We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shandster007
Ruakaka

Good location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 10, 2024
The main reason for choosing this motel was it's location as it was close to where my husband needed to go for some dental work. We stayed in room 23 which was surprisingly quiet for being at the front of the hotel by a busy road. While the room could do with a freshen up it was clean and roomy for the 2 of us. There was a queen bed and a single bed. The TV was on a wall that meant if you were on the bed you'd need to turn your head. I was comfortable sitting on one of the chairs with my feet on the bed. The bathroom was small and you had to step up into the shower. Water pressure was good. We could hear the planes taking off and landing at the airport which didn't bother us as much as it could have. We would choose to stay here again if the need arises
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Trip.com
    C$101
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Proximity Apartments Manukau
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$101
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    C$127
  • Priceline
1.8 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    C$121
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    C$88
  • Priceline
1.8 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Manukau Heights Motor Lodge
    1.8 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      3.9 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
      • eDreams
      15.5 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Premium Studio
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        C$88
      • Booking.com
      0.4 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      Here's the outside and inside of this motel
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        C$82
      • Hotels.com
      1.7 km from ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Manukau
      Reviews (211)
      Filter reviews
      211 results
      Traveller rating
      129
      35
      21
      6
      20
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      129
      35
      21
      6
      20
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews motor lodge will definately be back manukau city home away from home great south road friendly hosts michael motel accommodation supermarket
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      6 - 11 of 211 reviews
      Reviewed December 27, 2023

      The hotel is clean, spacious and bright. Easy parking, easy access. The front desk of the hotel is warm, attentive, efficient and quick to check in. The room is very clean, the bathroom dry and wet separation, the overall is very comfortable. Room sound insulation is very good, very quiet, does not affect sleep. Prices are affordable. Live very satisfied!

      Date of stay: September 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Zijun J
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michael Dawson, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2023

      Thank you for your review. Come back again! :)

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 25, 2023

      Terrible service. Incredibly rude staff. Very disorganized. We felt as welcome as a fart in a space suit. Won't go there again and won't recommend it. Staff need to learn people skills. Also they take $250 amount off you plus all payments before they let you in. Unheard of practice.

      Room tip: Dont go here!
      Date of stay: December 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      2  Thank Georgi67898
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michael Dawson, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2023

      Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our motel.

      We’re very sorry you had problems during your stay. Perhaps you haven’t heard of “payment in advance.” It was recommended more than 10 years by the then Motel Association as a way for members to deal with guests who leave without paying their bills. At the time there was a lot of problem around the country with runners. I think since members adopted the prepayment method the problem has stopped.

      We’re sorry that you disagree with such a method but I think you’ll find that it’s fairly universal around the country for obvious reasons.

      Mostly we only charge a $250 refundable bond/damage deposit for Debit card holders. You tried to bluff that you had a Credit card when you actually had a Debit card. You must have known that you had a Debit card. We could tell by the card number that it was a Debit card. So why try bluffing? Others gave up your bluff line a long time ago.

      I think too that you’ll find that charging a bond for Debit cards is also fairly standard around the country at least in main centres. It is also accepted by other guests from around the country.

      Kind Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed August 25, 2023

      This is a motel I would recommend to any1.it 3rd I have stayed here nw as close for wht I in auckland for.staff very friendly an welcoming.very clean an tidy.will definitely continue to go bk here whn up north.

      Room tip: Not flash but gd for money u pay with clean tidy units with very welcoming, friendly staff.would recommend it to any1.definitly be bk.
      Date of stay: August 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Roving03986021604
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 28, 2023

      Very very poor communication. I rang them twice about payment issues and it was sorted over the phone that I would pay at property. I get an email saying it’s canceled just under a week before we were suppose to travel. I rang and he stated that I didn’t make payment which was sorted to pay at property from previous phone calls. Another issue was that it was a debit card not a credit card. (Booked 03/05/22) If this was an issue why was I not contacted and let know months ago when I booked it or when I rang him the first time.

      Date of stay: February 2023
      1  Thank Hotax1
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michael Dawson, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2023

      I see one big problem. You guaranteed your booking with a debit card in spite the booking agency expressly asking for a credit card. That makes your booking very insecure and it can be cancelled up to 2 hours before check in time. It doesn't matter how early you booked. If you had booked with a credit card your booking is 100% guaranteed. In fact if we can't provide a room for a credit card booking we have to find you alternative accommodtion.

      In normal times using a debit card may not matter. However you booked for a date to see a pop concert. We were full up on that date which means your insecure booking may get cancelled. If you want to book on a date for a pop concert, rugby match or the like use a credit card. If you don't have one ask a friend to help out.

      Kind regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed January 31, 2023 via mobile

      Excellent location and clean and large accommodation as compared with other motels we stayed at . Received upgrade to 2 bedrooms Excellent managers of the motel . The location was close to the services in the town including shops supermarket cafes and restaurants

      Room tip: Time of heavy rains as road access maybe limited
      Date of stay: December 2022
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Peter D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews