We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Casino for the area”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Route 66 Casino Hotel
Ranked #58 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Found this place by accident about a year ago. Have stayed there twice now on the way to Vegas from Oklahoma. Rooms are $66 per night usually (if you ask for that rate.) Casino was, I thought, really cool in that the carpeted walkways in the casino are actually "highways" that have the little white lines and cement color, just like the real Route 66. There are also "street signs" directing you to the various parts of the casino. Casino is colorful and not tooooo smokey. They have a live band in the bar some nights. Some nights are Mexican themed it seems.

The rooms were nice and new, and clean. Price was right. Lots of Spanish speakers there, which was not surprising considering it's near Albuquerque. Dealers were nice, table limits were reasonable. Coffee shop type restaurant (breakfast) was pretty good. Buffet was just average I thought, though they did have lots of choices. I didn't eat at the fancy place, though it looked nice.

The place has a small gym, and I believe an indoor pool, which I didn't use. There is a convenience store and gas station just across the parking lot from the main hotel/casino. The gas station area also has a smaller casino with about 50 or 60 slot machines in it. Free soft drinks while you play. The location of this place, about 30 miles west of Albuquerque, makes it a nice midway stop between Oklahoma City and Las Vegas on Interstate 40.

Well, the cat is becoming enthralled with the typing and watching the mouse on the screen, so guess I'm done for now. Hope this review was helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Route 66 Casino Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed at this hotel during the balloon fiesta, 10-3/10-4, 2008. The rooms are very nice and the restaurant served a great buffet. We made our reservations in April and were told the cost would be $99.00 instead of $66.00 due to the weekend and balloon fiesta. We were reserving two rooms and this was still acceptable. We did call the week prior to check in, (experienced travelers, this is our normall procedure) and were qouted the same price. At check in there was no "welcome to route 66", the greeting we received was "I.D.". Not sure I heard correctly, my response was "excuse me?” she elaborated "I need your I.D."! This was an attractive young lady who just may have been having a bad day; she was not on duty when we checked out so there was no second opinion. However, when told our room would be $129.00 a night I asked to speak with the manager and was told a manager would not be on duty until Monday 10-6. We decided to stay as we really had very little choice at this point as most rooms are booked during fiesta week. We did enjoy the rest of our stay, as previously stated the rooms are great and the casino is very nice. There are a couple things you should know up front; alcohol is not served in the casino and can’t purchase anywhere close by except the bar and restaurant. And after 8-9 there is a cover charge in the bar so be prepared.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed there during our anniversary in March. we knew it was going to be about a 20 minute drive from my parents, but it went by quickly. The room was very nice and the amenities were awesome! It had a flat screen LCD TV, and the king bed was nice and comfortable. We stayed at the rate of $66 dollars a night. I loved the fact that on the telephone, it read "Welcome Mrs. Moya!" We did a few games at the casino. This was our first time in a casino environment. It was quite with a few outbursts from people who were winning. We went on a Thursday night and at their club, they had ladies night. My husband and I got in with no cover and the drinks were great. They had female and male dancers dancing on stages which was cool. We ate at the main restaurant and their nachos are to die for!!! We got them for an appetizer and they ended up being our only meal because it was so huge!!! Overall, we loved it there and we are going back in November for three nights. We got a special discount for the same amount we paid last time because we are members of the casino.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ant_jenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Stayed on 6th floor on Saturday July 19, 2008 after the Andrew Dice Clay show. Very nice room with HUGE king bed, large LG flat screen, and lots of purple. Each floor had a different color scheme and we had purple, but hey...it's a casino so expect gaudy ok. Rate was $106 and it was worth it. We will stay again and be sure to join the p[layers club for some advantages if you may be a repeat customer. Get 10% off at box office.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank todmaninnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We have just returned from a trip to Albuquerque and opted for the new Rt 66 hotel. It is beautiful and very comfortable, BUT - the walls are so thin that you hear EVERYTHING and when the bars close downstairs parties move upstairs. We were kept up most of the night and beginning again at 6am with screaming, loud laughter, throwing objects against the wall, slamming doors. The front desk refused to act stating that they could not 'select' who they put in the room next to us. The next morning the hallway was littered with food, debris and VOMIT! We checked out a day earlier than planned. The website claims "family friendly" and the facilities are there. But if you take your kids, be aware that if unsafe situations occur, you will get no help from management! Also expect to drive 10 miles further out of town than the website states (exit 149 instead of posted exit 140). If you want a party, this might be your place (beware of $6.50 cocktails). If sleep is part of your travel plan - best to avoid the Rt 66!

2  Thank klynn1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank torrez t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ode_T0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#24 of 144 in Albuquerque
696 reviews
Sandia Resort & Casino
#39 of 144 in Albuquerque
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Casino Hotel

Address: 14500 Central Ave SW, I-40 Exit 140, Albuquerque, NM 87121-1450
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#32 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Number of rooms: 154
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing