We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
441
73
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
73
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews native guide family suite dry box jungle experience observation tower the river motorized canoe local village the entire staff quito airport howler monkeys late afternoon the main lodge ceiling fan coca airport every meal rubber boots
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 533 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2017

I enjoyed the canoe rides throughout the lagoon with the naturalist guides. The lodgings were comfortable with natural air of fans and plenty of screened porches. What I a nice way to wake up to the natural sounds of birds rather than the alarm on my smartphone. The food was delicious and catered to all types of diets. The massage I got at the spa was great with the sounds of real birds or rain in the background and not from a CD. Hikes through the forest were a fun adventure but if you attract bugs like I do, wear proper clothing or use bug spray; it is worth hiking through the forest with the guides to see all kinds of monkeys, frogs, tropical plants, colorful birds, and maybe a sloth. Everyone who works at the lodge was friendly and helpful!

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Mary Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Thank you for your stay,

We are glad you enjoyed the activities. We are located in the middle of the jungle and everything you hear is real nature, it easily creates a feel-good atmosphere.

We will let our staff know, they always love to hear guest comments when they offer a great stay.

Thank you very much,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 4N/5D at the lodge and we can’t speak more highly of our experience.
We were slightly apprehensive having done a similar Amazonian adventure in Peru one month earlier which was at a similar price point but left a little to be desired.
The website and pictures do not do this place justice. It is genuine 5* luxury 3 hours from Coca in the middle of nowhere.
Accommodation is beautifully appointed and meals are restaurant quality albeit slightly on the small side.
What makes this place is the daily activities that your naturalist guide and native guide accompany you on. Coupled with plenty of down time for your own exploring or simply R&R, it’s a great balance.
We can’t speak more highly of the staff and their genuine desire for you to enjoy the experience.
By day 1 we had seen copious birds, monkeys and all sorts of creepy crawlies to keep us on the hook.
This is a once in a lifetime experience and well worth the price tag.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank IJonesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Wow, we are so glad that we were able to make your stay so memorable.

Yes, luxury is really important to us but at the same time we try to let you experience the real jungle as close as we can. That works with a perfectly balanced program between excursions, great food and our new spa options.

Thank you so much, we appreciate your feedback!
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017

We spent 4 nights at La Selva and enjoyed every single moment of our stay. Our naturalist guide Rodrigo and local guide Sergio were awesome, they both grew up in the Amazon and read the jungle like it was a book, I can't put into words how special it was going out into the jungle and onto the lake with them to see all of the amazing creatures. We were gently woken every morning at 5.30am before having a wonderful breakfast and heading out 6.30am, it was well worth getting up early to make the most of our time. In the afternoons we used our 'down' time to kayak around the lake where we spotted an anaconda basking in the sun, loads of birds, turtles and about 50 monkeys. Gabby and all of the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, the food is the best. Our room, which overlooked the lake was great, clean and comfortable. If you visit try and bring a few items for the children in the local village, we took pens, felt-tips and pencils and they were over the moon to receive them (the website has a list of items that are useful). My happy memories of La Selva will stay with me forever, what a wonderful experience :-).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Thank you so much for the review.

Yes our guides are great! They both have unbelievable knowledge about the jungle and are able to spot anything. Our lake offers the perfect opportunity to explore a little by yourself.

Thank you for bringing items to the village, we deeply appreciate it.

All the best,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017

I just returned from 2 weeks in Ecuador, and 6 days of that were spent at La Selva. I was a little worried originally that it might be too much time when we added the extra day, but it was definitely worth it. Every day was a new adventure, never running out of new activities and animals to see -- I feel that even only doing the 3 night package would be too little time, as there is SO much to see and do here, yet you will still have plenty of down-time to enjoy some of the relaxing activities.

Our guide Paul was incredible, and truly made it the experience of a lifetime. The rooms were great, still first world accommodations while keeping it a little rustic. They are completely screened in, so you are still open to all of the pleasant sounds of the jungle (And some other fun noises it has to offer)

I would absolutely recommend going here, and if you're thinking about going the extra few days, don't even question...you need to do it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristopherT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Thank you very much!

There is something new to see every day, the jungle just never stops to impress. We are glad you liked the rooms, we try to adjust them perfectly for our guests.

Thank you again and all the best,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Great staff, fab food and bev, amazing guides. Fun and educational in a wonderful environment. Our only complaint was a squeaky bed. Our guides took us on great walks and boat trips and pointed out all sorts of amazing animals, insects, flora and fauna we would never have found on our own, We felt privileged to be in such a beautiful environment and appreciated the care and attention provided by all staff to ensure we were always well looked after.

Room Tip: Loved having room right off the reception with a view out across the water. Only issue was the squeaky bed, but the views made up for it. The open bathroom is a treat and the quality bathroom products provided were appreciated.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BGD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Thank you for the review.

We are glad you liked the stay! Sorry for the squeaky bed, we will take care of it right away.

Our guides are great at spotting wildlife and explaining about their behaviours and such. We will tell the guides and the staff that you enjoyed their presence.

All the best,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews