We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ya gotta do it!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Anyone that is thinking about going to Out N About Treesort should stop thinking about it and just DO IT! We went with two adult couples and one teenager and could not have had a better time. The staff was courteous and friendly and just fun to be around. The breakfasts were big and delicious and the cook very friendly. The cabins are great; not real fancy but come on, you're sleeping in a tree house but warm and dry. Even the downpouring rain we had the first night we were there added to the adventure. And, by the next morning, the weather cleared up and it was beautiful. We are already looking forward to our next trip to Out N About. Thank you to the staff that made our experience so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmckinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

The negative reviews were clearly written by people who were expecting something else, and didn't bother to research before they went. Imagine a combination bed and breakfast/summer camp run by the Swiss Family Robinson! There is hiking, swimming, horseback riding - and flying through the air on zip lines! Breakfast was great, and the cabins are rustic, it's true - but that's what you should expect! You'll be sleeping in a treehouse!!! How cool is that?

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Qehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The idea of staying in tree houses sounded like so much fun. When we arrived we found the property is surrounded by horse pens on two sides. Not quite the forest setting we were expecting. They have their own corral/barn right in the middle of the property. Chickens and roosters too, crowing at 5am. You can't bring your dog because they have their own running around and will tell you one of them is notorious for getting into things and stealling food. It is a campground setting with picnic tables and barbeques but no where to store your camping gear and/or food out of the way. They provide sleeping bags and linens. They were left in the treehouse for us and one of the sets was filled with ants. There's old broken down junk everywhere and it's more like staying in someone's mangy backyard. Wouldn't even compare it to a nice campground. They don't allow smoking in the treehouses but allow it on the property. The only people I saw smoking in the area were the people who worked there. It was a little difficult to figure out who worked there and who was staying there. The employees clearly don't have a dress code of any sort. I think a couple of them are living in trailers on the property. We also had problems with some kids running a-muck unsupervised by any adults. Breakfast was excellent and the ziplines were fun. The kids had a good time but when I asked them if it was worth a return trip they all said no. The treesort has so much potential but is so shabby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Andreastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We spent several nights here in the largest unit with it's own bathroom. We loved the storms, however, the kitchen was a flooded mess. Managers were well aware of the problem, as the housekeeping staff had pulled the table forward and left several drip bins lying around (we thought they had forgotten to remove cleaning supplies). We toured several other units before they were occupied, and noticed plastic sheeting on the beds because their roofs also leaked, and these units were rented for the night. Despite the reduced off-season rates, this was not worth the damage to our food and other supplies. Yes, this is a unique property that has sweet horses & friendly roaming dogs, but the staff's nonchalant attitude toward upkeep is simply insane!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PearlNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We did not stay in the treesort, but we did sign up for the Standard Zipline lessons. I've always wanted to, but was very afraid. At the Treesort, they have Zip Lines and they start you out by training you and explaining how everything works, they you go on a baby zip line to get a feel and gradually they move you up to the next and so forth. There are 5 lines that we did and it was absolutely thrilling. They guys are fabulous teachers, patient and very understanding. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in trying out this activity.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank panamachild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This review does not concern the hotel at all as we did not stay there.

The other main attraction at this property is the ZipLine. For the most part it was a good experience; the staff was very nice and helpful. The gear was modern and in good condition, I was never concerned for my safety. Several of the zips were real adrenalin rushes especially the last run on the first course where it felt like you dropped 20 feet before the cable really tightened and you started to go horizontal again you really flew on it. If you did the whole course it was about three hours of ziplining a typical per hour charge. A lot of work climbing the hill three times but very rewarding.

My Wife and I are not novices to ziplining and have done it in several other facilities on the west coast. Based on this, there were things about this course that were not as good as they could have been. On every other course we have been on, you stand up as you land on the platform on this course the cable is so close to the platform that you have to raise your feet to avoid hitting the platform on the approach and then the staff has to help pull most guests to a standing position.

Lastly their Tarzan swing. Use this one with extreme CAUTION. When you have finished ziplining you use the same gear to do the swing. They strap you to a one inch diameter rope suspended in the trees. They give you a set of short ski rope handles and tell you to hold on with your arms fully extended above your head. Then they pull you from the ground level to about 40 feet in about five seconds with a golf cart at the other end of the rope you are holding on to. You feel like your shoulders are coming out of their sockets and several knuckles on both hands are still swollen and sore two weeks later. This may not be how it was designed. It seems that using a golf cart to pull the guests depends a lot on the person driving the cart. If they are in a hurry you could be in a world of hurt. A set speed winch would be a better idea taking it out of human control.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Read my heading: if you don't love camping, active experiences and nature, this is not for you. We do and we loved it!! It was hippie heaven , a bit junky and odd on campus, which we found hysterical. And our teen loved the ziplining, gorilla swing, horseback riding,pool and treehouse fun. He would have had more fun with another teen along, as most kids there were aged 8-12. My husband and I loved the throwback hippie vibe, super delicious breakfast, the peace and quiet at the Lodge and the intense natural beauty, and the wonderful spring-fed pool. Nearby, the fun town of Cave Junction had a great Mexican place for dinner our second night,. We loved the unique staff who we found really helpful,friendly and kind; they are not sterile, corporately-trained professional types. It is an early to bed /rise place with nothing to do after dark and a ROOSTER who crows starting at 5 a.m. I hated this until I remembered I never travel without my trusty earplugs; which solved that problem. We stayed in Balcontree; not a treehouse, but the upper level of the lodge with a treehouse balcony. Perfect, it had access to the lodge's a.c. and coffee pot, tv and computer...and was motel comfy. Nothing is fancy, bring lots of good bbq fare (the place has a frig and bbq) a book, and slowwww wayyyy down so you can help your kids appreciate the real, bygone era of what the world was like before the internet age. Don't come if you want to be lazy, catered to, or like to sleep in, or after the warm summer weather months. We will remember our visit forever as one of the absolute neatest, craziest, unique and funnest places ever.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whatsitwerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort

Address: 300 Page Creek Rd, Cave Junction, OR 97523-9732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cave Junction
Price Range: $115 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out'n'About boasts the largest concentration of rentable treehouses we know of in the world! We cater to families with children of all ages from age 1 to 100 who love new adventures with maximum fun and safety. Some have called it Glamping (glamorous camping) in the trees! Whether you like life out on a limb or something closer to the ground, we have numerous activities for everything from the most calm repose or gentle horse ride to maximum adrenaline pumping action on our ziplines and giant swing. We hope to see you aloft! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Out `n` About Treesort Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing