice was limited. The scrambled eggs were dense and only slightly warm. Probably the worst scrambled eggs ever. Fortunately, there were not enough guests the second morning for there to have been a buffet, so we had to order from the limited menu. The food was fantastic. I could not believe that I was eating at the same restaurant!

None of us had any criticism of the wait staff. All did their jobs well and with a smile.

The indoor swimming pool was larger than expected. The water quality was checked while we were swimming.

Our group of 8 who are all over 70 have been getting together each April or May at Ontario Inns and the Benmiller was on my bucket list. The setting remains excellent, but the experience was not up to expectations and we were not thrilled as were the other reviewers.

Room Tip: We were in the Mill House. Footsteps carry from the upper level, so get a room on the upper level if noise bothers you at night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 800Bobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. Communication is a place where everyone can do better but I am happy you enjoyed the dining and some of the other aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews