We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ilhabela
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is an hotel for couples. Everything there is romantic, comfortable and quiet. I was there with my wife for our honeymoon. We arrived monday at 1:00 am and the people in reception were very friendly. At our room was a bottle of sparkling wine in a bucket of cold water (we supposed to arrive at 9:00 pm). In the room there are flat cable TV and a Nesspresso machine. The breakfest includes a nice view from the channel and a couple of glasses os sparkling wine (très chiq). At the beach, a bed with rough cotton sheets, pillows, towels and service at the sands. Four restaurants with a large range of food, swimming pool, spa. As they said in the flyers: all about to luxury and the "dolce far niente". Ok, there ara mosquitoes too, but they are everywhere in the island. The price is not so high if you got it at week days.

Room Tip: Choose any room, except for those that are at the other side of the road. Everything is by the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo_Cardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    454
    121
    37
    27
See reviews for
287
1,729
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinhedo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I've stayed at the DPNY for a short visit to Ilhabela. This is luxury hotel and very comfortable it seems that an artist has planned all the details.

What I like the best was the location, the backyard ends at a beautiful beach with fine sand, palms and gorgeous view. As a runner I've enjoyed to run early on the morning.

I found the service very good and the staff friendly. The troia restaurant is a true culinary experience.

I've being at many 5 star hotel around the world but this was the first one at the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnlima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Fantastic service, food, facilities and landscape. Really high end hotel in Ilhabela and completely worth every penny if you can bear the mosquitoes that completely ignore the repelent. This hotel is hip, rommantic and luxurious. It has it all (yes, mosquitoes too). The island itself I wasn't too crazy about but the hotel did it all for me.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceciflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I don´t even know where to start. I´m brazilian and stayed at this hotel for a weekend with a very large group of friends due to one wedding that we attended at Ilhabela (somewhere else outside of this hotel thank god!)
Every single one that was in my group (more then 25 people) said the same. Ridiculous service, breakfast took at least one hour to arrive!! A cheese toast to take more then 50 min is unacceptable, and at one point, you could see all people in the restaurant complaining. This was the first day. Second day I think was even worse if that is possible.
Very pricey hotel, with absolutely no charm, decor very over, and even worse, they have rules for guest.
1. Guest cannot go from one room to another! WHAT?
2. We brought a haidresser to help us get raidy for the wedding, and the hotel was charging R$300 (USD180) just to allow him in the hotel! WHAT?
3. The bride was staying in the presidential suite and only her mother and sister were allowed by the hotel inside the room. We wanted to visit our fr4iend and were not allowed according to hotel rules. ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!

To sum it up....not only a horrible experience, but staff was rude, and in the end, the bill came 3 x the price that we were supposed to pay and they took 45 min to change it. NEVER, EVER AGAIN!!!! And if I were you, I would stay in another hotel without any doubt. There are many charming, cute hotels in Ilhabela, were you won´t feel disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

If you live in São Paulo, your best options to go to the beach are the Sofitel in Guaruja, The Juquehy Praia hotel in Juquehy Beach and DPNY in Ilha Bela. All these hotels are excellent, but in my opinion, DPNY is best for couples.

The Sofitel in Guaruja has a location problem. Guaruja is not a very nice place. It´s an ok place. Skip it if you can. Juquehy and Ilha Bela are much nicer areas, where you can find nice beaches, lush vegetation, no buildings and are very safe.

So my guess is for the best in the state of sao paulo: Juquehy Praia Hotel for families and DPNY for couples. The DPNY has a few pluses you can´t find easily elsewhere: nice relaxing atmosphere, nice ambient music, good food, heated outside pool perfect for adults, inside heated pool and hot tub, a strange but interesting design but the best are the chairs, beds and sofas around the pool and on the beach. Another plus is that they serve breakfast until 1pm, so nobody misses it. The rest is the same as other nice hotels: nice bed, nice bathroom, nice spa. rooms are quite small, but you won´t spend much time there.

You can get better rates directly with the hotel in half pension if you stay there 5 days or 1 week.

Just be prepared for the mosquitoes, perni-longos and borachudos in brazilian, there are lots of them in ilha bela, you have to use repellent from the time you get up to the time you go to sleep. DPNY provides with some good quality repellent in the rooms. It´s a cream, use it all the time. For the rest, just enjoy. We likes it so much that we just spent 10 minutes out of the hotel. In fact it´s a perfect small resort for couples.

Service becomes personal when you spend a week here. I had a flat tire and they changed it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jean_luc_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

DPNY is certainly the best hotel on the island.
It certainly gives the best party for New Year on the beach in Sao Paulo.

The best rooms are the Ocean Views Masters Suits on second floors and the separate units by the swimming pool.

The hotel is very trendy with cool music all day and night - IBIZA style.
The owners used to spend a lot of time creating events and marketing programs.

It used to be more CHIC with dance events on Thursdays but since it became famous, it became very crowed and not so posh people are able to come.
Many 'packages' and "pay in installments" for hotel rooms had attracted different type of crowd it used to have which were very trendy, often young beautiful couples.

The hostess at the restaurant and staff used to look extremely attractive .They were native islanders. Today, most of the staff are some other states and no longer from the island.

Many outstanding staff no longer work at the restaurant so the climate is busy and not so pretty / trendy or outstanding service as it once was.

Nevertheless, it is still the BEST in the island both for food and for staying.
Don't miss going there. They do not accept children under 8 years old.

Room Tip: Avoid small room with view to the road. Ask for ocean view and in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

The hotel lives up to its promise to be hip chic, but it lacks basic service standards. For example, our room wasn't ready when we arrived and they didn't have a place to store our luggage. They said we needed to carry our luggage to change and then take it back to our car while we waited for the room. The reception desk staff was rude and unprepared. For the rates they charge they need to improve their service! On the positive note, the restaurant was good with great food. They didn't have a lot of the wines on the list but the food helped overcome that.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank poliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilhabela hotels
14.5 km away
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ilhabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
6.2 km away
Barra do Piuva Porto Hotel
12.6 km away
Real Villa Bella Hotel
Real Villa Bella Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ilhabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Praia do Portinho
Hotel Praia do Portinho
#6 of 23 in Ilhabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.1 km away
TW Guaimbe Exclusive Suites
11.7 km away
Itapemar Hotel
Itapemar Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ilhabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Av. Jose Pacheco do Nascimento, 7668 | Praia do Curral, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 Spa Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ilhabela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa Ilhabela, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing