We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxury cabins good value; campround in great redwood location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Redwoods RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Redwoods RV Resort
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Luxury cabins good value; campround in great redwood location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our large party (8 ppl) had a fantastic time among the redwoods and California coast on our 5-day spring break vacation. We stayed at Redwoods RV for 4 nights, Mon - Fri.
*About the cabins*: we rented the two Luxury cabins at Redwoods RV. While the cabins are basically mobile homes that are fixed up cabin-style, they are comfortable, roomy and have a nice layout. The loft upstairs is short and does not allow you to stand up fully. Heater worked great. The queen beds were very comfortable. Our 15-year-old slept on the double hideabed and didn't complain. The kitchen has only the basics, but nice new stuff. No large mixing or serving bowls, so bring your own. Also don't forget to bring your own foil, baggies, and sharp chopping knives. Tiny 4-cup coffee maker was kind of a pain, may be worth bringing your own larger coffee maker if you like lots of java in the morning. The BBQ is basically an old rusty briquette BBQ outside by the driveway. We opted not to use it. The stove in the kitchen worked great, and we ended up using it for all our home-cooked meals. Wi-fi must only be available around the office - we did not get a signal in the cabins. Four people in this cabin was just about the max, I think more people could get a bit cramped if staying for longer than a couple nights. The cabins' decks overlook a wooded marshy area. Very peaceful.
*About the campground*: There's a mobile home park adjacent to the cabins that you can see as you drive in, but it really wasn't a big deal. The campground itself has some nice large redwoods right on site, and some really big old redwoods that have been chopped down many many years ago and are covered in ferns and moss. My 2-year-old niece loved the playground in the center of the grounds, and the 2 teenage boys loved the horseshoe pits. We did not use the shared bathroom/showers or the laundry facilities. The camphost was super friendly. It's in a great location central to anything you'd want to do in the area. Some of the campsites look really close together with minimal trees or shrubs as dividers or for privacy. And some are more in the sun, while others are totally shaded by trees. I would recommend calling the campground to find out which sites might best meet your needs.
*Local activities*: We really wanted to spend lots of time with the large redwoods. We actually did a lot of hanging out on the beautiful local beaches as well. The Jedidiah Smith forest was phenomenal, you can't even imagine the beauty and awe of the big ancient redwood trees until you see them up close! If you want to get really into it, you can do research online for all the "hidden titans" of the area - humongous trees off the beaten path that are not marked. Locals are doing what they can to protect these giants and keep their locations secret. I'll just say that we were able to find a few of these, and it is worth the extra effort to locate them. You just want to be very respectful and careful while exploring, and you don't want to walk up onto the trees for pictures, or crush the delicate plants and shrubs that surround them. Here's what we did on this trip, all very close to the campground:
-- Simpson-Reed Trail: AMAZING! Easy hike and incredible. Loved the huge redwood trees and the fallen monster trees. A very special place.
-- Stout Grove Trail: Also amazing. The giant Stout Tree is breathtaking. The lush understory of clover give this trail a mystical feel. Short hike and easy.
-- Boy Scout Tree: this sounds like a great hike but we were unable to access the trail head due to road closures on Howland Hill Road. This is a longer hike (5 miles one way, then you have to come back the same way, making it a 10 mile hike). Right now there's some downed trees and sink holes that need to be fixed on this trail.
-- Mill Creek Trail: This hike is harder and longer than Simpson-Reed and Stout Grove, but fantastic. About 2.5 miles one way, then you double back. You do some climbing. It skirts Mill Creek which is ice blue right now due to glacier runoff. Words can't describe the beauty of this hike and the amazing groves of titan-esque trees on this path.
-- Mystery of Trees: head South on 101 past Crescent City. This was great. Loved the trail that gets you to the gondola. Not too expensive at $15/person.
-- Beaches along 101: We found some great beaches heading south of Crescent City. Driftwood, wildlife, shells, the ocean. All very close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank drohecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    27
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Absolutely gorgeous campground with free access to showers,which felt wonderful after a long day at the beach.There was a coin washer and dryer available that came in handy. Some of the camp spots are very close and the highway is close so you could hear the traffic somewhat. The beach is only about five minutes away. Crescent city is also about five minutes away. The water and electricity hook-ups were great. Overall, this place was very peaceful, clean and pleasant.

Room Tip: could call the campground and ask to be in a spot not close to the highway and a more secluded camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MachMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Remember when you could go camping in the trees and not feel like you were in a parking lot? This is the place! Altho' there were other RVs nearby, our campsite felt remote and restful.

We weren't traveling with children this time, so didn't checkout the playground or even adventure far from our campsite. The showers were adequate - lots of hot water. The bathroom was clean and the grounds well maintained.

It would be helpful for the office to have a variety of maps and brochures available - for Crescent City and Brookings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Can't say enough about what a great place this is to stay. The hosts are prior RV travelers and really know what we need. The spaces are nestled among redwood trees. You couldn't find a quieter place. It is only yards from a major highway, but you seldom hear even a hint of the traffic noise.
If you are in the area, change your itinerary to include at least one night here. Once you are there you will want to stay another night to enjoy the peace and quiet.
DON'T MISS IT!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

This was our second visit to this park. Last summer we spent a week there and this summer we stretched our visit as were just passing through. It is clean, friendly and quiet with a very friendly management staff. Each space is private and surrounded by hugh redwoods and ferns. Crescent City isn't much to look at but the beaches up the road in Brookings, OR are terrific and The Nautical Inn just barely over the border in Oregon is worth a visit for the food and view. We were there in a motorhome.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaRvmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We visited northern CA from Massachusetts for the first time. I was skeptical when my husband suggested we book a cabin here from the internet. We tent camp in New England and wanted to try camping in the Redwoods. We saw many "RV Parks" on the drive up from San Francisco and I was ready to sleep in the car. To our incredible surprise, this was the nicest, cleanest, and quietest campground we ever visited! The cabin was as clean or cleaner than a nice hotel room. We were happy to find the Safeway in town and have a couple of home-cooked meals after travelling for a week in hotels. The setting was beyond beautiful. Our teenage boys want to live there! We also recommend a trip to the vistor information center in Crescent City that is run by the National Park Service - they were very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RutlandResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

If you haven't actually stood beside a California Redwood, you will be overwhelmed by these incredible trees. The Redwoods RV Resort is nestled into a fantastic Redwood grove, just minutes from Redwood National Park and the spectacular Northern California Coast.

We stayed here in our RV about 6 years ago, when it was named "Ramblin' Rose RV Resort" and just returned again. The resort is under new management, and it's obvious that they've spent a great deal of time and money on major renovations. The place is fantastic... much nicer than our last time here. Everything is clean and new, including the Wi-Fi and cable TV.

Sites are large, level and secluded, with lots of space, trees, and ferns between us and our neighbors. They have brand new 50-amp full-hook-up sites, with room for any size RV (ours is 43' long, so that's important to us). The Redwoods tower overhead, making campsites really feel like part of the forest. There is also a large, open, grassy area in the middle of the resort, making for a nice mix of forested and pastoral environments.

There are also lots of secluded, wooded tent sites, plus modern (and very luxurious) cabins with nice covered decks. SInce this is an area we'd love to share with our families, the cabins would be perfect for us to host family without them having to stay on the RV or in a tent. The manager was nice enough to show us inside one.

We will definitely come back to this park any time we visit Northern California's Redwood Forest.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcbounders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
38.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
14.1 km away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#13 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
13.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
22.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
11.6 km away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwoods RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwoods RV Resort

Property: The Redwoods RV Resort
Address: 6701 Highway 101 North, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 109

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing