We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Step back in time...

Our guides were so friendly and informative. The items contained in the house are very nice and... read more

Reviewed December 20, 2018
food123eater
,
Midlothian, Virginia
Petersburg VA

I love day trips! A few weeks ago we wandered over to Petersburg VA and explored Centre Hill... read more

Reviewed November 14, 2018
rcmann54
,
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Read all 65 reviews
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
40
15
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
15
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost tour pbs series step back in time petersburg va civil war great place to visit mercy furnishings filming taft costumes president basement architecture nancy funding history
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 65 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2017

So wanted to see this! But we were in Petersburg in June 2017 and because the city is in a financial crisis, the tourism office is closed. Some attractions (Blandford Church) are being staffed by volunteers but so far this one is not.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

This is a beautiful home that is used as the Greene family home in Mercy Street. Currently there are costumes on display that have been used in the show. Even if you're not a fan of the show, this house is absolutely beautiful, and the tour is excellent.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Centre Hill Mansion, in Petersburg, VA, was the historic home of the Bolling family. The home is featured in the PBS drama, Mercy Street. You can see the period furniture and some mannequins wearing dresses from the show.

Due to the highly publicized financial mess that Petersburg's government has gotten itself into, the mansion is closed during the week (to save money) and only open on the weekends with some dedicated volunteers who work for nothing.

I highly recommend a trip to see this gorgeous home and go see Blandford Cemetary, Old Towne, and National Battlefield Park while you are out there.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We had one of the best guided (house) tours I have ever been to; and the mansion is really neat. The house was built before the civil war, had a part IN the war, and then got remodeled several times afterwards (you can be the judge on how successful the remodeling was). We had three different people talking to us about history, and the more recent use as a filming location. Currently it is full of furniture from the "Mercy Street" filming and some costumes were there also.
Our tour was part of the May 2017 611 steam excursion from Lynchburg to Petersburg.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank ERica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017

I was so pleased to hear about this home. The guided tour was excellent. It is the home where they filmed PBS Mercy Street. There are even a few of the women's costumes.
Unfortunately the are only open on Saturday and Sunday.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Donna126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews