We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Route 66 Casino Hotel
Ranked #57 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Hotel and Casino were very clean and comfortable, nice decor... Friendly and accommodating customer service. We stayed during the week at $89 a night, quite a good value. Although the casino made up the difference in terms of money we spent while we were there.. HA
If we go back and stay again, it would be the fabulous Thunder Road Steakhouse that would draw us in. Amazing food!! We got in on a promotion of 2 for $20... fabulous chef that happily shared his cooking tips ~ delicious!!
One thing I found a bit odd for a casino, is that cocktails are only available at the bar or in the restaurants, not to leave the bar or restaurant. No package Liquor available within 15 miles of the hotel/casino.
Lots of skin showing in the casino, if you are interested in cocktail waitress watching, and I mean lots.. enough to make me feel uncomfortable.

Room Tip: bring a cooler for cocktail hour
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyARobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Route 66 Casino Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

Good location right of Interstate
Ample parking
very nice desk clerk
Nice indoor pool with jacuzzi
room and hotel was very clean, well maintained and nicely decorated
Loved the Route 66 theme everywhere
beds were comfortable, 3 pillows per bed
high quality linens and towels
buffet in casino was excellent, I ate until I lost my dignity
casino had a lot of high quality machines and tables
my only complaint is that they allowed smoking so smoke was everywhere, even in the non-smoking section. Hopefully they will catch up to the 21st century and make it smoke free. Also you cannot have alcohol out on the casino floor, you must keep it in the bar area. They did have drink stations with soda, coffee, etc free of charge.So its not Vegas but it could be with a little work.
nice place to stay, will stay again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We make the trip from MI to AZ every year and look forward to staying at the Route 66 Hotel/Casino. It is a nice break for a long trip. Rooms are clean and very nice, if you have a players card, you get a discount. Did not use the pool, fitness room or room service. Nice surprise in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DELORES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Driving Route 66 the last place to stop to see the delights of Albuquerque.
Stuck out in the middle of the desert 15 miles from town.
Althought the hotel was clean it was noisy at night until the early hours.
A place to gamble not to sight see Route 66.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOHN SUE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had driven by the Route 66 Casino Hotel every time we went to Texas, got gas there, saw the Hotel, but this time, I remember to reserve a room. It was so very nice, surprisingly quiet, and the restaurants were great, also. Everyone was friendly, there were alot of seniors, like us, there. The view from the hotel window was wonderful, especially at night. We will stay here next time we travel to Texas and back.

Room Tip: There is an indoor pool, and fitness room, but we never had time to use it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuchenesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Rate was $120. The Route 66 Casino sign out front said it was the best deal in the state of New Mexico. While the room was clean and with no obvious bed-bugs, I cannot think of a worse place to spend $120. The walls were paper thin with screaming children next door. You could hear people pee in the nearby rooms and the doors slam from five doors down. The fixtures in the room were askew as if some orgy had been interrupted mid-coitus and the lamps put back in place. The hallways were filled with various debris and the clientele are inebriated sloths from the hinterlands of the Land of Enchantment (which I love dearly, but produces some of the most interestingly malformed people on the planet). The Envy nightclub is appropriately named as you will envy any of your counterparts in any other dance club in the state. The food at the Thunder Road Snake House is seemingly derived from the rat mound out back with the chewiness of the steaks and the vileness of the potatoes. Pick it up by another 10 m.p.h and you'll be in ABQ in 15 minutes. Don't stop here.

Room Tip: In Albuquerque, 15 miles to the east...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay. It was relaxing and comfortable. The decor was up to date and very bright. Our room was on the top floor and we had a wonderful view of the mountains even though they were pretty small. We ate in the Route 66 Buffet and also the Mainstreet Cafe. Both places were delicious - are compliments to the chef!

The hub tub was fantastic and peaceful. It was a great get-away that was still close to home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebeccaBejcek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#25 of 144 in Albuquerque
696 reviews
Sandia Resort & Casino
#36 of 144 in Albuquerque
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Casino Hotel

Address: 14500 Central Ave SW, I-40 Exit 140, Albuquerque, NM 87121-1450
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#32 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Number of rooms: 154
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing