We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Hampton Inn Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not Up To Hampton Inn Standards”
Reviewed 29 January 2010

I normally choose to stay in a Hampton Inn when I travel because I am almost always happy with this chain of hotels however this hotel was an exception. The bathroom was in need of some repair, the shower rod falling off the wall and the faucet handle nearly coming apart in my hands.
I requested a non-smoking room but the smell of cigarette smoke was quite strong in the hallways. The Hi-Speed internet was so slow should have been called low-crawl internet. When I complained to the front desk they told me because they were full up the speed was affected.
On the positive the bed was comfortable and the room quiet.
Next time I will find a different hotel in Salt Lake

Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    83
    41
    9
    9
See reviews for
100
71
20
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
FenwicK Island, DE
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

My husband and I try to stay at Hampton Inns whenever we can when we are one the road. We stayed here 10/26/09 on our way back east during our cross country trip. This was one of the nicer ones in the chain. We had planned on staying 2 nights but when we arrived, we found out a snow storm was coming so we left the next morning. Great rate due to travel pamphlet coupon we picked up at the Tourist Info Office.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oclola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This Hampton has a more boxy layout that most and lacks the serene appeal of many Hampton Inns. It is also at the very busy intersection on the SW side of metro SLC with a congested coffee shop parking lot adjacent. Do not get a ground floor room for this reason. Also, the Hampton directory lists this property as having airport shuttle service. That really means there is an airport shuttle available through a 3rd party for added cost. Actually easier just to take a taxi. A better deal, if you are catching a flight, is the Hampton Inn Airport, which does has a dedicated free shuttle and is in a more peaceful setting. Finally, the word "central" is misleading. It is several miles to downtown and a better choice is the Hampton Inn downtown if you are visiting the city.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

I usually stay at Hampton Inn, Embassy Suites, or Homewood Suites because they offer good service. I pretty much got what I expected. I have nothing bad or spectacular to say about this hotel but do recommend it.

  • Liked — It was in the Rockies.
  • Disliked — Pool was too Chlorinated
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TriRunnerCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We stayed at this hotel in June for a retreat we were attending. My husband and I came in on Thursday and our children joined us on Saturday. We found Danielle to be so helpful when we checked in to a room that was in a smoking section of the hotel. She moved us immediately with no problem. She also helped us book our second room for our children who were joining us for our wedding.
The rooms were comfortable, beds comfy and a microwave and a fridge available, so we were able to have some food in our room.
Jacob was at check out and very nice, but went beyond the call of duty when I called 2 1/2 hours down the road (surprisingly got phone service) and explained that I had left the marriage license in the cabinet above the microwave and my concern that it would be thrown away. He placed me on hold and went up to the room and found the envelope on its way to the trash can. Rescuing it, he sent it to my home where it was received a few days later. Thanks Jacob!
Once we figured out the SLC is laid out on a grid, it was much easier to get around and we found the room to be not noisy at all.
We thought the breakfast was very basic, sugary and didn't eat but one morning there, which was fine since we tend to be more organic or natural diners.

  • Liked — the guest service
  • Disliked — the smoke area on the 3rd floor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrallmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island WA
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

Slightly above average Hampton. Clean rooms, nice front desk people and the usual Hampton Breakfast. Contrary to the name of the place, it is not "Central" (unless they are referring the somewhere 8 miles south of down town next to a freeway interchange)

Not much of a business center, but there is a desk in the lobby with a computer and printer that work.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Our family was on a 2 week road trip and we stayed 1 night in Salt Lake City. I selected this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor. It is far enough out of downtown to not be in the bad areas, it is in an industrial looking area....not much to look at outside around the hotel, but not a bad area. The service was great, the breakfast was very good. But the thing my family remembers the most is the beds, they were awesome. The room was average size, very clean and modern. Free wifi was a must for us and they have it along with a computer and printer in the lobby for your use. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
5.3 km away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,801 reviews
5.0 km away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
4.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
5.0 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
5.8 km away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central

Property: Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central
Address: 2055 South Redwood Road, Salt Lake City, UT 84104-5114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing