We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Our family was beyond happy with our stay here. The voyage to get to lodge was great. The staff was exceptional from our guide Luis and the native guide who were very knowledgeable and how they can spot the wildlife was crazy. Our hikes and canoe rides were great fun. Our trip to the Quechua village was one of our highlights of the trip. Being able to lay on the deck to look at all the stars as bats fly above us is something we may never experience again. Food was delicious, restaurant staff so attentive. The spa was glorious from the massage to the hot tub with the sounds of the rainforest....

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Tula73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Perfect, thank you so much, it makes us so happy to hear from the great experience our guests have.

We try to make the stay at La Selva unforgettable for everyone, therefore we offer a lot of activities. These bring you closer to the nature and its inhabitants. But some relaxing free time should not come to short, thats why we offer a great spa.

Thank you again,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

I enjoyed the canoe rides throughout the lagoon with the naturalist guides. The lodgings were comfortable with natural air of fans and plenty of screened porches. What I a nice way to wake up to the natural sounds of birds rather than the alarm on my smartphone. The food was delicious and catered to all types of diets. The massage I got at the spa was great with the sounds of real birds or rain in the background and not from a CD. Hikes through the forest were a fun adventure but if you attract bugs like I do, wear proper clothing or use bug spray; it is worth hiking through the forest with the guides to see all kinds of monkeys, frogs, tropical plants, colorful birds, and maybe a sloth. Everyone who works at the lodge was friendly and helpful!

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Mary Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for your stay,

We are glad you enjoyed the activities. We are located in the middle of the jungle and everything you hear is real nature, it easily creates a feel-good atmosphere.

We will let our staff know, they always love to hear guest comments when they offer a great stay.

Thank you very much,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 4N/5D at the lodge and we can’t speak more highly of our experience.
We were slightly apprehensive having done a similar Amazonian adventure in Peru one month earlier which was at a similar price point but left a little to be desired.
The website and pictures do not do this place justice. It is genuine 5* luxury 3 hours from Coca in the middle of nowhere.
Accommodation is beautifully appointed and meals are restaurant quality albeit slightly on the small side.
What makes this place is the daily activities that your naturalist guide and native guide accompany you on. Coupled with plenty of down time for your own exploring or simply R&R, it’s a great balance.
We can’t speak more highly of the staff and their genuine desire for you to enjoy the experience.
By day 1 we had seen copious birds, monkeys and all sorts of creepy crawlies to keep us on the hook.
This is a once in a lifetime experience and well worth the price tag.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank IJonesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Wow, we are so glad that we were able to make your stay so memorable.

Yes, luxury is really important to us but at the same time we try to let you experience the real jungle as close as we can. That works with a perfectly balanced program between excursions, great food and our new spa options.

Thank you so much, we appreciate your feedback!
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We spent 4 nights at La Selva and enjoyed every single moment of our stay. Our naturalist guide Rodrigo and local guide Sergio were awesome, they both grew up in the Amazon and read the jungle like it was a book, I can't put into words how special it was going out into the jungle and onto the lake with them to see all of the amazing creatures. We were gently woken every morning at 5.30am before having a wonderful breakfast and heading out 6.30am, it was well worth getting up early to make the most of our time. In the afternoons we used our 'down' time to kayak around the lake where we spotted an anaconda basking in the sun, loads of birds, turtles and about 50 monkeys. Gabby and all of the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, the food is the best. Our room, which overlooked the lake was great, clean and comfortable. If you visit try and bring a few items for the children in the local village, we took pens, felt-tips and pencils and they were over the moon to receive them (the website has a list of items that are useful). My happy memories of La Selva will stay with me forever, what a wonderful experience :-).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you so much for the review.

Yes our guides are great! They both have unbelievable knowledge about the jungle and are able to spot anything. Our lake offers the perfect opportunity to explore a little by yourself.

Thank you for bringing items to the village, we deeply appreciate it.

All the best,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I just returned from 2 weeks in Ecuador, and 6 days of that were spent at La Selva. I was a little worried originally that it might be too much time when we added the extra day, but it was definitely worth it. Every day was a new adventure, never running out of new activities and animals to see -- I feel that even only doing the 3 night package would be too little time, as there is SO much to see and do here, yet you will still have plenty of down-time to enjoy some of the relaxing activities.

Our guide Paul was incredible, and truly made it the experience of a lifetime. The rooms were great, still first world accommodations while keeping it a little rustic. They are completely screened in, so you are still open to all of the pleasant sounds of the jungle (And some other fun noises it has to offer)

I would absolutely recommend going here, and if you're thinking about going the extra few days, don't even question...you need to do it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristopherT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you very much!

There is something new to see every day, the jungle just never stops to impress. We are glad you liked the rooms, we try to adjust them perfectly for our guests.

Thank you again and all the best,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Great staff, fab food and bev, amazing guides. Fun and educational in a wonderful environment. Our only complaint was a squeaky bed. Our guides took us on great walks and boat trips and pointed out all sorts of amazing animals, insects, flora and fauna we would never have found on our own, We felt privileged to be in such a beautiful environment and appreciated the care and attention provided by all staff to ensure we were always well looked after.

Room Tip: Loved having room right off the reception with a view out across the water. Only issue was the squea...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BGD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for the review.

We are glad you liked the stay! Sorry for the squeaky bed, we will take care of it right away.

Our guides are great at spotting wildlife and explaining about their behaviours and such. We will tell the guides and the staff that you enjoyed their presence.

All the best,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

If you want to find the comfort needed while you're enjoy the Amazon with family or friends this is the perfect place to go.
All services, housekeeping, food, spa and the native and bilingual guides are excellent and very friendly. I highly recommend to visit La Selva. I really had a great time there. Thanks!



Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Johis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! Your comments are highly appreciated by our personnel and keep the drive high of wanting to serve our guests with exceptional service!

Thanks again,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
238 km away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
87 reviews
0 km away
Hosteria Amazonas
Hosteria Amazonas
#2 of 5 in Coca
7 reviews
12.4 km away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#6 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
56 reviews
30 km away
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
#6 of 12 in Coca
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Address: Sucumbios | Yasuní Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park 170143, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range: $925 - $973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Selva Amazon Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge offers wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you. At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guides and a bilingual Naturalist Guides divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well by seeing, and hearing things guests cannot. They are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon. Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the Amazon. The Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing