We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
116
162
112
57
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
162
112
57
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkski hirepacked lunchawesome viewsdouble bedenjoyed my staytwo nightsmt ruapehufantastic locationwingsspabackpackerscabinaccommodationhikeskiingsnow
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 491 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2015

We stayed in the Backpackers room for one visit and i thought it was great value and really tidy with access to kitchen and lounge. I didnt really mind the graffitti it added to the character- and it was very cheap to sleep 4 (most room sleep 3)

The second time we stayed in the far more expensive Queen room with bunks at the other end of the hotel. The only issue i have is the Squeaky Bunks! every time my daughter moved around there was loud squeaking!

Room Tip: room 317 backpackers sleeps 4
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfscream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2015

Stayed here at the beginning of the season so the room needed a little airing because it probably hasn't been used for a while. Room had a double and a bunk and yes the hotel decor is a little tired but it is a hotel by the mountains for adventurous types and you don't expect it to be like the Ritz. Rooms are warm, beds comfy and they have the amenities you need (fridge, kettle, hairdryer, shampoo etc) and one of the best places to watch sunset is in the bar with a mulled wine when it's cold outside. Chateau Tongariro is also v close if you want to try a different dining/drinking experience too.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel have better views
Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Fi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2015

It is fair enough to have to pay a premium price for staying close to the Whakapapa ski field at Mount Ruapehu and enjoy the wonderful scenery. But sadly the management have not done much to keep the hotel well maintained. The carpet in our room was badly stained and had ripped areas. The same with the duvet. But overall it was clean enough. The meal that we had in the restaurant was not too bad and the staff were friendly enough but not well trained.

Room Tip: Best to get a chalet if you want a quiet night's rest
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatnink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2015

I am sure the rooms in the main building are fine as haven't read anything to the contrary but the Chalets are disgusting. They are described as older style on the website which is absolutely fine, I don't care about decor but I do care about health and safety. As soon as we walked in we were hit by a 'urine' smell. The carpet is threadbare, the paint peeling everywhere, hole in the bathroom floor, broken glass taped up on toilet door, worst bed I have ever slept on, one small oil filled heater and a wall panel heater did not keep the room warm in the sub zero temperatures, we wore thermals to bed. Only one side of electric blanket on double bed worked. 3 hot water bottles for the bunks but only two with plugs. The bunksets are unsafe with no railing or safety-bar. We ate dinner in the restaurant, kids buffet was awful, our meals were average and definately not worth what we paid - so disappointing as had read great reviews. Eat at the Tussock Tavern opp. the Chateau - it was fantastic. I would also pay an extra $30 per night at stay at the Chateau Motel Units - far far superior. We weren't asked at check out anything about our stay, I would have told them but just couldn't be bothered by that stage. After the first night we were prepared to stay somewhere else and forgo our 2nd night charge but unfortunately everywhere else booked out.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VikkiEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the superior room with bunkset for four nights while we went to the nearby snowfield. The room was basic but excellent value for money. The waitresses in the restaurant were the best part of Skotel - they were fun, friendly and great at their job. The meals were generous in size and reasonably priced. Downstairs is a ski hire shop and I would recommend you hire from them rather than at the mountain - they were very helpful! We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Bindii76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews