We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and friendly place”

Papa Felipe's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 1,861 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Adobe style building outside. Flavor of New Mexico, southwest decor on the inside. We have been preparing each meal from scratch for 35 years. We use only the best and freshest ingredients, ensuring you will enjoy the best tasting dishes in Albuquerque.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Wonderful Mexican food and friendly staff that went over the top to please us as foreign visitors.
We had an amazing experience and were treated to desert for no charge as a sample of a "real" Mexican dish
Was definitely one of the highlight places to eat during our trip across the US from West to East...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BirthdayBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B E, Guest Relations Manager at Papa Felipe's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for stopping in, BirthdayBloke. We're glad we were able to be a part of your adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2017

We had dinner here on a Friday night. We were greeted and seated right away. Our server appeared right away and asked if she could bring us drinks. We were undecided, and she could see this right away, so she said she'd bring waters. Chips were dropped off by another team member right away. The salsa was great! Our server brought out waters right away, and by that time were trying to decide on a Margarita. She recommended two, although she said they were all good. We took her up on one of her recommendations, the Silver Patron, because we tend to like Silvers. When she arrived with the Margaritas, which were excellent, she took our order. She even asked if we wanted our sopapillas with the meal or after. I had a cheese enchilada plate with green (which she mentioned was very hot this evening, so I asked for the green on the side). My husband had chicken enchiladas with red, which was milder. Everything was just perfect--and I'm happy I asked for the green on the side. She wasn't just saying the green was hot tonight! We didn't have to wait for the bill or ask for a to go container (I had ordered an extra side of Mexican corn--it's a little like calabacitas--and found I would have to eat it tomorrow). Really, I'm not sure when we last went out for Mexican food and had anywhere near as wonderful an experience. Everything was as good as it gets!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tolvanera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B E, Guest Relations Manager at Papa Felipe's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you for your review, Tolvanera. We always love hearing that our food and service were "wonderful." We're glad you both enjoyed your meals and chile choices. We get our chile fresh from the field -- so sometimes it CAN be hot!

We hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

How difficult is it to make huevos rancheros? Over medium should not be hard as a rock! Ok let's try it again. 2nd order was not much better. The other people I were with had already finished their lunch. Will not be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nmcrusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B E, Guest Relations Manager at Papa Felipe's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Dear NMCrusin,

We're sorry you had problems with your meals! Would you please contact us so we can correct the situation. You can email the owner directly at rudy@papafelipes.com.
(So we can verify your identity, please note your dine date and other items on your ticket).

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

My husband and I recently stopped here on our road trip across country and it became our favorite meal of the trip. Staff was extremely accommodating, friendly, and generous. We both ordered Navajo Tacos and were not disappointed. Very delicious, generous portions - I could not finish mine, despite arriving quite hungry. Host brought us variety of salsas and samples to try, as well as dessert - all included with our meal. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank architectsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We had the whole back room for our daughters' baby shower totaling about 40 persons. The food was delicious and the service provided by Ammee and Luticia was excellent!
This is a great place for a large gathering and they let us decorate how we wanted and they cleaned it all up afterwards.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D4590NDkarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B E, Guest Relations Manager at Papa Felipe's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

We're glad our meeting room worked for your daughter's shower. Thank you for your comments on our servers, and thank you for choosing Papa Felipe's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Felipe's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Papa Felipe's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing