We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
96
22
11
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
22
11
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink dolphins day cruise the river ecuadorian amazon flora and fauna crew members excellent cruise clay licks motorised canoe highly recommend this trip local family daily excursions english speaking guide raul manatees passengers board
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 137 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Reuben and crew, Raul (the guide) Peppy ( for first class restaurant service and such a lovely smile) thank you all for making this such a memorable trip. We saw everything we wanted to see and then some more - nearly 100 species of bird, giant otters, pink dolphins, four types of monkey, night walks, boat trips and we even ate the bugs! The boat, restaurant and our cabin were spotlessly clean. The food was sometimes different but delicious. Once again thank you

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Holidayboy291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback, we will notify to the crew aboard about your comments of the cruise services.

That's excellent news that saw gian otters. Those animals are very difficult to see, they commonly are in their burrow. Hope that you have many photos of this experience.

Thanks to the mentioned comments, for we it is satisfying to know that everything was according to your expectations, and hope to see you again for another Amazon Rainforest Adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2016

We had a wonderful 4 day, 3 night cruise on the Manatee. Our guide, Raul, was wonderful. We took several excursions from the boat in the large canoes. this was an amazing experince. Our tip to the Clay Licks was a bit disappointing but it was foggy and the birds stayed in the trees. However our trip was rewarded by viewing Howler monkeys. A highlight was visiting a community center and seeing how the people live along the Napo River. The staff on the Manatee are a huge plus to making our trip wonderful. Do they make everyone feel this special? (I'm sure they do). One downside is the rooms are quite small. One expects this on a boat but it was pretty tight and very little room to put clothes and personal items. The food was very good. All in all we had a great trip!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maggiesmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2016

Dear Maggie
Thank you very much for your comment. The crew were informed about their words of gratitude and are very happy to hear them.

Is great to know that you had a good experience in the Manatee, the whole crew works hard to satisfy guest travel expectations,and it is good to know that it was done.

The guides really have a sixth sense for animals. When you have respect for nature, it shows its beauty with the fauna and flora that are able to perceive by the naturalist guides.

We hope to see you again for another great adventure aboard in the Manatee Amazon Explorer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Wonderful 3 days. Quiet, good daily visits, beautiful food and fantastic guides. Thank you Raoul and Diego, and the boat crew with Ruben in charge. Beautiful scenery, wild nature. Friendly boat, great motor canoe.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Dear Barbara,
Thanks for your comment, we are going to notificate the crew your feedback.
Is great to know that you enjoyed the trip and everything was perfect.

Thanks again and we hope see you again for another aventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2016

I couldn't fault this trip. Food excellent, water clean, rooms clean and tidy, staff attentive and most professional, and the day trips really fun and interesting. We were in the Amazon Basin - Puno River - who cares if we didn't see the Amazon? It's only a name.

I'd strongly recommend this 4 day tour to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear Dave,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will notify to the crew aboard about your comments of the cruise services.

Is great to know that you had a good experience in the Manatee, the activities and the food met your expectations.

Like you said, Amazon is the name of all the Amazon jungle (Venezuela to Bolivia), but share all the biodiversity. Actually Napo River is one of the most easy places to watch animals because people can see the two boders of the river. In the Amazon River, in Brasil, is very difficult to watch animals because the river is so width.

Thanks and have a amazing week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

A week after our return my husband and I are still suffering with gastroenteritis and awaiting the results of a stool sample . Twelve out of fourteen of us fell ill.
I was not expecting luxury, just the basics like fresh water . Our GP has stated that whilst away on such holidays , we should only consume water from sealed bottles. This was not readily available on the Manatee . We were told by the boat manager , during his introductory talk , the water fountain on deck should be used to refill empty bottles , this in order, to avoid having to dispose of too many plastic bottles . We trusted the information given but several of us remarked that the water in our individual bottles gave off a bad smell at time
The concept of the tour is good but the Manatee is way passed it . Water running through the cracks in the roof when it rains , soiled toilet paper kept in bin in the bathroom for up to 48 hours . The Manatee management specifically asks that we should not flush the toilet paper in to the loo to prevent blockages , but insisted that loo paper should be placed in the bin adjacent to the loo . In the light of so many cases of what appears to be gastroenteritis concerns have to expressed about the wisdom of such practices The meals were varied and used local produce but nearly always cold or not reheated to the required temperature.
We travelled with Titan , on our return we emailed them to inform them of the health issues , this remains unacknowledged at the time of writing this review 1/11/2016.
Advertising material is misleading as the wildlife is not at all as visible as illustrated. Pink dolphins are a trail in the water . Caiman is a pair of red dots in a torch beam light .

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
7  Thank foodies303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear foodies303

Please be advised that our Customer Service Department will handle your claim with the agency that book the tour with Manatee Amazon Explorer. Our responsible and professional operation has been recognized by thousands of extremely satisfied passengers who have traveled aboard of our ship. However, we always appreciate comments that are shared by our guests.

Best regards,
The Manatee Amazon Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews