We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've been to Italy and must say I've had better food here.”
Review of Torinos' at Home

Torinos' at Home
Reserve with OpenTable
Torinos' at Home is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 1,828 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Northern Italian restaurant.Open 6 days a week Monday - Friday 11am to 9 pm and Saturday 1pm - 9pm.
Reviewed 25 June 2017

I've been to Italy and must say I've had better food here. I've had the Nero Di Seppia (black squid in pasta) more than once and have enjoyed each time.
I was concerned when they changed ownership but new ownership has maintained the quality.
When the weather permits, it is wonderful to sit outside.
I think this restaurant may get passed up because it is tucked back into a small storefront/strip mall but the area there on Jefferson, overall, is a nice little part of town.

I've seen other reviews talk about slow service and not being happy with their meal selection. If they have off nights, we have not experienced them...

I had a great cioppino here that was a special for the evening... not sure if they still have it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Chris,

Thank you very much for the review. The new owners, Chef Daniel John, and Jenna John have worked extremely hard to not only maintain the quality of food from the previous owners but to actually elevate the old recipes, while creating amazing new items. We are in an offbeat location, but we are becoming known as a dining destination restaurant within the Albuquerque dining scene, and appreciate the support within your review. We look forward to seeing you again at the restaurant!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

We wanted to celebrate a special event, and decided to visit TORINOS @ HOME for dinner. It was fantastic! First, they have an impressive wine list – something I often think about late afternoons. For starters, we ordered the Fritto Di Mare Antipasti (fried calamari, fried shrimp, and fried smelt with a creamy lemon-aioli dipping sauce) – all seafood selections were crispy and delicious. My wife ordered the Manicotti Pasta Stuffed with Beef Cheeks and Ricotta, and she loved the delicate flavors of the beef and Béchamel sauce. I ordered the Squid Ink Pasta with Calamari Shrimp and Clams – it was absolutely delicious! Better than the squid ink seafood dish I enjoyed in Pisa, Italy some years ago. Then, we shared the special Lamb Loin Chop with Pistachio Cream Sauce – it was tender, mouth-watering, and perfectly matched with the pistachio cream sauce. Finally, we ordered the Tiramisu Dessert – of course it was wonderful! Our server Isaac was super-attentive and efficient, the ambience in the restaurant was delightfully cheerful (conducive to conversations from intimate to business), and the prices were very reasonable for such high quality food. Definitely a great place to wine and dine. By the way, Chef Daniel John appears on KRQE, completes with other Albuquerque chefs, and regularly hosts 5-course Vintage Wine Dinners.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Tony,

Thank you very much for your review. We always think its fantastic when customers notice our unique wine list that compliments so many of our delicately balanced flavors across our menu. For our squid ink pasta to be better than what you experienced in Pisa, Italy, truly humbles us, and also motivates us to keep pushing ourselves to create new exciting dishes! Isaac is an amazing asset to our team, and we thank you for including him personally in your review. Additionally, thank you for mentioning the community involvement that Chef Daniel participates in, he is very pro active in the local culinary scene, and is always working on new events and projects! Please check our website to find out what the next one is!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Four friends enjoyed an al fresco dinner at this restaurant. The green salads were tasty but could include a bit more "stuff" to make them more substantial. The chicken appetizer was a generous portion and had a good flavor. The manicotti was fabulous! One of us has a seafood pasta which was not as good as the rest of our dinners. We shared an expensive bottle ($48) of Pinot that was excellent - it should be at that price. Service was fine. I do have one suggestion about service, though. We are from Columbus, Ohio, and when we share a meal, the kitchens of the restaurants split the serving in the before serving it. Bringing an extra plate to the customer is not nearly as nice because splitting the food without the right utensils is difficult. It is much classier if two plates of smaller portions are served.

Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Hi teachers55,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We do constantly evolve our salads to the local seasonal offerings from local purveyors but will take into consideration the constructive criticism that they need more body to make them substantial. Additionally, it is our policy to split menu items in the kitchen if so requested, so we apologize if that was missed. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again in the restaurant!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We came here as a family on a Saturday night. To be honest, we were relieved that the restaurant was pretty quiet as we'd had a somewhat busy day. The waiter was gracious and the speed of service was unhurried. This is a casual--yet upscale place with great italian food.

Cover your eyes if you are in the anti foie-gras crowd. The treatment of this delicacy is AMAZING here. It was really a lovely way to begin dinner and perfectly done. The serving was just enough--perfectly paired with a cranberry sauce.

Our table also enjoyed the mushroom ravioli, the beef cheek manicotti and the steak special appetizer. All were VERY VERY good.After great entrees, we also had the poached pear dessert and the fried apricot ravioli. the Affogato was also lovely though a bad idea just before bedtime! (Three shots of espresso are guaranteed to interfere with a night's sleep!)

We found the service wonderful--beautifully executed and timed just right. I don't think we could have asked for anything better. Agan, courteous attentive but not too attentive staff. Our experience was roughly two hours long from being seated to leaving and that included appetizers/entrees and dessert. We were in no big hurry and the waiter seemed happy to let us linger a bit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for the amazing review! We appreciate not only the amazing food compliments but also the note on the service as to it being "beautifully executed and timed just right.". We are always in a state of constant improvement to not only make the food the best, but to also make sure the service, and the overall dining experience is the best as well. We are so humbled when we receive reviews like this!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We must have been there the same night as "good food, poor service". To me it seemed like there was no manager on duty.

Starting with the food: I'll give the food a not bad. We loved the crispy pork belly appetizer on taste alone, because it wasn't crispy and it could have done with another hour of cooking. We also ordered the special which was a 4oz filet with sauteed mushrooms. The mushrooms were very nice, but the filet arrived overdone to my taste and getting toward cold. Not sure if there was a choice as to doneness, but we certainly weren't asked. The mains were mostly good although between appetizer and main course we waited a good half hour plus. If I had just one complaint about the food in general, it was heavy with black pepper. Desserts were a hit with everyone. We had the ice cream and panna cotta and everyone gave them a big thumbs up.

Which brings me to the service. The place was half empty (it was St. Patrick's Day). We were seated right away, but from drinks to ordering to appetizers, mains and finally the bill, we did a lot of waiting. Our waiter disappeared for long periods of time and we were obliged to grab a bus person (at least I think she was a bus person) in order to convey our wishes to the waiter. Worst of all the mains came staggered which is never a good thing.

I like to give it another try because it seems like it might have been a one off. We'll see.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NickCer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

16Aco,

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that your experience was lacking overall. There is no reason for the total dining experience, from start to finish, to take that long when the restaurant isn't busy, as mentioned in a previous review response, we have been furiously training our staff across the board on all things to make sure that every customer has the same amazing experience we are known for. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torinos' at Home also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Torinos' at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing