We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
Nearby Hotels
US$107
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaport Inn and Marina(Fairhaven)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motel(Dartmouth)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$107
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
170
138
45
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
138
45
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhaling museumworking waterfrontmartha's vineyardhistoric downtownfree breakfastyogurtwaffle makercape codwithin walking distancerestaurants and barsfront desk staffpool and hot tubstayed here for one nightwould stay here againcomfortable roomshort driveconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 367 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a relatively new hotel on the waterfront, spacious and clean with large rooms and very comfortable beds. It deserves high marks for this but the breakfast, which was included, is very limited. It's alright if you like waffles, muffins, cereals and toast. There was also plastic food available in wrappers which could be heated in a microwave. Ugh! There's no restaurant but across the road the Waterfront Seafood grill has a very inviting menu.

Watch out for the traffic chaos. The hotel is currently isolated by major road works and finding the entrance can be a real problem. Once you arrive and step inside then a pleasant stay is promised. Our welcome was a bit abrupt however. Not a smile from the gentleman on the front desk and he mumbled the instructions for checking-in. Later on, other staff were far more friendly. But I would recommend visiting New Bedford with its fascinating Whaling history and museum.

Room Tip: Read the maps and make sure you know how to reach the location. It can be very confusing with all the road works taking place.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback, and are always looking for ways to improve. Our breakfast follows Marriott standards, and we do agree some variety would be nice! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed there for a week on bissness. The hotel itself is nice new it ends there. As a elite Marriott member I have stayed at lots of Marriotts threw out the north east. The Room smelled like dirty gym socks. They cleaned the room once during our stay. By mistake they charge $1400.00 on my charge card, sorry they said when I called them when I got the statement. The staff was very rude. that I Have ever incounterd at a marriott, totally unacceptable service. I wont go to that marrott again..

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
4  Thank Toby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We would like to apologize for your billing issues during your stay with us. I am confident that all of the confusion could have been avoided if we not had issues with the original authorization form sent in for you. We are glad to see that you are staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were weary and near the end of our two week trip when we got to this hotel. We just needed a stopping point on our way back to Boston. It was so nice to find a place so refreshingly decorated, clean and comfortable as this. The staff was friendly and the place still smelled and looked like it was new

Also, we bid for the room on Priceline so it was a fantastic value. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for your great review. I am happy to hear that our staff and comfortable rooms helped your weary night a become a little better. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, decent breakfast options. Stayed there for the Working Waterfront Festival, will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: try not to get a room in the back as there is road construction going on and they start making noise around 7:30AM
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czechmateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbedfordgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thank you for your response. The construction around the hotel is expected to be over soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Pros: This has got to be the cleanest hotels I've stayed in all year. The location is a short walk to good restaurants, the Zeiterion Theatre, the Whaling Museum and the charming cobblestoned old section of town. Parking is free and so is breakfast. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: My room did not have a mini-fridge, which I think should be standard, but maybe some of them do and I was just unlucky. Breakfast was included in the cost of the room, but it was a bit sub-par. . . mostly continental offerings with some pre-packaged microwave egg wrap sandwiches. You could make your own waffles, though. :-)

Room Tip: Request a room on the waterside for a great view of the fishing boats in the harbor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbedfordgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

thank you for your response. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. Our suites all have a fridge and microwave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews