We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut cream pie and Banana cream pie”
Review of Monkeypod Kitchen

Monkeypod Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkeypod Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Description: Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman is a place where foodies, beer lovers, and families escape the stresses of their day-to-day lives by enjoying an ice-cold beer and a great meal while surrounded by people who consider them honored guests and friends. Our restaurants are founded upon a passion for craft and we are dedicated to mastering the craft of food, drink, and merrymaking...With Aloha! Our menu features fresh island fish, hand tossed pizzas from our kiawe wood-burning oven, and homemade cream pies made from scratch. Thirty-six craft beers are on tap, each served at an optimal twenty-nine degrees. Our culinary cocktails feature unique ingredients such as acai spirit, coconut water, and Kula lavender. Our passion for craft also extends to our diverse wine list, which emphasizes sustainability, drinkability and fun. Come join us at our communal table, with friends old and new, and learn what it's like to share our "Lucky Live Hawaii" story.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coconut cream pie and Banana cream pie”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Make sure you save room for dessert as both banana and coconut cream pies are heavenly. Booking around 5PM is a bonus outside as you get a good view of the sunset

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,277
    1,371
    418
    144
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Island, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not bad food for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We tried this restaurant because it looked busy as we drove past it and then read the reviews on Trip Advisor. The wait on a Saturday night was reasonable and the service was good. My daughter had the margarita pizza and loved it. My husband and other daughter had cheeseburgers. They said the fries were great and the burgers were fine. I had the pulled pork sandwich which was way too sweet for my tastes. They have lots of beer on tap! The price was reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Both food and service great”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We wanted a local place near the resort we are staying and used the earlier reviews to try this out. We were not disappointed. My friend got the margarita pizza which was good. I got the organic mixed greens with beets which was nice with a flavorful dressing. I ordered the fish tacos which was not as I expected and a it spicy, so our waitress Piper offered to replace with something else. I got the Pumpkin Patch Ravioli which was fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hours!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My favorite thing about Monkeypod is the Happy Hour! They offer both an early and late one. The bar area is a great place to meet friends for drinks and pupus. If you're dining, the outside patio offers the best seating in my opinion. Great food made with local ingredients!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Wife and I visited this location twice during our visit. Happy hour both times. First time was better experience because of better service. If you want good service you better sit at the bar. The rest of the tables in the bar area are a forgotten species. At 4: PM must be 20 plus staff walking around, maybe because of a shift change. Half had green uniforms on and half had black. No matter, none of them seemed interested in serving us. Second visit 4 different people acknowledged us, one suggested we were not her responsibility and someone else would be taking care of us, but no one did. The only way we were ever acknowledged was by flagging down a passerby. Pizza is good value at $9.00 happy hour pricing. Wild mushroom was Excellent. Poke Tacos at $18.00 were way overpriced for 3 tiny offerings. Non alcohol beer at $6.50 a bit much. It is what it is but we will choose to go elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetogolfwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Monkeypod Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing