We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
121
123
65
54
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
123
65
54
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building gledhill house dining room the river hot tub old mill conservation area crepes select room different buildings wedding guests relaxing experience overlooking the pond deluxe suite an older property romantic weekend beautiful spot
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 387 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

First time here. Never again. I have been checked in for 20 minutes and am ready to leave. I booked their deluxe suite and paid full price. At no point did anyone tell me the elevators are broken and that climbing stairs is required. When I called to complain I was told there was nothing else available and the elevator never works. We have 3 people so I booked a deluxe room for the space. It is awful. Pull out sofa couch that you can feel every spring. One tv that faces only one bed. Should all 3 of us lay on the bed to watch tv? I cannot believe I paid for this terrible room.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank Lindaloo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We escaped with friends to Benmiller for lunch on a very rainy Tuesday. Service was outstanding, the food was fresh and delicious and I look forward to a return visit. I had the daily pasta special, friends had Caesar salad which looked very fresh. Cant remember what hubby had but he cleaned it all up.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 380judyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique W, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had in our Ivey dining room. Our culinary team works hard to satisfy our guests' taste buds and our waiting staff add to this by offering their outstanding service.

We are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

As a lot of reviews will touch on, the staff and the food make the trip worth while. Came for our anniversary, and had an amazing dinner, met some amazing people in the lounge afterwards with some great entertainment. But our room (above the pool) in the river mill building needs some touch ups. Amazing view of the river, but the windows could use a little cleaning (outside and in)

We want to keep coming back, but we'd like to see some updates...

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Q9912PJmarkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique W, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you for your time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us.

We are aware of the need to update and are pleased to inform you that we have many projects scheduled again for the winter. We are starting bathroom renovations and hallway carpet replacement in some of our buildings. The renovations will continue for the next few years, in an effort to update the entire Inn.

We hope to welcome you back in the future to enjoy the changes with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Spent 4 days here. As previous reviews have stated the food and dining staff make this place. We were in the GledHill building second floor. Bathroom tiles in the bathroom were cracked. Lamp shades were in bad shape. Carpets had dirty spots. Rooms are not refreshed until after 3. They missed our room entirely one day. Front desk claims they clean rooms later to accommodate new check ins. Most other resorts have rooms refreshed during breakfast hour or at least noon. Did not meet our expectations.

Main areas of the building had dirty carpets. No vacuuming done in common areas.
This whole section needs an overhaul.

Pool area seemed ok except we had to call for towels.
The sauna, hot tub and pool all in working order.

Spa ladies were friendly services seemed ok.

Lack of attention to details in housekeeping means we will not return until the reviews speak of significant improvements.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique W, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our food, spa treatments, service as well as our beautiful pool area.

We understand your disappointment in some of the other areas and will make sure to pass along your comments to our housekeeping department. They work extremely hard to meet the needs and expectations of our guests, which can be very challenging at times. We apologize for the lack you experienced in this area during your stay with us.

We are aware of the need for updates and are happy to inform you that we are starting bathroom renovations in the Gledhill and Woollen Mill building this winter. It is also our intention to start replacing carpets and begin updating our decor.

In an effort to update the entire Inn, we will continue renovations over the next few years.

We sure hope you will join us again in the future for a new experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

We reserved a room above the Spa and was to over look the pond. Our room overlooked the parking lot, that was next to the pond. The room needs some updating, paint chips, cracks, and dusty. The bath tub/shower was not in the bathroom, instead next to the desk and refrigerator. Which wasnt a problem until you showered or had a bath. Our whole room steamed right up (and I didnt take that long of a shower)
The supper was delicious and they had a guy playing his guitar in the bar/loung. He was great to listen to before, during and after dinner. The breakfast was unreal! They had so many options. From prime rib to freshly made crepes, salads etc. Next time I would get room somewhere in Goderich and go to Ben Miller for dinner.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank S C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique W, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your comments and are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our food and the excellent live-entertainment by our local musician, Matt Hussey!

You stayed in what we call a "Spa Room", these rooms are an open concept room, which some guests love and others not so much. However, we have 6 different room styles, with very different lay-outs and sizes.

Next time when you want to come our way again, to enjoy our award winning Ivey dining room, you could perhaps try one of our other rooms for a new and different experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews