We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anj
Auckland, New Zealand

Great Position, Poor Room Quality

Review of Rayland Motel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 14, 2019
The motel is very close to Manukau Centre and lots of eateries etc. It waa also a cheapish price $120 for the night but room condition was old and tired. Lots of minor things being fixed would help, maintenance touch ups here and there, door handles fixed, tv not working fully. Worse for me, it had to be the most uncomfortable bed ever, hard with a big dip in middle. It was clean though. Service on arrival not great. Had to go back and ask where room was. No info provided at all. Didnt seem friendly. Its a big place with lots of stairs if on top level. Lady next morning was really nice. Wouldnt stay again. Need a little comfort.
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$141
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • The Sebel
    C$141
0.0 km from Rayland Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Swimming Pool
C$118
C$93
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Rayland Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$157
C$127
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$127
0.2 km from Rayland Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
C$117
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$117
  • Agoda.com
    C$113
  • Hotels.com
    C$117
4.5 km from Rayland Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Proximity Apartments Manukau
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$110
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Rayland Motel
Free Wifi
Camelot Bathroom
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    C$119
  • Expedia.com
    C$124
1.7 km from Rayland Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Manukau Heights Motor Lodge
    0.4 km from Rayland Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    8.3 km from Rayland Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    15.9 km from Rayland Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      2.2 km from Rayland Motel
      View more hotels in Manukau
      Reviews (109)
      Filter reviews
      109 results
      Traveller rating
      7
      16
      21
      23
      42
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      7
      16
      21
      23
      42
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      7 - 12 of 109 reviews
      Reviewed November 19, 2019

      As with previous reviews, I found the very helpful staff saved this place. No disabled access to rooms and steps were a worry with metal support at foot level coming apart. Wi-fi was absolutely non-existent in my room and a struggle to access even in the reception area. The rooms themselves are actually very good. So if you have full mobility and your own means of accessing Wi-Fi you will probably like this place. Excellent location for Manukau Bus Station for Inter-City Travel.

      Date of stay: November 2019
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank Dannyxb
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed September 18, 2019 via mobile

      reading reviews on trip advisor after booking our stay we arrived at the Rayland a little worried about how it was going to be for our stay.
      We needn't have worried, the room we booked was perfect for our rather large family (2 adults & 4 kids)
      Had 3 TV's (all with sky) & 3 heat pumps in the room so no problem keeping the kids entertained at night.
      Room was nice & clean & having 2 bathrooms was a godsend for us.
      Yes the motel is between 2 motorways & is a little noisey outside but with the windows closed we had no trouble getting to sleep at night (we live in the country)
      Yes the motel is in a less than desirable area right next to a Valentine's restaurant but there was heaps of parking for all on site & as the saying goes, dont leave valuables in your car.
      Beds are comfortable & sheets were nice & fresh smelling.
      Check in was easy & fast & the staff are VERY polite & welcoming.
      We look forward to staying at the Rayland again when we are in Auckland.

      Date of stay: September 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank 799haydenb
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed May 22, 2019

      I landed in Auckland late at nigth and needed a place close to airport to stay.

      The Hotel is clean.

      The TV only has 2 channels so a waste of tiime.

      It has internet.

      Staff polite.

      Room rent cheap.

      would I stay again, I suppose so.

      Room tip: ask for lower floor rom
      Date of stay: May 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Hamish967
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

      this place is a stop for truckies. It is in a bad part of town and most certainly NOT a 4 star motel. The staff are absolutely lovely and thank goodness they gave a refund for the nights we didn’t stay there, because after one night we had to leave.
      My mum cut her toe on an exposed nail in the staircase and had to get a tetanus shot, we then found more exposed nails on the staircase and with a two year old going up and down, I was not impressed.
      The area is atrocious and the noise (which isn’t their fault but very annoying) is non-stop.
      Avoid this place at all costs.

      Date of stay: April 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Kerry S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed April 9, 2019

      4 night stay, was ok. Nice that linean was changed everyday and bed made not changed. It was convienient to the airport, train station and bus station. Shopping Centre just in walking distance. It was comfortable, clean, but just abit outdated.

      Date of stay: March 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Tracey M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews