We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but could be better.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #15 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad, but could be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed one night in a suite ($151.00) on the 7th floor. I would have stayed another night but due to issues I decided against it. The staff is wonderful and tried to be very helpful. I was impressed in their attitude and eagerness to help out.

Bad parts are as follows. There was no internet in the room and it took over two hours for the hotel to finally tell me that they knew there was no internet in my room. And that I could change rooms if I wished. But I didn't have the time to do this, due to a meeting I had to leave for. The walls were really thin and I could hear every word spoken by the next door residents.

Bad part, nothing to do with hotel. Guest next door smoked and it went under my door into my room and that smelled. Once hotel was informed they offered me a free breakfast, but I was already late for meeting that morning due to hitting the snooze button too many times. I didn't get much sleep so that was a serious issue.

Even with the issues the hotel is very nice and has wonderful decor. The bed is very comfortable. I haven't decided if I will stay there again. I travel to Albuquerque every month and I am looking for hotels that are relaxing and have internet service. Plus centrally located for restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Don't stay in suite 719
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
We would like to be your choice hotel as you continue your frequent trips to Albuquerque. We are working to correct the issues with the internet. I apologize that you were not able to get good connection during your stay. When our guests report problems, we contact our service provider quickly and work with them to correct the problem. There may have been a delay and we should have communicated that with you. We plan to upgrade our equipment soon and expect to have consistent and precise service.
We appreciate the feedback and the nice comments about our staff and hotel decor. Our hotel has a lot of Albuquerque history, culture and tradition designed into it which makes us unique. Our location in Old Town is whithin walking distance to many shops and restaurants and easy access to main streets that will lead you to shopping malls and other attractions. Our staff can help with this information as I'm sure they will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    473
    159
    68
    51
See reviews for
268
462
100
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pampa, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed one night (March 18, 2012) in a traditional room with king bed for $98. Room and bathroom were large and spacious. Comfy bed. Front desk staff were friendly. Had an upstairs room with balcony overlooking courtyard where weddings and special events are apparently held. Nice Southwestern decor. Was close to Old Town, although we did not go there on this trip. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, be sure to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesamay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The staff is friendly and helpful. The lobby area is expansive and gorgeous. You can self-park for free which is convenient for coming and going. The rooms have an understated New Mexican charm. The beds are vey comfortable. The bathroom and vanity area are such that you aren't bumping into each other getting ready. I want to visit again when the pool is open and the gardens are in full bloom.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the great view of Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We appreciate your review. Our lobby or the Grand Sala as we refer to it is large and distinct with New Mexico flavor as are our guest rooms. We know having enough space is important so we're glad that you found our rooms to be comfortable. Plan your next trip because our pool will be open soon and on the way to the pool I'm sure you'll catch the fresh scents of rosemary, lavender and sage as the garden will be in full bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband, toddler and I recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Albuquerque for the NCAA tournament. We really appreciated the staff's efforts to put us in a room with a refrigerator so that we could keep our daughter's whole milk & other foods cold during the week. In addition, they provided us with a Pack 'n Play, which was very helpful. Our room was a great size (I believe we had a small suite) which provided extra room for our active little one. The hotel staff was very friendly & helpful & our room was clean & well taken care of. It's a silly little extra, but things like the fact that they carry Aveda products tells me that they are making the effort to rise above their competitors. Location wise, we found this hotel to be nicely located. It was easy to access the interstate/freeway for daytrips (Tent Rocks, Bandelier National Monument, Santa Fe, etc.), a short drive to the campus/downtown area & obviously easy access (walking distance) to the shops/restaurants in Old Town. We would recommend this hotel to people visiting Albuquerque - even those traveling with children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your review. I consider our staff exceptional. They know our guests are away from home so they make every effort to make the Hotel Albuquerque feel as close to home as possible. I'm glad they did their best to accommodate you and your family. We know there are many choices when it comes to choosing a hotel so we do try to place ourselves above the rest. We know that even the little things matter.
Hotel Albuquerque is unique with its cultural traditions and location in Old Town. We are a hotel for all travelers, whether it be business or leisure, your stay is sure to be a memorable one. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We drove to Albuquerque for a friend's wedding, stayed 3 nights, and drove home. Hotel Albuquerque was a very pleasant place to stay, and we had no complaints. The room was clean, service was very good. We enjoyed eating breakfast at the hotel cafe. My wife used the workout room, however the pool was closed I think because March is off-season, despite the warm temperatures and good weather.

Potential room for improvement? The tube-TV should be replaced with a new flat-screen, the rooms could use a guest valuables safe, and the business/computer center could be a little closer to the rooms and front desk, rather than way off in the convention hall.

Also, Casa Esencia was a very neat little villa for a wedding reception. Very stylish and comfortable, but the hotel should have supplied more bartenders to shorten the line for drinks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
That is great that you were able to experience Casa Esencia. This hacienda is a historic venue where we host many special events. Wedding receptions are always special and we want to ensure that everything is perfect so I do apologize about having to wait for beverages. We appreciate your positive comments and the feedback on how we can improve and we are working to replace our TV's. We have safety deposit boxes located at the front desk but i understand the convenience of having them located in the guest rooms.
I'm sorry our pool was not open during your stay. We will be opening it soon so by the time you plan your next visit, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing swim in this great New Mexico weather. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel in good location; staff friendly. However this is not a 4 or 5 star; maybe a 3.5 star hotel. Had to ask for Kleenex tissue, frig in room, extra tea and extra towels. Restaurant had good food and cold beer so this was good. Weekend was very busy with weddings and convention and meeting groups so it was noisy. A/C did not work well and was very noisy. Opened window in evenings and heard music outside at 2 a.m. until about 4 a.m. all 4 nights we stayed. That said if you get a good rate this is fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you provided and will work to correct the concerns you mentioned. I apologize about the noise. Our security staff is constantly walking the entire property to ensure noise is not a problem. We are also servicing all the air conditioner units so that we are ready for the warm temperatures. Thank you for acknowledging our staff, I hope they took care of your requests immediately and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vega, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights this past week here and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The beds were so comfortable, the staff so friendly and helpful. We ate at the Cafe Plazuela the first night we were there and the food was very good. The location was great - right near Old Town and the BioPark is within easy walking distance - about 2 miles to the Aquarium and Botanic Garden. There's a train there to take back and forth to the zoo. Several museums are nearby as well. We are definitely looking forward to staying again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 2nd floor in order to get a balcony. We did and saw balloons floating past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for sharing with others. There are many things to do within walking distance of Old Town, guests find that a huge benefit when they stay with us. There are also many restaurants to choose from that surround us so thank you for choosing Cafe Plazuela. The fajitas are the best, they send an aroma through the lobby that gets the taste buds going. We hope you were able to try them, if not, make it a point on your next visit. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#4 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Property: Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing