We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$104
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
110
158
112
54
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
158
112
54
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbackpacker roomski hirenational parkpacked lunchsliding doorawesome viewsbunk bedsenjoyed my staytwo nightstaranaki fallsfamily roomwingsspabackpackerscabinaccommodationsnow
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 478 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I was traveling with a friend and stayed in one of the backpackers twin rooms which is away from the "main" hotels rooms. The room was cozy with 1 bunk bed and 1 single bed. Sink and heating in the room.
We stayed for 2 nights as we wanted to do the Tongariro Crossing. Unfortunately the weather wasn´t good so we stayed in for a whole day and caught up on doing laundry at the resort (we were on a 1-month trip). The backpackers area has a common kitchen and a large common room with TV and VCR.
The hotel /hostel is in a beautiful setting in the NP. Hikes/Walks start right outside the door step. The volcanoes offer such amazing scenery!
Would definitely recommend! Great value for the backpacker!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had a very nice stay at skotel. The front office staff member is friendly and clever. He recommended us a very good room. It is a very clever sale. Compared with other accommodations, we feel the price is valuable. Room is bit tired but fire enough in this area. We can't expect more in a rural place. Overall, very wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CICI180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the skotel January for one night.
Room was dirty dirty dirty dirty towels cobwebs and old dirty furniture
needs a good clean renovation.
Staff at reception was unprofessional, no idea what he was doing.
Restaurant was dirty flies everywhere. We walked out
Manager was sweaty. The table was dirty.
I was disgusted Never again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elvis092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skotel, General Manager at Skotel Alpine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2011

We were concerned to hear of this failure of our housekeeping standards. It is the busiest time of the year but rooms are fully serviced on checkout with fresh towels from a laundry company with a high reputation. Complaints are taken seriously and if made at the time of stay can be used for improvements in the standards of a staff member. We would welcome the guest contacting us with specific information on the date and the room concerned to our new manager at manager@skotel.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed in a Chalet for one night in late Dec 2010. Thought it was overpriced and was what you'd expect for a cabin in a camping ground. The carpet was completely worn through with large holes in the areas of more traffic. Bedspread worn through also. Generally shabby and tired. No phone in the Chalet so had to walk back to reception in the pouring rain to ask about hotel facilities as there's no information in the Chalet. Friendly staff though and lovely view over downs.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank Travelizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Booked into this hotel having stayed in and around Whakapapa - mainly in National Park for many years. Drove down from Auckland and arrived at night. Looked all Ok at night. Checkin was fine - staff friendly, laid back and helpful - no issues there. I paid for a superior room. Frankly, it was horrible. Room size was OK, only to sleep in so no issues there. Bed was Ok. Main issue was with the bathroom - old, cracked, peeling lino, shower was grubby with no ventilation from the shower so it fogged up into an impenetrable mist. Food was Ok - average - ate at a restaurant in National Park for the rest of our stay as the food was average and expensive. Games room was a 1970's horror - filthy carpet, ripped, mouldy walls and equipment that was old, shabby and out of date. Wont be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews