We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical zoo”

Buttonwood Park Zoo
Ranked #8 of 36 things to do in New Bedford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the 12th oldest Zoo in the country, the Buttonwood Park Zoo has delighted and enlightened millions of visitors over its more than a century existence. We are dedicated to preserving the future of wildlife by creating engaging and educational experiences that connect the community to the natural world. The Buttonwood Park Zoo is a local treasure in the community that not only serves to create long-lasting memories, but has become a conservation-based center focused on preserving important species and the habitats they call home. We are open year-round with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. Stop in for a visit and see why we are the most visited attraction in the SouthCoast.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Since a child, many years past my parents took me to the zoo located near s.Dartmouth, in the far north of New Bedford off of Route 6. While small, compared to the Roger Williams Zoo in Rhode Island it is quaint, and historical. Many improvements over the years and a nice afternoon stroll on pebbled walkways. The various animals are well kept and the zoo is clean and maintained daily. A small pond is close by with ducks and geese to feed.Bring the kids or grandparents, enjoy the grounds & have fun.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank uphamkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"train ride"
in 16 reviews
"gift shop"
in 16 reviews
"bison"
in 8 reviews
"nice afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"farm animals"
in 5 reviews
"my kids love"
in 3 reviews
"small city"
in 5 reviews
"small train"
in 3 reviews
"the barn"
in 2 reviews
"black beans"
in 5 reviews
"large farm"
in 2 reviews
"picnic lunch"
in 2 reviews
"kiddie train"
in 2 reviews
"family outing"
in 3 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 3 reviews
"small place"
in 2 reviews
"an hour and a half"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

If you’re in the area, it’s worth a trip. I took my 12, 11, and 8 year old kids and they enjoyed it. We were there for a couple of hours and saw things at a leisurely pace. The rainforest pavilion with the various monkeys and birds were their favorite, as well as the river otters that swam up to you very closely.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank AnnunziataV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We went to the zoo today, two kids 8 (almost 9) and 6. They loved it. So did I. well maintained, friendly staff. We saw them interacting with the animals cleaning and taking care of them. Good information.
It’s a small place, so don’t think this is some all day long zoo. It’s a couple of hours, bring some snacks rest on the picnic tables, then explore the buttonwood park and playground too right outside the zoo.
Great job zoo staff!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

When going to this Zoo you have to not compare it to other, larger, zoos. This zoo is great. It is a small zoo; we went today for the Free Fun Friday event. We got there about 20 minutes before 3pm. We had packed up a little picnic lunch which we had the kids eat before we headed in. When we were finally ready to head in it was about 3:20. This zoo closes at 5 and were able to see and do everything, including spending about 30 minutes in the little play area up by the barn. Being that we live pretty far, about 2 hrs. away, I can't say this will become a regular Summer day trip destination for us, but it was certainly worth the visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Can't wait for the expansions to be completed. It will really add substance to the zoo. Nice exhibits easy walk.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Mich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buttonwood Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Buttonwood Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing