We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stopping place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Muret, France
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very nice stopping place”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Hahei is a charming village and a nice stopping place when you visit the North Island. This B&B is a beautiful house which proposes lovely rooms, clean, quiet and very well decorated. Kay prepares a nice breakfast in the morning (on her terrace if the wheather allows it) and gives you very useful advices to visit the surroundings (right time for a pleasant walk to Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach, Cook Bay, etc).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amap30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Hi amap30, we hope that all our guests have a memorable stay such as yours. We will certainly do our best to give good and friendly advice -Cheers K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Warm welcome, wonderfull view and confort of the room, excellent breakfast on the terrace or in the beautifull living, everything to keep an excellent memory of our stay.

Room Tip: The one close to the living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gilles_Laurence_Fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We arrived to be met by 'house-sitters' Theresa and Wayne in the temporary absence of the owners. They were very welcoming, friendly, and helpfui. It was after the peak summer season and Hahei seemed rather sleepy, but there was more than enough to keep us busy for the two days we were there. Wayne helped in particular when we returned after jellyfish stings, and Theresa was very helpful with the laundry which had accumulated over several days of travelling. The views from Hahei Horizon upper floors are stunning, but we were in the 'Bach' self-contained unit (room only basis) on the ground floor, whose sea views are blocked by a roof. It would have been nice to know this in advance, but it's only a small niggle. The compensation is that the Bach room has the use of a patio area for fresh-air breakfasts.
One very important note - relevant to any stay in the Hahei area. There is only one access road from S.H.25, and it is liable to frequent flooding. Not a good idea to visit during wet weather if you're on a tight timetable, therefore. We waited an hour and a half for water to subside - on top of another hour at Hikuai on S.H.25.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-geologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This place was our first stop in NZ, and it was just more than what we needed. Spacious apartment with spacious terasse. Close to shops, restaurants, as well as cathedrole cove :-)
Slightly more expensive than other places with same standard, but understandable as it was real peak season.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schroem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed at the Hahei Horizon for one night in the Pa room. The room was spacious with a big comfy bed. The best thing though is the view! The room overlooks the bay and it really is a stunning view to wake up to.
Peter and Kay were friendly and helpful. It's so nice to stay with people who know the area so well and can recommend places to go, things to do and places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG-Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

A visit to Hahei and the stunning Cathedral Cove area was one of the highlights of our previous trip to New Zealand 10 years ago. In fact this time it was the only site on the north island that we visited. It is as beautiful as ever. Don't miss it.
This visit we chose to stay at t he Hahei Horizon Bed and Breakfast and were supremely happy with our choice. Kay and Peter are friendly hosts who have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable. We stayed with them for three days and were so happy to get to know them. They were very helpful in advising us about a great variety of things to do in the area. The view from our room and the location in Hahei could not be better. The room and private bath were very comfortable and included a private deck for a glass of wine while enjoying the panoramic view. The location is very quiet. We loved waking to the beautiful songs of the birds near the house. We would gladly return again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We had a great time. We relaxed and enjoyed ourselves! Peter and Kaye are so friendly, nothing is too much bother. The views are magnificent. HaHei is a little piece of paradise, Kiwi style. Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove, HaHei Beach, The Coromandel...spoiled for choice...give yourself enough time to experience it all. We'll be returning............ it's a brilliant contrast to our busy Sydney life.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascotslassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.5 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
495 reviews
22.0 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.8 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
428 reviews
0.5 km away
The Church Accommodation
9.4 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Address: 20 Grierson Close, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hahei Horizon Bed and Breakfast! Our home is nestled amongst native trees on the hill, overlooking the beautiful beach at Hahei. We invite you to come and spend a night or two with us and share what this wonderful place has to offer. All of our three rooms enjoy their own private decks, the stunning views of the village, the ocean and islands beyond. Guests enjoy breakfast on the deck in the mornings and after a busy day of adventure you can now relax and enjoy the views in our open air spa. Hahei is on the Coromandel Peninsula on the east coast of North Island, New Zealand. It’s a stunning piece of coastline that provides a mecca for New Zealand holiday makers and overseas visitors alike. The outlook is superb and there are countless things to do and see whether you are budding adventurers or just want to relax and unwind. Hahei is the gateway to world renowned Cathedral Cove. 5 minutes drive sees you at Hot Water Beach and close by the many other beautiful Mercury Bay attractions. The rest of the Peninsula lays in wait not much further a field. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing