We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,670)
Filter reviews
1,670 results
Traveller rating
657
580
255
117
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
580
255
117
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree lodge monsoon restaurant gecko village all you can eat the kitchen kiwi experience private spa restaurant bar hot tub log cabin powered site camper van on site restaurant bed dorm new zealand holiday park in town
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 1,670 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We stopped in for one night and wished we would have planned to stay longer. The rainforest retreat had a very private feel to it, my kids loved the hot tub and my husband and I appreciated a decent place to eat right on property. It was extremely convenient for walking around town and all the tour operators.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank muxlowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Very rustic room. Hotel seems to be geared for the young back backers. Not for the older crowd. No phones in the room. Wi-Fi was in and out and didn't work that well when it did, very slow. Wi-fi seemed to work best close to the office. Staff was OK. Rooms were clean but not real big. Food was so-so. 5-10 minute walk to all of the town which is small.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666dennist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscar767, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

hI 666 dennist
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. I was interested to read that you felt we were geared towards younger people, we cater to every age of traveller and every budget. Set on 14 acres of lush Rainforest we have plenty of space and room options for every taste and budget. We have as much of an "older crowd" as a younger one stay with us. Everyone is welcome at the Rainforest ;-)
The wifi is free and unlimited, however we do ask guests to appreciate our location. We live in a village of just 350 people in one of the most remote areas of NZ, it's never going to be the best internet you've used. The fact that you can use it is great but please don't expect streaming speeds. We invest heavily in the latest wifi technology to be able to give our guests the best available internet.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels,
Regards
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We spent one night during March 2018. The room was very nice. Not like other hotels ALL the food in the room was included. We eat at their restaurant, the waiters were very very nice and the food was good.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abc20182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Set in a gorgeous surroundings and the campervan plots were very seculded. The kitchen facilities were excellent. the staff were very friendly and helpful, the spa pools and were top class and well needed after a long days drive.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Lovely cabins in a "rainforest" setting. Mostly peaceful apart from pub closing time and that was other guests not the hotel. Laundry and hot tub on site and ok restaurant. Breakfast choice good and tasty pizza.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gloriamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews