We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Had one night at the Amber Lodge it was centrally located to the shops and restaurants and we appreciated being able to walk to dinner. Check in and out quick and smooth. Our room was private, spacious and had everything we required, however my husband found the television a little small. A great breakfast, especially the fresh fruit, an amazing variety.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NswAustraliaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

We recently stayed here for our daughter's wedding weekend and could not fault this B&B. We booked out the 3 rooms for our family and every room was very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The beds were so comfortable and the ensuites were immaculately clean. Each room also had tea & coffee making facilities, a toaster and microwave, a handy extra in a B&B. We could all share breakfast (which was provided in the price) in a delightful dining room that opened onto a deck. The breakfast was so delicious and well presented and no one would every go hungry, there was so much on offer. Another nice touch, was complimentary Port and sweets in the rooms.The hosts, Ken and Margaret, could not be more friendly and obliging. The location was another bonus, only 100 metres to the main street where you could stroll past restaurants, cafes and galleries, but situated in a quiet side street so noise was not a problem. Overall we could not fault this place, we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There were 3 rooms available, all had queen size beds. One room had a bay window and another had a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carveit_gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights for a weekend getaway. This B & B is located just a few minutes walk from Gallery walk, which is essentially the hub of Mount Tamborine, having lost of interesting shops, restaurants and cafes nearby is great. The breakfast served was delicious and generous home cooked Bacon and Eggs, as well as fried potato, which was nicely presented in a timely manner. My husband is not keen on B&B's, he always feels uncomfortable like he is in some strangers house. Even though the hosts were very scarce, and respectful of peoples privacy, you do get that feeling, as the rooms are part of the main house at this B & B. So if its not your thing you might want to stay elsewhere. The bed was comfortable, we had nice robes provided even though we did not use them, and there was also port and chocolates provided as well (nice touch). The only other negative I would have is that the ensuite in our room was quite small with little to no bench space.It was difficult putting makeup on and doing my hair with out bench space in the bathroom. Our room was at the front left of the home as you look at it from the street. It was very quiet at night and we were not disturbed at all. The parking area is tight at the front of the property if you have a larger car, but at least you are off the street.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsUSAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Amber Lodge recently for our Anniversary. Although we live on the Gold Coast we just wanted to get away from the rat race for the weekend. We didn't have a booking and thought we would "wing-it" and chance a nice place to stay. Well, I can say it was hard and maybe we should have pre-booked, but then we found Amber Lodge. Ken and Margaret were really welcoming. We arrived late in the evening so we weren't expecting such a greeting but they made us feel really comfortable and accommodating.

Our room was really cosy. Great CD players with Ipod function, so we were able to listen to our own music! The room was very clean and although it was cold outisde it was nice and warm inside as there are 2 fires. :-))

All I can say about the breakfast was, HUGE, delicious a nd freshly made for the time that we requested. My husband can eat a lot and he couldn't eat it all. We were asked when we arrived what we would like but at least we didn't have to think about it in the morning. Or, if you are like me, hoping all night in bed that the maids come round to each room to take your breakfast menu like you get at other hotels!!!!

I loved the earlier comment that there was port in the room. A nice little night cap and again that homely feel. You don't even get that in 5 star places, so thanks guys.
Amber Lodge is in a great location as well so you don't even need to drive far to anything.

I must say I was surprised to see the comments from the other chap. We travel alot and realise all hotels and motels are a 2pm or later check-in. Why would you just expect that you can check in earlier unless you have arranged it prior.

Our anniversary weekend was really relaxing. We'd stay again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec_K_10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Looking at the previous reviews I feel as though we missed out on something that the other writers seemed to receive

To the owners credit Amber Lodge allowed for 1 night stays which was not readily available at other establishments.

Amber Lodge is rated 4 roses- not quite sure what this means?

We liked the beds which were comfortable with plenty of pillows- linen was well appointed with nice faux fur throws etc, ensuite was clean with usual standard appointments except tissues. Yes there was a flat screen television and and ample DVD library, although the reception of the television was very poor making viewing rather unpleasant. The bedside radio was not working as was one of the bedside tablelamps.

On our arrival which was around 11.00am we parked in the front yard and found that no one was at home even though they had a vacancy sign out the front and were expecting us. Although we understood our rooms would not be available until usual check-in, we foud it rather unusual that no one was at home. As we had travelled a distance we were looking forward to the warm welcome the others had spoke of. When we returned around 3.00pm we were greeted with general introductions and a strong smell of pea-n-ham soup ( bread baking may have been more appealing) and quickly shuffled into the kitchen/office where final payment was requested. A request for how we like our eggs to be cooked the following morning was taken at this time. We found this rather disconcerting but obliged- No mention of their signature blueberry pancakes for us! When we asked for some fresh milk to make a cuppa in our room, we were promtly told that longlife milk was provided in our room- one small jug was provided for the two rooms! Breakfast was substantial but there was no offer of a second slice of toast or as to how we would like our toast- either on the side or with your meal. We felt that our host was a little over the B & B business and this did come across quite strongly, with no friendly talk at breakfast or questions of our plans for the day etc.

As we bid farewell the light in our room was turned off behind us and the front door promptly shut.

As the other reviews have stated Amber Lodge was comfortable, with the basic standards being met., although Amber Lodge did lack a genuine warm welcome and a love of their B & B business.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jengar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Extremely clean and comfortable rooms with all the amenities. Hosts were very welcoming and attentive but not intrusive.
Cooked breakfast was delightful and freshly prepared.
Amber Lodge is so conveniently located- just a short walk to all the restraurants, shops and galleries of well known Gallery Walk.
So relaxed after my stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shell68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We chose Amber Lodge for our 25th wedding anniversary. Service was attentive but not obtrusive. Ken and Margaret are entertaining hosts and can offer good advice of places to visit and places with good food at reasonable prices.
This is a true B&B (i.e. bed as well as breakfast included in cost). Breakfasts were fresh fruit (optional yoghurt) + delicious crepes or bacon and eggs + toast and condiments + fruit juice + tea and/or brewed coffee. We found these breakfasts to be just right - not too heavy, and quite delicious. The guest lounge is comfortable and the dining area is light and yet cosy.
Rooms are well appointed with fans and a/c; en-suite; flat screen TV and video player; microwave, electric kettle and toaster; bar fridge; bath robes; hair dryer; bedside lamps; sofa (2-seats); small table and chairs; and plenty of pillows. Even with all of this, the room was not cramped and we has plenty of room to move around. There is quite an extensive DVD and CD library.
Amber Lodge is right around the corner from Gallery Walk and is also close to the Botanical Gardens and not far from some very nice restaurants. The cheese factory is just down the road. There are no views across to the Gold Coast, but we didn't really miss them.
Several sections of national park are within a few minutes drive of Amber Lodge. Many attractions are only a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Heights
1.2 km away
Tamborine Mountain Bed & Breakfast
2.6 km away
Villa della Rosa
Villa della Rosa
#4 of 9 in North Tamborine
99 reviews
3.7 km away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tamborine Luxury Chalets
Tamborine Luxury Chalets
#3 of 4 in Eagle Heights
12 reviews
2.8 km away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
281 reviews
2.9 km away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Wongawallan road, Eagle Heights, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4271, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > Eagle Heights
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Eagle Heights
Price Range: $166 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and tranquility await you at Amber Lodge Bed and Breakfast in the Gold Coast Hinterland. Look forward to bush walks in the rain forests; we are a short stroll to the famous Gallery Walk where you will find cafes, art galleries, arts and craft shops and so much more. Wineries, breath-taking views.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amber Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing