We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice, Clean, with Warm/Friendly Host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, with Warm/Friendly Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I recently visit SLC, Utah for a convention and stayed at the downtown Comfort Inn. This place was nice, clean, and the included breakfast had a bit of everything for everyone from yogurt to biscuits and sausage/gravy.

I was there for 5 days and really enjoyed my stay. Six blocks from Salt Palace Convention Center (good for walking exercise with comfortable shoes). The second shift host "James" was very helpful, friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable about the areas around the Comfort Inn. I would stay here again if I have the chance to visit SLC again.

Mrs. Pham-Gift

Room Tip: Call this establishment directly and bargain for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    79
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
59
73
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Price, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I visit downtown Salt Lake City many times a year for work and play. I usually have to hunt for a good hotel with the perks that I want, at the price that I want. I FINALLY found it with the Comfort Inn. My rate was less than $80, included a fantastic breakfast, was within walking distance of all the hot nightspots, the rooms were beautiful and clean, but best of all was the staff. No matter what crazy requests or questions I had at all hours of the night, they were happy to help. A GIANT thank you to James at the front desk who's professionalism, courtesy, and overall kindness is a rare find in hospitality these days.
With all of this information, I will be staying there EVERY time I need to stay in SLC. SO glad I found it.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, away from the traffic, but the traffic was only noticable in the late mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

the last night on vacation I wanted to spend downtown SLC instead of being just out of town to drive to airport. Forget it. Stay here and walk around downtown in the evening, have a great meal nearby and enjoy the breakfast here before going to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

You know, I didn't have a great expectation for the Comfort Inn here, but the price was right, the room was clean, and the front desk clerk (gentleman in the evening about 9pm) was quite nice. He handled a good number of people checking in at the same time with grace and ease, and he even asked us if we needed wi-fi. Bummed that I was fasting and couldn't have breakfast - but my husband enjoyed the waffle. Good for a night, and good location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TWelshGeneralMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

This hotel looks a little less then most comfort inns. The rooms are ok at best. It in no-way can compare to the hotels in Boise Idaho that cost the same and offer the free breakfast, doesn't compare to comfort inns in colorado, idaho, oregon, wyoming, etc. It really needs to be fixed up. HOWEVER, if you are just using it as a room to sleep in for a night, it's fine. Beds are very comfortable. Typical comfort inn breakfast. Internet is very slow. Hotel front desk staff very friendly. I found the front desk area and breakfast area to be very clean. Breakfast is only available until 9 am, and they pack it up right at 9. TV- there is no channel guide. For the price and for 1 night its ok. You can find better if you can venture out a little further to Murray, and at half the price and same free breakfast---but it's not a comfort inn and the beds are not as comfy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogsandkids123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We had a great experience at this motel. The price was comparable to the Ramada we were planning to stay in. Pets allowed, easy secure access, and the room was big, clean, and super comfy. The interior entryway smelled of cigarette smoke but the room didn't. The location is close to downtown & easy access to 9th & 9th, UofU, and grocery stores/gas stations. The breakfast area is big & bright, the breakfast is nothing special--but it was good. Eggs, sausage, waffle-bar, muffins, coffee/tea & juice. We visit SLC often & will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattocksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
235 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We had a great stay, despite the workers busily renovating this 3 hotel complex. Our room 218 was clean and oversized, with a bay window, separate bathroom and closet area, and double sinks. There was evidence of previous water leakage around the bay window, but no smell. The fitness room had treadmills, an eliptical/stair stepper and universal gym, but no bicycle. The Managers reception Tues, Wed and Thurs from 5:30-7 pm with free beer, wine and hot and cold food was a plus, and breakfast included waffles, pre-made omelets, sausage, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fruit etc. Both were staffed with their very helpful food service manager. The location was great--a 1 1/2 block walk to the TRAX light rail stop, with free rides to Temple Square, or a 0.8 mile walk to the Square on your own. All this and a free daily Wall Street Journal for $68/night--I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMomTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 km away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 km away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 171 W 500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Comfort Inn Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing