We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
96
22
11
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
22
11
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink dolphinsday cruisethe riverecuadorian amazonflora and faunacrew membersexcellent cruiseclay licksmotorised canoehighly recommend this triplocal familydaily excursionsenglish speaking guideraulmanateespassengersboard
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 137 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to book on the newly upgraded Manatee
What a fantastic time we had
Excellent from the time we left from Quito till our return to Coca.
The crew , the guides , the meals the vessel , all top rate .
The only regret was we only did the three night cruise -we should have done the four night!
We have no hesitation on recommending this first rate trip to anyone
Bruce &Carol Gribble
New Zealand

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bruceg423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Reuben and crew, Raul (the guide) Peppy ( for first class restaurant service and such a lovely smile) thank you all for making this such a memorable trip. We saw everything we wanted to see and then some more - nearly 100 species of bird, giant otters, pink dolphins, four types of monkey, night walks, boat trips and we even ate the bugs! The boat, restaurant and our cabin were spotlessly clean. The food was sometimes different but delicious. Once again thank you

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Holidayboy291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback, we will notify to the crew aboard about your comments of the cruise services.

That's excellent news that saw gian otters. Those animals are very difficult to see, they commonly are in their burrow. Hope that you have many photos of this experience.

Thanks to the mentioned comments, for we it is satisfying to know that everything was according to your expectations, and hope to see you again for another Amazon Rainforest Adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2016

We had a wonderful 4 day, 3 night cruise on the Manatee. Our guide, Raul, was wonderful. We took several excursions from the boat in the large canoes. this was an amazing experince. Our tip to the Clay Licks was a bit disappointing but it was foggy and the birds stayed in the trees. However our trip was rewarded by viewing Howler monkeys. A highlight was visiting a community center and seeing how the people live along the Napo River. The staff on the Manatee are a huge plus to making our trip wonderful. Do they make everyone feel this special? (I'm sure they do). One downside is the rooms are quite small. One expects this on a boat but it was pretty tight and very little room to put clothes and personal items. The food was very good. All in all we had a great trip!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maggiesmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2016

Dear Maggie
Thank you very much for your comment. The crew were informed about their words of gratitude and are very happy to hear them.

Is great to know that you had a good experience in the Manatee, the whole crew works hard to satisfy guest travel expectations,and it is good to know that it was done.

The guides really have a sixth sense for animals. When you have respect for nature, it shows its beauty with the fauna and flora that are able to perceive by the naturalist guides.

We hope to see you again for another great adventure aboard in the Manatee Amazon Explorer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Wonderful 3 days. Quiet, good daily visits, beautiful food and fantastic guides. Thank you Raoul and Diego, and the boat crew with Ruben in charge. Beautiful scenery, wild nature. Friendly boat, great motor canoe.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Dear Barbara,
Thanks for your comment, we are going to notificate the crew your feedback.
Is great to know that you enjoyed the trip and everything was perfect.

Thanks again and we hope see you again for another aventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2016

I couldn't fault this trip. Food excellent, water clean, rooms clean and tidy, staff attentive and most professional, and the day trips really fun and interesting. We were in the Amazon Basin - Puno River - who cares if we didn't see the Amazon? It's only a name.

I'd strongly recommend this 4 day tour to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Manatee Amazon Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear Dave,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will notify to the crew aboard about your comments of the cruise services.

Is great to know that you had a good experience in the Manatee, the activities and the food met your expectations.

Like you said, Amazon is the name of all the Amazon jungle (Venezuela to Bolivia), but share all the biodiversity. Actually Napo River is one of the most easy places to watch animals because people can see the two boders of the river. In the Amazon River, in Brasil, is very difficult to watch animals because the river is so width.

Thanks and have a amazing week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews