We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the $$$”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Emerald Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$$”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

we stayed here mainly to get the priority reward points... but it's so not worth the money! we paid $125/night and I would say it's at the most a $75/night value. The hotel was very dirty and there was water everywhere from people walking back from the pool. That's not so bad, but it made the floors very slippery and the elevators were just soaked with dirty water!!!! gross! The customer service there was bad, and we when we went to ask for more conditioner (b/c the cleaning crew didn't put any in our room) they said they ran out. No other alternative solution was given. seriously???? how can a hotel run out of conditioner? The AC didn't work and the beds were hard!!!

I didn't feel safe w/ my car in the parking lot since most locals use that as a place to park and go to the beach. It was just an all around disappointment for the Holiday inn Chain. It needs a renovation!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlj732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear jlj732,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and for leaving us feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay and that the amenities and services fell below your expectations. However, I am pleased to inform you that we have just completed our renovations last February and this is to ensure our facilities and service are superior.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Corpus Christi.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    134
    123
    82
    101
See reviews for
217
106
15
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Arrived a little over an hour earlier so we decided to ensure the pool was in working condition before checking in. Our youngest daughter just loves hanging out at the pool. Hotel was a little busy with guest but nothing to complain about. Walked up to guest services and was treated nicely. Gentleman who handled my check in was pleasantly courteous. Got my room keys and headed to our room on the sixth floor in the main building. Sure enough, only one elevator was in working condition but at least they had posted this on the main lobby. No real problems getting up and down when needed. Room was great and the view of downtown and the ocean was breath taking. Beach was very clean on Saturday but due to the crowds that day, it needed some cleaning the morning after. It was not until around 2pm that a hotel employee came around and started picking up some of the mess left behind. Last but not least, mother nature sure came through - especially on Saturday. The weather could not have been any better in my opinion. Unfortunately, the weekend came to an end and we had to return home. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontiac, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The location was wonderful. We just checkin in, dropped out luggage and went exploring. When we came back (late) the room was hot. We could not adjust the temperature so just dealt with it. The electrical outlets were dangerous because the plugs would just fall out. The pool closed early and our room was dirty. When I checked out I only mentioned the outlets and temperature to the front desk. I did not even get an appology.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Tisha B,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Other than the location of this hotel, there is little favorable about this hotel. At 100% capacity only ONE elevator worked all weekend, the entire hotel was dated and dirty. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable, but the room was small with no closet space. Breakfast at the restaurant was fair for a buffet, but it was poorly staffed and slow to seat guests. Lobby, business center, and workout area are nice. Beach front location is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear DVM97,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China Spring
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel was really nice. All the employees could not have been nicer. There are many things that do show the age of the hotel. My biggest complaint was that they were down t o 1 elevator (the other one was being refurbished). Three hours after check-in - the second elevator quit. We were told initially to take the stairs (we were on the 7th floor). After that - you had to call the front desk and request the freight elevator be sent up to get you. Then had to find someone to take you back up the freight elevator when you wanted to go back to your room. It was a inconvenience and we probably would have gone up and down to the beach more if that hadn't been the case. But the room was great. Had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff was exceptional. Pool and hot tub were very clean. The beach was kept litter free and was enjoyable. I will go back - just want to make sure both elevators work when I do!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is very well priced and right on the water. They also have a pool, hot tub, play area for kids, shuffle board, ping pong, and air hockey. My only complaint is one of the elevators was broken during our stay so we had to wait quite a while any time we needed to go up or down. We were on the 7th floor and had a 2 year old with us, so that was definitely a bit of an inconvenience. Overall though, this was a great hotel to stay at. We only spent 1 night and hardly any time actually at the hotel, as we were mostly on the beach or out to eat or at the Texas State Aquarium. The showers were great and the beds comfy. That's all we really needed! I also would like to mention that the staff was very helpful and kind in our short time there.

Room Tip: It depends on your motives...we are not "party" people...we were there for a family vacati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Beach, Tx USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff at this hotel is very pleasant, but that is the only good thing that I can say about our stay. The hotel is in need of a major overhaul. My room was small and the walls were paper thin. Moreover, my door looked like it had been kicked in at one time and was difficult to close. The same with the bathroom door. The hotel was fully booked, and only one elevator was working. Consequently, we chose to take the stairs and found that they opened to the parking lot. The staff opted to leave the door open for guest to enter, which means ANYONE off of the street had access to the entire hotel via the staircase. Hard to get a good nights rest with a broken door and wondering if the loud chatter in the hallway was from another patron or some stranger who had wondered in off the street. The location is quite convenient to downtown, but don't go for the beach access. The beach at this hotel is dirty and quite small. There are plenty of other options with a nicer section of beach. One might have to cross the street to get there, but it would be well worth it for a peaceful night's rest in a clean, well maintained and secure hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jc0wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
4.1 km away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#19 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#7 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
2.1 km away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#14 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#17 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
9.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Hotel

Property: Emerald Beach Hotel
Address: 1102 S Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-3511
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of casual relaxation and business convenience, with the most unique hotel location in downtown Corpus Christi. Just minutes from downtown businesses, you can enjoy fresh sea air and sand between your toes as you walk the beach behind our hotel. Our spacious bay front rooms, with fantastic views of the bay and marina, featuring free high-speed Internet connection will allow you to relax and conduct business. Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our dining room or room service on your balcony, or maybe a cocktail at our beach side bar. Just a ten minute drive or open air trolley ride gets you to area attractions, such as Texas State Aquarium or the USS Lexington Museum. After work we will provide transportation to downtown restaurants and entertainment. When its time to leave we will take you to the airport as well. Try Emerald Beach once and we are sure you will return every time you visit Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing