We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG EWW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayfront Inn Corpus Christi
Ranked #73 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OMG EWW!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Do not stay here. We booked this hotel last minute from hotels.com. We arrived around 6pm. The lobby smelled terrible.. like Mold and Curry. We got our room key and I opened the door. Two cockroaches went scattering under the bed and I stepped back. There were stains all over the walls too. I closed the door and called hotels.com immediately to tell them what happened. They called the front desk and the front desk refused to give us our money back. Hotels.com was VERY helpful and did refund our money anyway. NEVER AGAIN. DO NOT STAY HERE. It's filthy and full of roaches.

Room Tip: anywhere but here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    8
    10
    115
See reviews for
44
26
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Don't be fooled by the "low" price on the banner out front -- this place wouldn't be a bargain at half the price. As soon as we walked in, I was tempted to turn around and leave because there was a weird smell. But, it was late and we were only staying the night, so we figured it would be bearable. HAH! The sheets were threadbare -- probably original from when the place opened. The mattress was uncomfortable beyond belief. I wondered if the floor might have been more comfortable, but I was afraid to touch it because the carpet was filthy. It was impossible to adjust the temperature to something comfortable -- the heat didn't work at all. You couldn't close the drain on the bathroom sink, which was fine for me since I shave with an electric razor, although you wouldn't want to use water from that sink because of all the rust. Apparently this month wasn't the month when the toilet gets cleaned. The shower curtain was full of mold. The free wi-fi doesn't work at all. A free continental breakfast was offered -- that's right, half a loaf of store-brand white bread next to a toaster and two containers of store-brand cereals, but you have to ask if you want milk. I'm sure that you can find someplace MUCH better without spending a whole lot more.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CWH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed there for one night, as we decided spontaneously to go to Corpus Christi and had no Internet connection to check online, but just a Lonely Planet guide where this place was listed as a budget stay. That was the first and last time we followed a Lonely Planet tip.

The place seemed like it came just out of the seventies, only that you could see the time that passed since then. The room was dirty and worn down, there were cockroaches in the room, the bathroom was old and dingy, the room itself smelled weird, the bed linen seemed not so clean and the bed was horrible (the mattress said it was from a Mariott and should only be on the bed from January to April - question is in which decade). There were only two pillows on the bed and we didn't want to ask for more, in case they were in the same state as the rest of the place.

The pool was disgusting, even thought it looked like they finally decided to clean it the day we left.

The breakfast was a joke - three or four slices of bread in a plastic container and some cereal from a dispenser. The breakfast room was half blocked by tables with chairs stacked on them.

The free Wifi was there, but no Internet connection. All in all it would have been bearable for a low price, but 79 USD plus tax is not a low price at all.

As other reviewers already said: It looks like this was a really nice place when it opened 30 or 40 years ago - unfortunately they didn't update anything in this place since then - would be OK as a museum, not as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose no room at this hotel, but look for somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmilitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed in one of the front rooms for one night on Oct. 6, 2011. This is an old motel; it was probably very nice when new as the room was spacious and seemed inviting. On further examination everything was old. The carpet was worn and none to clean. But the sheets looked fresh, clean and crisp. The worst part was the air conditioning, or lack thereof. The room never cooled down to a reasonable temperature. My daughter and her husband were in the adjoining room and their a/c did not even work as well and was much hotter. I will never stay in this motel again, and probably for a little more money (with discounts such as AARP, AAA, Military, etc) I could have stayed at the Omni next door. Bayfront did Not offer any type of discount.

Room Tip: If you must stay there do so in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

DO NOT STAY. You will get a crappy hotel and all of your stuff stolen from your vehicle when it is parked right out front of the hotel. They say they will look at camera footage for you but never get back to you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jstraktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, TX
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Reasons not to stay at Bayfront Inn:
Roaches crawling in room
Continental breakfast is underwhelming and inedible
Water in shower fills quickly and drains slooowly
Room was not serviced and had to go to desk for clean towels
WiFi only worked in lobby and staff unwilling to acknowledge that it didn't work in the rooms
Staff unfriendly
Comforters in room were so threadbare it was almost laughable

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Horrible place. Rooms are completely bare with not so much as a clock radio. Dirty, musty, antique mattresses and pillows. Thermostat not working. "WiFi" extremely slow and doesn't connect easily. "Continental breakfast" consisted of 4 stale cereals and a half empty gallon jug of room temperature milk. Staff is EXTREMELY surly and rude. ANY MOTEL IN CORPUS IS A BETTER CHOICE. Do yourself a favor and don't get ripped off by this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#16 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.4 km away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#60 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
V Boutique Hotel
V Boutique Hotel
#28 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 km away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
3.2 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Chr...
#48 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn Corpus Christi

Property: Bayfront Inn Corpus Christi
Address: 601 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2323
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn Corpus Christi 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayfront Inn Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Inn Corpus Christi Hotel Corpus Christi
Bayfront Hotel Corpus Christi
Bayfront Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing