We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Company and Personal Go-To-Bakery”
Review of Desserts by Gerard

Desserts by Gerard
Ranked #2 of 5 Quick Bites in Oxon Hill
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 31, 2018

My company utilized Desserts by Gerard to celebrate all occasions, including just because days when someone is feeling generous. The word has traveled quick through our 2,000+ staff and many will take a personal trip for a sweet treat. A popular cake among the staff is the Strawberry Shortcake. I had a request to order cupcakes 2 hours before a celebration. I called Gerard's and the staff quickly put together the requested mix in time for our celebration. This bakery is locally known and highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2018

‘Everything here is delicious! The minis are small but pack a lot of flavor - vanilla cake with lemon butter cream, carrot cake and the cream cheese brownie. Now that strawberry shortcake is out of this world delicious, beautifully and elegant. You must try this place, it is a definitely a golden nugget in Oxon Hill, MD.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Monaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

The shop was hopping on the day my daughters and I stumbled upon this hidden gem. It was fun watching the beautiful, huge cakes leave in front of us. We chose some brownies which were delicious, and some petit fours, and they were delicious! Fun treat.... will definitely be back when we're in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Maedls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

The finest deserts in Oxon Hill. If you want some personalized culinary sweets this is the place to go!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Sweet tooth?The loyal clientele round here for miles relies on Desserts by Gerard to exceed expectations. The bakers, Gerard and Katie Huet, are a Frenchman and his American wife who met while training as pastry chefs in Paris. Now, when you want a memorable cake, Gerard's is an inspiring solution. You can order ahead, or for last last minute requirements, the shelves are always full of dazzling concoctions of every flavor. All kinds of beautiful and delicious offerings await in the pastry case, including croissants and cookies and irresistible iced delights with raspberries and kiwis and shaved white chocolate for decorations. There are many, many options for ordering cakes. I love the carrot cake with cream cheese frosting; Gerard's special version of strawberry short cake has a big following. If you're looking for a savory lunch, you can order a custom made turkey sandwich or try one of the tuna, pasta, or green salads ready made with a French twist. Dark roast coffee is available by the cup. It's usually carry-out here, but if you want a seat, there is a small counter with stools up front. The Huets have been bringing their magic to Oxon Hill for decades. Check their new hours.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank broadcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desserts by Gerard also viewed

 

Been to Desserts by Gerard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing