We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
60
5
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
5
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners breakfast was delicious other guests a great evening comfortable room preserves surrounding countryside free coffee tea guest lounge friendly hosts south island warm welcome recommend staying here bed and breakfast lounge area stayed one night excellent accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 72 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Stayed in this pretty, scrupulously clean and very comfortable B&B for 2 nights. Lovely countryside, and the lodge, with its large country garden, feels a million miles from anywhere, though it's only 5 minutes from the town of Murchison. Due to some rain muddying up the rivers we didn't do any fishing as we intended, but had a great time just going for a wander and reading on the covered verandah and in front of the fire in the comfy lounge area. It was also very convivial chatting with other guests, and the owners Philip and Daphne, who were friendly and helpful. No fine dining options in Murchison - but the local pub serves a terrific lamb roast dinner and steak and chips. Plus Daphne's freshly prepared breakfast would be hard to beat!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank genbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Stayed one night on our way from Nelson to Punakaiki. Pleasantly surprised by our generous, clean and comfortable room downstairs with a large bathroom. Shared lounge with free coffee/ tea and treats facilities. Fabulous breakfast next day with numerous options to choose from. Lovely new young owners who clearly have put their hearts into this place. Dinner options 10 min walk away along the main street. Would recommend this lodge to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor (Koru) room is comfortable , large and with private outdoor entrance as well as indoor entrance from the lounge.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnemarieKatrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

I have never stayed in a bed and breakfast because I like luxury hotels. However, if they are all like this, I may start choosing them. We stayed in the "Riverside" which is a huge room with a balcony and lovely view. We had a great evening chatting with the other guests and with the lovely hosts. Breakfast was delicious and included eggs, fruit, cereals, homemade bread, etc. The lodge is within walking distance of restaurants and the grocery store in town. We wanted to try the pizza place that all the other reviews mention, but it was closed on Sunday--the only night we were there. However, there were other restaurants so we were able to get some takeaway hamburgers to eat back at the lodge. We really did have a fun time, and I am glad I took a chance on a B & B.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank missH2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

Lovely host couple - Philip and Daphne. Nothing was too much trouble. Great to sip some wine on the verandah in the sunshine - so peaceful. Spacious Riverside room. So many excellent features. A good Pizza restaurant 10 minutes walk away. Really good breakfast with home made bread and jams. Superb value for money.

Room Tip: Riverside Room although they are all good.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank I4618GNrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

Murchison Lodge was very good and comfortable place to overnight. Friendly and welcoming hosts greeted us and introduced the Lodge. The heart of the Lodge was lounge area, common for all the guests, nice and stylish interior. There was some beers, whiskies and wines available for very reasonable price and free coffee / tea all day long. Location is very quiet and there is a garden, too.

Our room Koru was big, comfortable bed and huge bathroom. The net in the window blocks all the insects.

There was 10 minutes walk to town center for dinner. Because of weekend, the "famous" pizzeria was closed and we had our dinner at the pub. The food quality was rather poor. Murchison town has limited services (rather small town), but there was 4Square supermarket.

We had nice discussions with other guests in the evening and during the very good breakfast. Very nice visit!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews