We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Washington Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I had to attend a work event in Sequim on my birthday so I wanted to find a great place to stay to make the time more relaxing and special. I could not have asked for a better place! The fireplace and spa tub in the room, the beautiful view we had enjoying our breakfast and the rich history provided made it a perfect two days! We were raving about the place upon our return and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

Everything about the George Washington Inn was wonderful. The location is perfect and the views are outstanding. The rooms are very clean and well-appointed. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. We really appreciated the attention to detail. The cookies in the evening, the nice assortment of teas, a wrapped chocolate on the pillow, etc. These little measures really make or break the experience. The front door now has access for the guests (as mentioned in a previous post). The food was delicious and seemed of good quality to us. We feel the room was a good value for what is provided. There is a full library on site, among other interesting items to look over. We stayed in the inn an entire afternoon/evening and it wasn't enough. We will visit again.

Room Tip: We chose one of the least expensive rooms and was shocked at the size and appointments. If you are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Perfect! Quiet! Janet and Dan are very nice and they have a wonderful Inn. My husband and I stayed 7 nights at the George Washington Inn. We were in the Presidential Suite. The room is very spacious and has everything you need especially beautiful views. :) The Inn's location is ideal for sightseeing and day trips. We actually did more lounging than sightseeing and the Inn fit our needs perfectly. It was very quiet!

The breakfasts were delicious with a variety of dishes. Janet sells some of her recipes which I have have already attempted to duplicate.

If you are looking for a quiet, romantic and historic setting, this is it!

Simply perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful 3-night stay at the George Washington Inn this September. The inn is beautifully situated on a bluff overlooking the Straits of Juan de Fuca, and ideally located for exploring the Olympic Peninsula’s North Coast (Hurricane Ridge, Cape Flattery, Hoh Rain Forest, Lake Crescent etc).

The property is immaculate and very peaceful. Our room (The Presidential Suite) was luxurious without being overly fussy, and was stocked with thoughtful little extras such as binoculars (to enhance enjoyment of the stunning vista and visiting local wildlife), refrigerated complementary soft drinks (refreshed daily), dishes of candy, and interesting books. The suite has its own private entrance and a separate kitchenette (microwave, fridge, crockery etc) & dining area. (Wonderful breads, cheeses and deli items can be purchased at Sunny Farms Country Store: 261461 Hwy 101, West Sequim, 8am to 8pm every day). Breakfasts were a treat – think lavender scones, baked eggs, melon soup – beautifully prepared and presented.

Janet was a welcoming, gracious hostess and an absolute professional – nothing was too much trouble for her. A rare quality.

Room Tip: Splash out on a 2nd floor suite with private access, balcony and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoGirlTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our long road trip in western North America. We paid $200 per night and found it a good value.

The location of the inn is amazingly scenic! Long rows of gorgeous lavender framed with white fences – and the inn itself is a beautiful building! The front yard looks at the mountains over pretty fields; the back yard looks over the water from a cliff! The location is also perfect for visiting the Olympic Peninsula. About 10 minute drive from Port Angeles downtown (Which is nothing to speak of, really – just a place to grab a bite. After seeing it I’m glad we didn’t stay in town.), about 20 min to the entrance for Hurricane Ridge, and about 2hrs to the Hoh Rainforest/beaches (all highly recommended, but especially Hurricane Hill – see my trip report!)

Our room (Surveyor's Retreat) was spotlessly clean and very comfortable/cozy. We loved the thoughtful “extras” – all-weather fireplace, air-jet tub and bubble bath (which was a wonderful experience!), great shower with excellent pressure, little candy dish, etc. The other amenities were nice as well – free parking, free wifi, library with multiple books and videos… and breakfast!! Oh my, the breakfasts were delicious! Blueberry lavender scones, baked eggs, melon soup, biscuits – I could go on and on. There wasn’t anything at the table we didn’t enjoy and my husband can be a picky eater at times. It was served on the glass-enclosed portico overlooking the water - what a great start to each day!

The host/hostess of the inn were wonderful. Janet welcomed us warmly when we had to knock on the door early to use the bathroom (we were about an hour too early for check in) and was willing to put us in our room right away – something I did not expect after reading some previous reviews. She was extremely hospitable during breakfast each morning, but unobtrusive. She made calls for us regarding our ferry, and even met us at 6:30am the morning of our departure with a really delicious and well thought-out breakfast to go (egg burrito, fruit, can of apple juice, biscotti, some type of oatmeal/cranberry cookie, yogurt – even a mint!). We couldn’t say enough about the friendly/helpful atmosphere.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the George Washington – relaxing, fun, delicious, beautiful! We would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone, and would love to go back ourselves one day!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princessbride029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This place is beautiful, only a couple years old. We stayed in the Martha's Suite which is on the main floor. The room is huge, awesome bathroom with large tub for two, fireplace and beautifully painted, decorated, etc. The breakfast was amazing. I have traveled around the world and stayed at many places before and this has to be on top of my list. Hurricane Ridge is about 30 minutes from here which is a must see. Also, visit Lake Cresent Lodge for lunch and take a hike to Marymere Falls. The lakes in this area are crystal clear. BEAUTIFUL! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I would prefer a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony but if not available, the room on the main flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachgirl1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My husband and I chose this location for our 30th anniversary. Hosts Dan and Janet were very welcoming and were helpful in suggesting ferry options for visiting Victoria as well as places to dine near the Inn. Janet graciously accomodated my egg allergy and made a fantastic breakfast without eggs. Breakfast was also accompanied by a mother deer and her baby, strolling along the back of the property. The cruise ships leaving Seattle were also in our view. The Martha's Suite was a great room for a two day stay. We had a little extra room and main floor access. We would not hesitate to stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Call and talk to Janet about her rooms to decide which is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lifelonglibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
10.7 km away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,024 reviews
12.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,278 reviews
10 km away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1 km away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
371 reviews
1.1 km away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#3 of 14 in Port Angeles
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington Inn

Address: 939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362-8499
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range: $251 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic 5-star inn as featured in The Seattle Times and consistently voted as the Best B&B in "Best of the Peninsula" (5 years in a row as of 2017). George Washington Inn was built as a replica of George Washington's mansion on a lavender farm near the Olympic National Park. A luxury oceanfront inn with 5 spacious rooms and stunning mountain views, it overlooks the Strait of Juan de Fuca from a high bluff between Sequim and Port Angeles. Take a short drive or ferry ride from Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria and you can enjoy the finest lodging and find nature at its best. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing